Toast Round 14 = North Melbourne 118-119 Collingwood

anyone else feel like they're being gaslit on this 50m issue? Like absolutely EVERYONE seems to see it the same way except Collingwood supporters.

We see it correctly. He played on, Steele and McCreery instinctively went to tackle, because they were reading the play. We hear one umpire call play on.

ALSO, even with a 50m penalty, they still had to kick a goal. There was no guarantee.

I'm so over hearing about it! Move on already rest of the footy world!

Gerard Whateley was still in tears about it on Wednesday. He's normally very balanced about these issues but it sent him spiralling when Pies fans were calling him out about it.

Gerard Whately just sounded like he's going insane over this issue. Collingwood people calling in are triggering him lol

I've never heard him sound so over the top about an issue.

Normally he would be the one to call out the 4-5 other frees that were missed our way.

Boy oh boy though has the Bailey Scott play on really wound him up.

Gerard Whateley was still in tears about it on Wednesday. He's normal very balanced about these issues but it sent him spiralling when Pies fans were calling him out about it.

When Izak Rankine ran too far, where was Whately's balance? I like his show, but he sometimes seems irrational of late. He's still fuming about the Grand Final.

He wasn't balanced over the Maynard / Brayshaw incident last year either. He was very full on anti Maynard on that. More and more I don't like him. He's a weaselly little Geelong supporter that struggles now to keep his Collingwood hatred out of his media roles.

agree with this, however, he is still the best game day commentator out there. Its like he's two different people.

he has provided us some iconic commentary moments - The Grim Reaper and the De Goey moment to name two.

That’s simply because he doesn’t understand the advantage rule. He keeps muttering ‘there was no intent’. It’s ridiculous. Not only did Bailey intend to take advantage, he actually took advantage and kicked it to the hotspot.

It’s not an umpiring mistake so has no bearing on the fairness of the outcome unlike some goals they kicked from blunders during the game like the Cox protected zone and Markov 50m penalty when he was going outside 5 in a continuous motion and shouldn’t have been called to stand.

But the advantage rule as it is written does not make sense and needs to be changed. In fact I think the afl would have changed it last year except they probably wanted to avoid controversy so they’ll do it next year I reckon. All you have to do is look at soccer. The player has to choose whether or not they take the advantage or not (not the ref) and if the resulting outcome of continuous play does not end up advantaging the attacking team then it is recalled. There’s still a grey area there of course but the players just need to be educated on continuing play post whistle if they want.

In Bailey’s case a new interpretation of the rule would mean bringing the ball back for them to kick it inside 50 because they didn’t mark the ball from the advantage. I know it feels foreign but that’s how it works in other sports.

He gets a pass from me because of his commentary of the 2022 round 23 game:

Gerard is a race caller, pure and simple he's a jockey who dreams of winning the Cox plate. He identifies with umpires because of his "never been a player" stature and mindset but its strange that in all his years of watching and "race calling" games, he's never ONCE seen an incident against a Geelong player.....never once.

He famously black banned a mate of mine (a local Blindman with a memory like a steel trap) from calling SEN and pointing out his biases, classy act that.

He's a poor man's Tim Lane always was always will be. And neither of them rate next to Dennis Commetti or "Smooth"

He gets a pass from me because of his commentary of the 2022 round 23 game:

Mods need to set something up where that gets re-posted every week. It'll never stop drawing a smile that is both joyous and sadistic.

Gerard is a race caller, pure and simple he's a jockey who dreams of winning the Cox plate. He identifies with umpires because of his "never been a player" stature and mindset but its strange that in all his years of watching and "race calling" games, he's never ONCE seen an incident against a Geelong player.....never once.

He famously black banned a mate of mine (a local Blindman with a memory like a steel trap) from calling SEN and pointing out his biases, classy act that.

He's a poor man's Tim Lane always was always will be. And neither of them rate next to Dennis Commetti or "Smooth"
Who is smooth?

I might be a tad biased, but I always considered Lou to be the gold standard.

It’s f****** Thursday and all the Collingwood haters are still going on about this. Wish they were as passionate about some of the calls that have gone against us over the years.

View attachment 2024694

I love that piece of play so much. Despite being manhandled and not paid the obvious free, he not only managed to get a disposal that went to our advantage, but gave Shiels the falcon of a lifetime in the process 😂

agree with this, however, he is still the best game day commentator out there. Its like he's two different people.

he has provided us some iconic commentary moments - The Grim Reaper and the De Goey moment to name two.
Yes he definitely is a good game day commentator. I’ll give him that.

Unfortunately this, otherwise he is okay

It’s not an umpiring mistake so has no bearing on the fairness of the outcome unlike some goals they kicked from blunders during the game like the Cox protected zone and Markov 50m penalty when he was going outside 5 in a continuous motion and shouldn’t have been called to stand.

But the advantage rule as it is written does not make sense and needs to be changed. In fact I think the afl would have changed it last year except they probably wanted to avoid controversy so they’ll do it next year I reckon. All you have to do is look at soccer. The player has to choose whether or not they take the advantage or not (not the ref) and if the resulting outcome of continuous play does not end up advantaging the attacking team then it is recalled. There’s still a grey area there of course but the players just need to be educated on continuing play post whistle if they want.

In Bailey’s case a new interpretation of the rule would mean bringing the ball back for them to kick it inside 50 because they didn’t mark the ball from the advantage. I know it feels foreign but that’s how it works in other sports.
I don’t think they will do that. The current system is fine. Remember last week, Nick got a free on 50 and stopped and put his hands up. That’s how you ensure advantage isn’t called. That’s all Bailey had to do. Not very difficult. Plenty of players get it right.

Agree it’s a good example of what’s expected but it does not work in a late game packed MCG. The whistle just isn’t loud enough…

If you want to get really technical.

Player takes a mark and immediately changes direction and and runs with the footy. Opponent immediately starts chasing him. It's a 50, as technically it's not play on until the umpire has called it. We don't want technical.

As far as I'm concerned, the call was fine. Probably should have been called play on, but seeing it wasn't, you don't want players penalised for that.

Common sense was utilised, finally by an umpire.

We've gone from the fairytale story of 22, to everyone's 2nd team in 23.

We're now back to being despised and we fcukin love it.

Toast Round 14 = North Melbourne 118-119 Collingwood