Preview Round 24, 2023: Brisbane v St.Kilda - Gabba, Saturday 26th August, 4:35PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Lions

Votes: 34 55.7%
  • Saints

Votes: 27 44.3%

Out: Jack Sinclair
In: Liam O’Connell

Keeler stiff, Wood has played enough, rest him.
reggie watts yes GIF by The Late Late Show with James Corden

What's confusing is obvious

You said the ONLY chance Hayes has is if Sharman is Injured

That's his only chance
So if membrey doesn't pull up he has no chance at all
In fact he has no chance at all if Sharman stays In the side

None
?
If you want to be that pedantic, we should consider Highmore and Adams a chance this week in case half the backline get the runs pregame.

Be interested to see Max Laughed-on's Power Rankings this week. He had us at 15th two weeks ago based supposedly on current form. Like to see how he might use that logic this week to have us rated behind the Cats, Dogs, Dons, Tigers etc
Guy is a moron. His response to me was that we were playing poorly (which we were). But no other club is being marked on current form (or Pies and Port would not be top 2/3). Then he was sooking about the attention 🤣🤣

I’d rest Marshall without leaving him out. Play big Tommy Campbell to help share the load with Ro, it’s not a charity game either, he has been in great form all year in the vfl. Clark in for Ross, although the boss loves Byrnes who plays a similar more outside mid role. Get pou to come on as sub, I reckon he could have a big impact.

Id like to see:

Out: Ross, phillipou
In: Clark, Campbell

B: Webster, cordy, battle
Hb: sincs, Wilkie, NAS
C: wood, crouch, windhager
Hf: hill, membrey, gresham
F: butler, king, higgins
Foll: Marshall, Steele, owens
Int: Stocker, Clark, Sharman, campbell
Sub: phillipou

I really think we should have as big of a crack at this game as any. This is, quite literally our first final.

Reason being, we get to throw our gameplan at the Lions and we either win or lose. We win, great, it stands up. We lose and we have weeks to work out why. Chances are, we have to go there again.

We win, we get a home final. We lose, we probably don't.

We are in good form. Lions have the best offence in the land. We have the best defence.
Pretty simple. Make it hard for them to score, and execute our own chances.

We may have locked in a finals place, but this is the most important game of the year.

You hear all the media saying "geez, id hate to be playing the Saints in September".

Show them why.

I think they may want give Hayes a game leading into the finals, maybe Coff too.
Rest Ro and Max also potentially Wood (although it might weaken us too much, and he is in fine form, also don't know who you would bring in...Byrne's maybe?) bring in Campbell (who is capable) and Hayes (give him a game before finals against great opposition to bring him up to speed)
Not opposed to giving Coff a game. Maybe sub.
We should be playing to win. I don't think the changes - though obviously a downgrade - would impact the actual system too much.

Rest Ro and Max also potentially Wood (although it might weaken us too much, and he is in fine form, also don't know who you would bring in...Byrne's maybe?) bring in Campbell (who is capable) and Hayes (give him a game before finals against great opposition to bring him up to speed)
Not opposed to giving Coff a game. Maybe sub.
We should be playing to win. I don't think the changes - though obviously a downgrade - would impact the actual system too much.
Rest Wood over Max given how little Max has played this season, he's not going to need to rest and might be better for a little more run in his legs.

Well player developments is less of a priority now that we have made the finals.

Priority now is to win the whole ******* thing!

So if Hayes is fit enough I would be bringing him against the Lions to see if he is back up to AFL standard now.

Clark for Ross.

So that means someone out. Poo has been a little quiet so for Lions game I would omit Po from the starting 22 and make the Poo or Billings the Sub.

If Hayes turns out good to go and plays well against the Lions then that could be a major plus for the finals. If he struggles the the Poo or Billings come back into the starting 22 for the finals.
Don’t stuff around with a stable team in form. They can have a week‘s rest before finals.

Think time has run out for Coff and Hayes this season. But they’ll be around next year. Caminiti too. Bit sorry for Ross though.

I really don’t like the narrative that we should thank West Coast for locking away our spot in the 8.
No we should not thank West Coast, we are locked in the 8 because we’ve won 13 bloody games.
It’s always the negative stance around us.
Which the much-maligned on here, Caro, actually said on FC tonight.

After Cornes, wonder of wonders, admitted he got us wrong the whole season.

Shouldn’t be resting anyone
We have a bye after the lions game
Should be doing everything we can to win it and build some momentum
We’ve just found our form again - now is not the time to flirt with it.

If Giants roll Carlton they could easily go above us on percentage if we get hammered by Brisbane. Not sure of the relevance of that as there are too many imponderables with other results. But I'd like us to finish above the Giants anyway so play our strongest team, only resting those who are border line fitness wise.

Meh, I'm all for resting the bodies from knocks and niggles this weekend, and instead flog certain players on the track and gym. Plenty of premiership teams have lost matches on the eve of those finals and rested players. Could be a huge month coming up. We've made finals, there's is very little to gain crashing packs this week, and I wouldn't worry too much about a home final. It will also help getting extra soldiers involved with the senior system in case we need them later... i.e. Hayes, Coffield, Campbell and Billings. Byrnes, Hammer and Paton we already know what they can do. Who to rest or flog on the track? I'll leave that to the medicos.

What's all this talk about resting players.. we are building momentum and building our style of play and last thing you need to do is start fiddling around the edges. The Saints at Sandy are waiting in the wings if something goes wrong. Every game is important from now on.