Review Round 19, 2016 - Brisbane Lions vs Port Adelaide

Who were your five best players against Port?

Gonna have to eat my words re Archie. Was very promising on debut and I think most of his deficiencies are a fitness issue rather than a skill issue. Very hard at the footy, took a nice mark as well. Tackled strong just looked gassed for mine. Another couple of pre seasons I think he could be a pretty good player and should be persisted with. Hammelman was disgraceful in defence and him carrying on with wingard in the second was just down right embarrassing. Been gifted games for 3 weeks now don't know how he hasn't been dropped yet. Lewy Taylor is a ****ing joke. 500k tell him he's ****ing dreaming. At least rich off hb looks like he might stay there and have an impact in the future. Other than Archie although beaten for the night showed enough signs to be excited about. Can't believe I sat there until the final siren to be honest.

I want to say that my love for the lions is still strong but I'm having doubts. I mean, I just want to feel good sometimes but it's not happening for me. The thril of being with them has been absent for quite a while; years really. I've tried everything I can think of. I listened, trusted the reassurances that things will get better, lowered my expectations and bought into the plans for a new and better future. And yet weeks go by and I still have that empty, hollow feeling.

I know I still care deeply for them, and want so much for them to rise against the demons that are obviously haunting them but is it enough? Do ideserve better?

Anyone know the name of a good counsellor?
I know how you feel. Even over the last few years, I've still looked forward to game day. Still felt that little but of excitement that something good might happen, still wanting to cheer the boys on even through the bad times. But now ..... now game day comes around and I feel like I'm forcing myself to go. It feels like a chore - like mowing the lawn or washing the car. I know it needs to be done but do I really have to do it right now? Can't it wait a week or more. I don't want to. I DON'T WANT TO!

Speaking of Adelaide next week, they are apparently so good that we are double-teaming them with Essendon. Maybe our combined 44 players would stand a chance?

Attachments

• Screenshot from 2016-07-30 23-56-01.png
    Screenshot from 2016-07-30 23-56-01.png
    12 KB · Views: 3

I thought Hammer battled hard while significantly outmatched.

He may be being gifted games but who else can we play down there at the moment? I suspect Jackson Paine would have been in consideration but he got suspended in the NEAFL last week.

Sorry there was one other good thing to come out of that game, the Daniel Merrett tackle at the start of the game was epic. Whoever the Port player was absolutely shat himself.

Yes! That was the highlight of the night for sure :D

we must be the worst kick in side i have ever seen, we have 3 options-

A) bomb long down the wing to a contest.

B) bomb down the center to a contest.

C) short chip to the pocket followed by a bomb to a contest on the wing.

we never show any urgency, it's like we're waiting around for the opposition to set up.

totally reactive footy tonight, it was depressing to watch.

I've heard some cricket players say that in their first few tests they tend to think about personal runs or wickets quite a lot because they are trying to establish themselves and get something in the bank to get more games.
Once they do feel a bit more secure then naturally the pressure is off a bit and they can think more about wider team performance, personal roles in different situations, helping and mentoring team mates and all that stuff.
Maybe (hopefully?) that is what the coach meant by his comment.

Yeah that one made me really mad TBH.
Had a chat to tommy bell last week who said the exact same thing. As supporters we don't know the exact nature of the team structures and roles etc. I thought he might be just a bit bitter but with the coach saying it as well there must be some truth to it.

Just watched the presser. It was fine, media dept left out a huge lead up to the tweet about the younger Guys. Was basically saying it's hard to worry about the farm when you're sewing your first hay bale.. if ya get what I mean? Which I actually think is true. Young Guys would find it almost impossible to collectivly carry that natural team ethos when they are finding their feet, of coarse its personal surivival first and foremost and so it should be.

Excuse stuff also wasn't that bad, actually made some stark admissions and spoke to us supporters directly a couple of times.

He knows what's up, basically pleaded for some luck to help him in his forth year whilst admitting he needed to improve what he can controll.

Said they train it but arn't executing.

He needs to figure out why they refuse to push back defensively? thats the big one.

They should stop that tweet stream.

Just watched the presser. It was fine, media dept left out a huge lead up to the tweet about the younger Guys. Was basically saying it's hard to worry about the farm when you're sewing your first hay bale.. if ya get what I mean? Which I actually think is true. Young Guys would find it almost impossible to collectivly carry that natural team ethos when they are finding their feet, of coarse its personal surivival first and foremost and so it should be.

Excuse stuff also wasn't that bad, actually made some stark admissions and spoke to us supporters directly a couple of times.

He knows what's up, basically pleaded for some luck to help him in his forth year whilst admitting he needed to improve what he can controll.

He needs to figure out why they refuse to push back defensively? thats the big one.

Context is king.

I'm personally quite offended by that comment. Haven't said too much of late but if I was a player like a know my son is, I'd be refuting that comment very loudly.
He's a young player and is playing with a crook knee, broken finger, cracked bone in his hand and been carrying an ankle all year. To say he's not invested in the team is disappointing!!
All that didn't stop his cheap hit well off the ball. Pretty dissapointing for a bloke who's 'invested' in the team. Probably miss a week for that. For a team crying out for some leadership and senior bodies it was pretty poor. Don't get me wrong huge fan of your son but a bit of controlled aggression would go a long way.

From what I saw mate he was giving as much as he was getting. He'll never back down and when I saw it I thought yeah that may cost a grand, won't be a suspension.
We need a bit more of the two Robbos aggression!! Nicks got work to do and he knows that but if that comments legit, it just doesn't work in building up the confidence of young players in a team getting smashed. It's not for the public domain.

From what I saw mate he was giving as much as he was getting. He'll never back down and when I saw it I thought yeah that may cost a weak.
We need a bit more of the two Robbos aggression!! Nicks got work to do and he knows that but if that comments legit, it just doesn't work in building up the confidence of young players in a team getting smashed. It's not for the public domain.
Mate I'm a huge fan of your sons aggression and Mitch is my favourite player. the two robbos bashing and crashin I love to see! Just thought it was very poor and the Mitch controlled aggression is what I want to see from nick. Getting rubbed out does nothing for the team and dog hits behind the play leave a really sour taste in my mouth no matter what the opposition guy is doing. I don't think there's a place for that in our game. Much rather see him taking out that anger crashing packs and snapping guys in two in tackles! More dissapointed then anything.

Wow that tweet messed with the space/time continuum a bit.

Way out of context.

Thought the post-match was pretty good actually. There were some good questions and probing from the media and some strong answers from the coach without getting out of control. I didn't recognise the voice of the bloke who asked the 1st question. Who was that?

Andrew Stafford.

^ probably not a bad idea against sauce Jacobs anyway. Martin is generally smashed against those bigger top few rucks in the game.

fingers crossed Adelaide rest a player or two against us. I hear Taylor walker has been struggling with injury for example.

Probably won't be the most popular opinion,but was I the only one that thought Matheisons late hit on Wingard and the standing over him after was just a cheap shot and a bit cringey? I like Matheison,but I thought it looked a bit weak,even though Wingard is a bit of a tool.

Review Round 19, 2016 - Brisbane Lions vs Port Adelaide