Toast Round 17 = Collingwood 88-81 North Melbourne

What gets me is the absolute biased commentary week in, week out against us. As soon as the tables were turned yesterday it was a relief as it stopped the North Melbourne cheer squad on fox footy, radio commentary is also just as bad. Some weeks I have to mute the volume. It’s pathetic. Good win yesterday, I said to a mate earlier this week North would come out breathing fire and brimstone
Sco this will never change get used to.

JDG, Moore, & Grundy were out yesterday.

McRae's predecessor could have similarly benefited from a great team of assistants and enjoyed the same on-field senior leadership last year.

If you had given me 8 and 8 at the start of the year I'd have taken it and seen it as progress. We're actually doing much better and that's a reflection on the coach, his team of assistants, and the state of the playing group. That's how it's meant to work and it wasn't in the past.

We can't reduce coaching to the size of the winning margins. That's just shifting the goalposts.

We're exceeding expectations and playing some beautiful football. Even yesterday our last quarter had sublime moments.

As you say, Fly has been good, very good. No qualifiers.

I’ll throw in a qualifier; he’s been very good but we might think otherwise if we were 4-12 having lost those 7 games decided by less than two goals.

Not bemoaning the poor percentage, but mindful that the close wins will regress to the mean over time.

Yep, important to maintain a growth mindset to abuse lexicon

Mum in her fifties introduced 'w.anker' as a preferred insult

Worked well at the footy and for road rage but I was surprised when she dropped it at the family Christmas in July with 2 nuns and old rellies at the table

Later I clarified with Mum what 'w.anker' meant

Poor woman was so embarrassed

FU BF for not even being able to type 'w***er'
I recall going to the test cricket at the MCG with my father many years ago. The crowd were chanting 'Hadlee's a w***er! Hadlee's a w***er!' My father turned to me and rather too loudly asked 'What's a w***er?' I wished the stand could have swallowed us up.

As disappointed as we are with yesterday’s performance and our poorness at stoppages; we were up against one of the best (tap) ruckmen of the past 30 years who is playing for his next contract and survival. It took a big Cox + Cameron to get us over the line.

They were willing them on in the last couple of minutes to win it
Howie was so disappointed and flat when Elliott kicked that goal early in the last quarter. David King referred to North as "we" at one stage in the final quarter too. Just hilarious.

Brown actually seemed quite neutral.

Howie was so disappointed and flat when Elliott kicked that goal early in the last quarter. David King referred to North as "we" at one stage in the final quarter too. Just hilarious.

Brown actually seemed quite neutral.
Makes me appreciate Dennis Cometti even more with his current bunch of nuffies. All we have is Kmart Dennis Commeti in Dwayne Russell

I’ll throw in a qualifier; he’s been very good but we might think otherwise if we were 4-12 having lost those 7 games decided by less than two goals.

Not bemoaning the poor percentage, but mindful that the close wins will regress to the mean over time.
TRS what it all boils down to is good experience for the young lads - they have now felt that experience of overcoming daunting circumstances and it will make them grow into men that much faster.

It will also cement the team together - nothing builds trust and solidarity with team mates more than overcoming adversity.

This group will mature much faster than expected simply by enduring those onslaughts and finding the strength and self belief to overcome them.

No but gender shouldn’t form part of the criticism. I thought umpiring was pretty poor on the weekend but I don’t know and don’t care which umpire it was.
If you read my initial comment I thought there was a difference between the umps - 2 seemed to favour nm, 1 made genuine mistakes. I’m theory genuine mistakes should be easier to rectify than perceived bias.

Makes me appreciate Dennis Cometti even more with his current bunch of nuffies. All we have is Kmart Dennis Commeti in Dwayne Russell
I reckon if the AFL tried to crowdfund Cometti returning he'd make millions. Please, make it happen.

JDG, Moore, & Grundy were out yesterday.

McRae's predecessor could have similarly benefited from a great team of assistants and enjoyed the same on-field senior leadership last year.

If you had given me 8 and 8 at the start of the year I'd have taken it and seen it as progress. We're actually doing much better and that's a reflection on the coach, his team of assistants, and the state of the playing group. That's how it's meant to work and it wasn't in the past.

We can't reduce coaching to the size of the winning margins. That's just shifting the goalposts.

We're exceeding expectations and playing some beautiful football. Even yesterday our last quarter had sublime moments.

As you say, Fly has been good, very good. No qualifiers.

Very easy to say that sitting at 11-5.

If we were 8 and 8 and not likely to play finals, what would you be saying about the development of youngsters? Would you be happy with Cox playing? WHE?

We are not playing a super young side each week.

Clearly McRae can teach some exceptional movement of the ball. But I think our best 22, even last year, has been very competitive with the best for the past 4-5 years. As I said, Crows in Adelaide will be hard. If McRae gets us to a win in that one with the personnel we will have out, it will be some achievement.

I'd be feeling very differently if we'd lost all 7 of those close games and would be reflecting that we're competitive but don't know how to win.

But we've won all of them and these wins will build belief in the group; they know they can turn a game around. No opposition would feel content that they have secured a game against us if they're 4 goals ahead with 20 minutes to go.

I agree that the team can't continue to do things the hard way but I see us as being in a good spot. The easy wins will come.

TRS what it all boils down to is good experience for the young lads - they have now felt that experience of overcoming daunting circumstances and it will make them grow into men that much faster.

It will also cement the team together - nothing builds trust and solidarity with team mates more than overcoming adversity.

This group will mature much faster than expected simply by enduring those onslaughts and finding the strength and self belief to overcome them.

Both can be true; it’s good experience and builds confidence but close wins are noisy data points and things are never as good (or as bad) as they seem.

If we were 8 and 8 and not likely to play finals, what would you be saying about the development of youngsters? Would you be happy with Cox playing? WHE?

Clearly McRae can teach some exceptional movement of the ball. But I think our best 22, even last year, has been very competitive with the best for the past 4-5 years. As I said, Crows in Adelaide will be hard. If McRae gets us to a win in that one with the personnel we will have out, it will be some achievement.

Fact is, we're at 11-5 not 8-8. As I said, I'd have taken 8-8 at the start of the year but this is taking the conversation away from what has actually happened and moving it towards hypotheticals.

Glad we're not playing a super-young side every week. I believe that you play your best side and make youngsters earn their spot. Youth development strategies and full-rebuilds can be futile exercises.

Next week will be a very tough test, especially with Adams out.

Can you ask to have her removed for being such a dickhead? Or supply her with a more contemporary line to use on opposition players kicking for goal? Or spend more time in the bar?
Spending more time in the bar sounds like a good solution 👍

Pendles takes the first contested mark of his career... "of course it's Pendlebury" 🤣🤣🤣
I must admit, that call confused me considerably. Never seen Pendles take a mark like that in nearly 17 years of footy and the commentator acts like he’s taking them as often as Howe or Moore…

A great coach creates a strong team dynamic and collective buy in to a shared purpose. Results are just an output of that if other variables line up (personnel, capability etc). It’s pretty clear that McRae is a good coach, and that wouldn’t be any different if we’d lost some of the close ones. The buy in from the playing group is palpable.

Both can be true; it’s good experience and builds confidence but close wins are noisy data points and things are never as good (or as bad) as they seem.
It's the same with any aspect in life TRS. I've lived a hard, long life and now I'm in the final stretch so I've no illusions left and no time for bending to public opinion. Being a very small man I've had to fight hard all my life just to get my share so I know the value of tenacity and self belief.

Despite what the bleeding hearts bleat, life isn't fair and those that won't struggle against the odds will go to the wall.

Close wins build character and that is enough of a starting point for any young man - in any aspect of life.

Toast Round 17 = Collingwood 88-81 North Melbourne