Autopsy Round 16, 2021: Collingwood v St.Kilda

Pretty sure George’s “attitude” on here would have absolutely no bearing on the attitude of the club - ridiculous bow to draw. It’s all on them.

It is a lesson to all of us though NEVER to celebrate till the sirens gone.

I don’t understand how many times I have to explain this: I AM NOT SAYING THAT GEORGES MENTALITY IS AFFECTING THE CLUBS.

I am saying he has the SAME mentality, two sets of people can have the same attitude without one affecting the other can you not?

I don’t like cauliflower, and I bet other people on this forum don’t either. But they don’t dislike it just because I dislike it do they? It’s just a coincidence.

Highmore was very good IMO.

He did a few good things but I must have thought Wood was Highmore at times.... he only had 10 disposals and 4 marks. He seemed to get a heap of marks .

F%%k the footy gods, what have they ever done to for us ? they can lick my swingers
That bulldog mouth is overloading that puppy dog ass over there Chief

Ok I swear I'm done

I mean it’s pretty simple if you take away the two peoples preconceived opinions about each other.

One bloke makes an autopsy thread early with the opinion that we’ve got the win in the bag. Second bloke proceeds to think, “This type of mindset is what the players might have had in the game today leading to our fade out.”

Second bloke calls out first bloke for that opinion, you reply with “who cares”.

I tell you that you would care when we lose due to this attitude that the players seemingly have had in previous games.

Obviously there are two sides that don’t agree on this and I’m happy to disagree and move on.

To change the topic, Webster played his best game for us today I reckon. Same with Hill apart from that turnover at the end of the second quarter. Highmore and Byrnes again showing their stuff, will both be gems. Wilkie solid as always. King looked a lot better when kicking for goal. Lots of positives to take out the game. Just frustrated with our fourth quarter attitude.

George woukd have looked like a fool if we had have lost, but that's on him. No doubt he'd have copped it off Pies fans.

I can't understand why anyone would get so worked up about it though. It is laughable.

As I said, I was upset we lost to Adelaide and would have been if we lost today but to bring this thread and those losses together as though they are linked somehow is a joke.

Lets move on.

I don't think he's been great this year, solid maybe.

His mid minutes have obviously been cut and with Jones and Gresh out they'll probably totally cut him out.

I think he still plays his best footy in the middle. He's not great at half forward or half back as his disposal is pretty average.

He's always been a more outside mid and he got his speed back in 2021. I think he's not like he was at his best but he's had much better games this year. He played well as that HFwinger hybrid a few times. I doubt we'd get **** all for him so might as well push him out to depth.

I don’t understand how many times I have to explain this: I AM NOT SAYING THAT GEORGES MENTALITY IS AFFECTING THE CLUBS.

I am saying he has the SAME mentality, two sets of people can have the same attitude without one affecting the other can you not?

I don’t like cauliflower, and I bet other people on this forum don’t either. But they don’t dislike it just because I dislike it do they? It’s just a coincidence.

My actual mindset was that we should win from that margin, the thread and posts were an obvious over exaggeration and piss take. I've been following the Saints 30 years, you'd be dumb to think I think any win is in the bag.

It was a light hearted joke for God sake, and I was more than willing to lap up the shit I copped in good fun if we lost.

So bloody serious. Yes we had a poor last quarter. We are half a game out of the eight trying to get some form back. 2 on the trot is a good start. Far out.

George woukd have looked like a fool if we had have lost, but that's on him. No doubt he'd have copped it off Pies fans.

I can't understand why anyone would get so worked up about it though. It is laughable.

As I said, I was upset we lost to Adelaide and would have been if we lost today but to bring this thread and those losses together as though they are linked somehow is a joke.

Lets move on.

Agreed, happy to move on and talk about some of our individual performances from some players. Wasn’t meaning to have a dig at anyone on here. Just sick of the club doing this type of thing to us.

Lets move on.

He's worked up because the Saints did us their usual thing of talking 5 years off our life span again. It might be misplaced frustration but we all deal with shit differently.

My actual mindset was that we should win from that margin, the thread and posts were an obvious over exaggeration and piss take. I've been following the Saints 30 years, you'd be dumb to think I think any win is in the bag.

It was a light hearted joke for God sake, and I was more than willing to lap up the sh*t I copped in good fun if we lost.

So bloody serious. Yes we had a poor last quarter. We are half a game out of the eight trying to get some form back. 2 on the trot is a good start. Far out.

Honestly fair enough, I did think you just assumed the win was in the bag. My mistake for misjudging your thoughts.

He's worked up because the Saints did us their usual thing of talking 5 years off our life span again. It might be misplaced frustration but we all deal with sh*t differently.
No doubt some of us act like petulant sooks when things don't go well.

I think it was getting a bit over the top and personal though. Bloke was just having a laugh.

Honestly fair enough, I did think you just assumed the win was in the bag. My mistake for misjudging your thoughts.

C'mon mate what Saints supporter do you that is that confident that he quotes Sexy Back and Rex Hunt quotes 30 minutes before the final siren. That's why I was laughing. Some actually think that was serious or think I was the reason for the collapse. Had me in tears.

Here’s the way I see it.

we get the lesson

We also get the four points.

move on. Focus on what we did right which was a lot. Don’t spend too much time going over what we shouldn’t have done in this final quarter.

it’s not about this year anymore. I’ve been checked out of the season for months. It’s now only about moving forward and there was a lot to like.

When they choose cauliflower instead of broccoli next to your snags n gravy, you start thinking.. maybe I kill for the first time tonight

I don't think he's been great this year, solid maybe.

His mid minutes have obviously been cut and with Jones and Gresh out they'll probably totally cut him out.

I think he still plays his best footy in the middle. He's not great at half forward or half back as his disposal is pretty average.
Earlier in the year one of the fox footy shows showed some of Ross kicks into F50, cant remember who but they commented "kick like that and your not a mid"

Lets move on.
People get worked up because he stops a game day thread that supporters were enjoying being well in front and seemingly cruising to an easy win. He says he was pissed and had obviously was in a good mood when he found out how far up we were in the game and shuts down a thread that he wasn't contributing in because he thought it would be a fun thing to do.

No doubt some of us act like petulant sooks when things don't go well.

I think it was getting a bit over the top and personal though. Bloke was just having a laugh.

I wouldn't know about that sort of thing. I like to keep my dignity intact at all moments.

Earlier in the year one of the fox footy shows showed some of Ross kicks into F50, cant remember who but they commented "kick like that and your not a mid"
Ross reminds me of one of us getting a contract to play for the club. Just happy to be out there, no idea of the gameplan, structure or actually executing football skill. Just kick it anywhere and the boys will run over and pat you on the head to tell you what a great job you did. That is Seb Ross. He would be more efficient and damaging without any legs at all. Just handball from a stump position.

Webster was pretty darn good today. McKenzie was tough. Hill has stopped running past the ball and it is wonderful. I'm not expecting Brad to be a contested beast but he doesn't seem to be shirking them anymore.

I really feel like the team was tough for two and a half quarters, where we were able to smother them with tackles and really take the free flow out of the game.

And then we started to get a bit cute. Started playing on quickly from the mark when the plan all day had been to move it forward deliberately from a marking situation. And the forwards played a little further off their man looking to kick easy goals ourselves I think.

But we weren't bullied. The ladder predictor says if we only lose one more for the season we will make the 8. That makes the next game against Brisbane our semi-final. I get the feeling we will be having a red hot crack, and this week I think we should be able to stay focussed if we can get our noses in front.

C'mon mate what Saints supporter do you that is that confident that he quotes Sexy Back and Rex Hunt quotes 30 minutes before the final siren. That's why I was laughing. Some actually think that was serious or think I was the reason for the collapse. Had me in tears.

I haven’t read any of your posts prior to my first post, just saw that the thread was created at 3qtr time. If I had seen your joking posts I would have realised sooner and my mistake for not going back to see.

Autopsy Round 16, 2021: Collingwood v St.Kilda