Review Round 4: Saints v Pies

Anyways, here's my match review:

Umpiring:
- What the **** was going on in the first 10 mins of the game!? Reid takes our blokes legs out with his body & he gets the ****ing free for high contact!? There wasn't any high contact!

- Roo marks outside 50 with 1min to go end of 3rd & as he gets up he stays in his line & feigns a handball & Maynard slaps the ball out of his hands!? Where the **** is the 50m penalty!!!!!

Just thought I'd mention that as there were 2 goals that we were completely robbed of.

Billings
- very impressed. Very dangerous all game & looked to tear the game apart. Big reason we won but need to kick goals. Would have been happier even if it was 2.3. Kid is in the right track. Remember, he's played 20 or 21 less games than Bont & Kelly so ease up on the comparisons.

Roberton
- how good is he going!? **** me, he's awesome at present. Hitting the ball without fear & intercept marking at will. Fantastic game

Ross
- ran with Tay Tay & beat him easily regardless of looking at their numbers. Ross's possession was far more influencial than Tay Tay over the course of the game. Adams was always rushed, Ross always seemed to have time

Brown & Carlisle
- great today. Blanketed the tall forwards & made them completely invisible bar the one time the ball spilled into White's hands off the pack when he goaled. Great spoiling & 2nd efforts all game.

Newnes
- people wanted this guy dropped. You are idiots. Bloke is our running machine & today he blitzed it. Mostly played on Sidebottom & beat him easily (Sidebottom had 31 at 51%DE - yuck) & Varcoe who did not impact the game at all.

Webster, Gilbert & Gears
- thought they did very well Swapping between WHE, Elliott & Fasolo all game. Knew when to come off their man & make spoils & impact play. Gave up a few goals to Fas & WHE but overall very solid.

Dunstan & Armo
- Armo looked underdone but scrapped through for a slight positive rating from me mostly because he kept Pendles from controlling the game. Dunstan very poor but played a lot on Greenwood who did **** all as well - kinda cancel each other out. Maybe bring Stevens in for Dunstan?

Steele & Gresh
- solid contributors all arvo. Love their work & can only get better. **** that's an exciting thought

Membrey, Roo & Bruce
- nothing too influencial, although Tim & Josh kicked straight enough (2.1 each) & we pretty much won the game because if it. Roo was his usual self - a gun

Acres
- if this kid can work on his decision making, he'll be anything. He's already a "good" player, but if he keeps getting games into him, when he clicks, he'll be a dead set freak. Definitely does a lot more good than bad & can bite off more than he can chew with some risky kicks, but he's so dynamic that I'd just give him a licence to do it because it will start coming off more often than not going forward.

Our pressure
- we looked heaps fitter today after the first 20mins. Took a while to warm up but after we did l, I just got the feeling we were going to win. I actually found the whole 2nd half really easy to watch because Collingwood are ordinary.

When we start kicking straight for goal, we'll be burying teams week in week out. Exciting times ahead I say.

Go you mighty Sainters!

Possibly one of the worst games I have ever seen but we won and deserved to win by more. Billings was very good but could have bee great because for a man of his skills his kicking is terrible. Another thing I learnt today is if anyone shows me stats to say who is and isn't good I will spew up. Geary won us the game. Stats probably weren't great but his first half was amazing as was Roberton. Hickey was beaten in the ruck but Grundy will be the AA ruckman this year and Hickeys last quarter was great. Gresham is another who prove stats should be pissed on. He is a genuine freak and 10 possessions from him is 25 to some others. By the way Armo is as fit as my dad and he cant even breath.

I reckon they played like us last week and got ahead of themselves.
Sorry Gringo, what does that even mean?
Really dont understand what this means? Thought they would easily win?

Why? And after the first half how could they get ahead of themselves?

They were shut down. Simply couldn't handle the pressure.

Sorry Gringo, what does that even mean?
Really dont understand what this means? Thought they would easily win?

Why? And after the first half how could they get ahead of themselves?

They were shut down. Simply couldn't handle the pressure.

Sorry the Pies played our brand of pressure footy with fast ball movement against the Swans, got ahead of themselves and dropped intensity.

Watch the replay and then count how many of those touches were effective and how many handballs went in circles to avoid tackles...
This is not a reflection of our midfield being better than theirs on the day.

A better reflection would be our clearance work and in part our contested possession, both of which we were soundly beaten in.

I think we played very well, really pleasing performance. Obviously goalkicking was shit again, that's a concern, but the effort and workrate just can't be faulted.

I was proved massively wrong by this game, I was sure it would be won and lost in the midfield, but we were beaten in there (clearances especially) and it didn't matter too much because our defence was good and their forwards were shit.

Main concern has to be that the combination of our midfield and forward structures doesn't seem super effective. Lots of entries for some pretty messy shots on goal, not many easy ones. We can make it work because our effort always generates more, but I would like to see a few more textbook lead-mark or over-the-back goals. Very little comes easily down there at the moment.

Still, great performance all round. Like the Eagles game but with less drop off in the last.

Not sure who comes out for Steven, probably one of Lonie, Long, Weller? All a bit stiff though.

Oh and BT saying "And here's Roberton with the easy goal" as Bruce kicks the set shot goal

Just ******* embarrassing
Also thought Newnes was Billings multiple times...cringe worthy.

Sorry the Pies played our brand of pressure footy with fast ball movement against the Swans, got ahead of themselves and dropped intensity.
I dont agree. They tried the same game but we out pressured them.

They simply cracked today.

Possibly one of the worst games I have ever seen but we won and deserved to win by more. Billings was very good but could have bee great because for a man of his skills his kicking is terrible. Another thing I learnt today is if anyone shows me stats to say who is and isn't good I will spew up. Geary won us the game. Stats probably weren't great but his first half was amazing as was Roberton. Hickey was beaten in the ruck but Grundy will be the AA ruckman this year and Hickeys last quarter was great. Gresham is another who prove stats should be pissed on. He is a genuine freak and 10 possessions from him is 25 to some others. By the way Armo is as fit as my dad and he cant even breath.
Agree about the stats, but I thought it was a good game full of pressure. Was it the best spectacle? Of course not, but I've seen many a Grand Final played like that over the years.

A better reflection would be our clearance work and in part our contested possession, both of which we were soundly beaten in.

Just another who wants to lose in those position so they can justify Longer getting in the side. Lets see how it ends up at the end of the year. I hope Hickey plays because it means he is doing well. I suppose others hope Longer plays because it means Hickey isn't doing so well. Each to their own.

Our medical staff let him play on a badly injured ankle and nearly ended his career.
Gringo.......gee.......I hadn't heard that part of the story before.....

That's very disturbing that that was allowed to happen.

Agree about the stats, but I thought it was a good game full of pressure. Was it the best spectacle? Of course not, but I've seen many a Grand Final played like that over the years.

That Bad? cant remember them. Anyway I'm from the Lyon school and couldn't care if we won every game 1 behind yo zero.

Answer the question...

Don't change the argument. Your original angle was their possessions.

I'm not too sure if you are defending our midfield or not but in comparison...

Contested Possessions:
Adams 19
Treloar 14
Pendlebury 12
Sidebottom 4

Vs our mids....

Ross 12
Steele 8
Armitage 5
Dunstan 4

I've been concerned for a long time that we don't have ANYONE at all who can win more than 15 contested possessions a game.
Armo used to be able to do it sometimes , but he seems to have fallen off a cliff.
Credit to Ross , Steele, Billings for getting in and winn ing a good share.
But we need Dunstan and Armo to do better.
Stevens should come in IMO.

lol - Geary won us the game

Review Round 4: Saints v Pies