Toast Round 4 = Collingwood 77-72 Hawthorn

I would be absolutely shocked if Nick isn't carrying something. Reckon it was the St Kilda game he got smashed and hasn't looked his normal self since. From my spot on the wing today he didn't look like he could cover the ground anything like his normal standard - still had some very nice runs on willpower but looked wrecked afterwards.

A wins a win. We were 0-3 now we are 2-3 after three interstate games in 5 games. The players are not robots. Some of the criticism on here is not accounting for the brutal start to the season.

Now we basically play three games in the next month. Time to recharge. The competition is so even other than North and WC, there will be a lot of unexpected results.

Plenty of time to come good. We dont need to be playing like premiers now. We just need to qualify for finals.

We have 12 MCG games to go 3! Marvel and for some reason we will have 5! Interstate games this year. AFL have done us no favours

Port, Essendon and the scum. We need 2 out of three wins and honestly I don’t care how ugly we win so long as we win now.

I am assuming the inconsistency and training loads with all these games may have played a factor. The start of the AFL season for us is bullshit.

Celebrate any win. We learn more from an ugly loss than a 10 goal win.

Go Pies.

I 100% agree, at this stage we just need to keep banking wins ugly or otherwise.

Whilst we are far from playing our best footy it is only April.

We need to bank enough to qualify then aim for top 4.
Not sure we can get into top 2 from here but if we can land in 4th we are still in the hunt our best is atill good enough to compete with any team and hopefully we are peaking in September.

Man reading this thread is a pain with all the sooking over Ginni. He left, deal with it. Or go follow the Hawks if you love him so much.

I wish we’d stop blindingly bombing high and long to no one. Kick it hard and low to the advantage of our smalls if you’re not going to hit up a target.

JDG was great
Frampton is currently far superior to Moore and looks a worthy Murphy replacement
JFN playing good footy
Beau definitely on the fringe

First half was great
Second half was abysmal. They clearly put the cue back in the rack and tried to manage the game out. I don't understand how the coaches let them do that. Just keep attacking!

Bonus tonight was seeing the whole squad jump out of a bus and walk past us into a restaurant as we walked back to the hotel after getting ice cream for the kids.

I would be absolutely shocked if Nick isn't carrying something. Reckon it was the St Kilda game he got smashed and hasn't looked his normal self since. From my spot on the wing today he didn't look like he could cover the ground anything like his normal standard - still had some very nice runs on willpower but looked wrecked afterwards.

From what I noticed not just this week but this year he does a lot of unrewarded running. So many times he is the option of a forward handball recieve but the player ignores him to then invariably run into pressure and mis kick it or simply get caught.

Nick also is getting too close to the guy with the ball, like he did with pendles and is just screaming for it.
He's under 1m from the ball carrier and too close, pendles rightly ignored him manoeuvred around and kicked to wider open option. Nicks positioning has been off for a few weeks.

He is still young and in year 3 a great upcoming star but has improvement still in his game.
I also don't think he has the frame or strength to make consistent good positioning as a stoppage mid.

I wish we’d stop blindingly bombing high and long to no one. Kick it hard and low to the advantage of our smalls if you’re not going to hit up a target.
Pisses me off that there seem to be on Plan B when all we did is Bomb into our Forward line in just Hope

Must have a short memory!
As he's had some absolute mares in the past, and even by his standards, I don't think tonight would make his all time top 10 list for shockers.
Cox is 1 of the most Overrated players in the AFL

He still struggles to touch it at VFL level.

So his preseason games were just fools gold.

In preseason he competed in the ruck well and made a contest around the ground.

But looks like we need ro reinvest in Rucks again and KPF talent.

Even if you are happy with Darcy and Cox given thier respective ages and the length it takes for rucks to develop we should be having 2 running around in the 2nds and I dont count the KPP sized Begg.
If Steene is no good (as in not even vfl level) a call needs to be made.

Adelaide Oval doesn't suit us - too long and thin - got to have talls. We've done well to win the last 4 there, but a combined total ov about 10 points.
Me and the kids said the same thing tonight. We win there despite never playing that well there.

When we look at our shittest - and it was on show in the last tonight - our forwards all lead away from the ball carrier wanting the kick over the top, and tonight a lot of those kicks seemed to fall short. There were plenty of opportunities for the double-back lead, and plenty of holes in the forward 50 on slow plays that nobody led into. In the first half enough of the bombs were going to hand but the Hawks backs started reading those better towards the end and intercepting or killing our forwards entries.

Also, I'm yet to see the broadcast replays at home but heck me, live and on the big screen replays it looked 100% that Ginni had hold of Maynard's jumper and not the other way around. Can't argue with the dumb 50 metre penalty though. Seemed like the whole crowd was on the edge of our seats all game waiting for Ginni to draw a bunch of free kick goals but apart from the two he got (one underserved IMO) he did bugger all else.

A wins a win. We were 0-3 now we are 2-3 after three interstate games in 5 games. The players are not robots. Some of the criticism on here is not accounting for the brutal start to the season.

Now we basically play three games in the next month. Time to recharge. The competition is so even other than North and WC, there will be a lot of unexpected results.

Plenty of time to come good. We dont need to be playing like premiers now. We just need to qualify for finals.

We have 12 MCG games to go 3! Marvel and for some reason we will have 5! Interstate games this year. AFL have done us no favours

Port, Essendon and the scum. We need 2 out of three wins and honestly I don’t care how ugly we win so long as we win now.

I am assuming the inconsistency and training loads with all these games may have played a factor. The start of the AFL season for us is bullshit.

Celebrate any win. We learn more from an ugly loss than a 10 goal win.

Go Pies.

One of the factors that has counted against us is the early start to the season, which probably has impacted our preparation. It is interesting that Brisbane also started the season poorly at 1-3, with the Dees at the MCG to come this week. It is likely that the reigning grand finalists combined will have only won 3 from 10. Doubt this sort of a poor start has ever happened before and just maybe the earlier start to the season is a factor.

Honest question - do people here feel we might be relying too much on hanging on or coming from behind to win a game by a small margin, or is it that we legitimately don't have the cattle to finish off a team like the Hawks the way we should have tonight?

Just posing the question as I've seen a few comments on us putting the cue in the rack or trying to "conserve energy" that normally wouldn't resonate with how I'd like to see us play.

Confidence in being able to secure the win in a tight game is all and good, but there are games like tonight where we shouldn't need to resort to that - although the end result here was more a case of them running out of time than us controlling the outcome, if we're going to be perfectly frank abiut it.

We legitimately don't have the cattle to finish off some teams.
Big wins last year were Gold Coast, West Coast Eagles, GWS (mother's day game) and Essendon (round 24)

When we look at our shittest - and it was on show in the last tonight - our forwards all lead away from the ball carrier wanting the kick over the top, and tonight a lot of those kicks seemed to fall short. There were plenty of opportunities for the double-back lead, and plenty of holes in the forward 50 on slow plays that nobody led into. In the first half enough of the bombs were going to hand but the Hawks backs started reading those better towards the end and intercepting or killing our forwards entries.

Also, I'm yet to see the broadcast replays at home but * me, live and on the big screen replays it looked 100% that Ginni had hold of Maynard's jumper and not the other way around. Can't argue with the dumb 50 metre penalty though. Seemed like the whole crowd was on the edge of our seats all game waiting for Ginni to draw a bunch of free kick goals but apart from the two he got (one underserved IMO) he did bugger all else.

Reef looked dead on his feet in that 2nd half. His tank needs major work if he can get it there. Might be why he's often been a sub in the past.

Nah he just is highly inconsistent, his best and worse has always been too far apart.
His worst is league worst.

It’s hard to imagine anyone playing worse than he did today.

Bloody hell, in the last few minutes we had Cameron having to go off with the blood rule and Cox came on.

What next?

Immediate turn over by Cox and goal to Hawks.

Man reading this thread is a pain with all the sooking over Ginni. He left, deal with it. Or go follow the Hawks if you love him so much.

Our tall forwards don’t lead properly and our forward line is almost always congested.

When was the last time you saw a Pies key forward taking marks in front of their eyes on a fast lead into space? Contrast that with Jesse Hogan at GWS, who does it 6-10 times every week. (And we could have recruited him for next to nothing.)

We have little talent in our key forward ranks and IMO they’re also poorly coached regarding leading patterns/timing, running decoys and blocking for each other. The only former KP player in our coaching ranks is Leppitsch - who has been moved further away from the coalface this season, to the team’s detriment.

Toast Round 4 = Collingwood 77-72 Hawthorn