Preview Round 5, 2016: Hawthorn v Adelaide, 22 April 2016, 7.50pm @ MCG

Burger's 300th, all and sundry (including Clarko) claiming we've been lucky and not the better side the past 2 weeks, media pumping up the Crows and in particular their scoring power whilst highlighting that we've dropped off the pace in that regard.

Feels like another perfect storm brewing like after last years QF loss.

An express flight out of that retirement village.

But yeah Ive been to a few SANFL grand finals and they have been great so I'm hearing you.

But fk me what a piss ant boring place it is.

Reminds me of Bendigo and Bendigo is a shit hole.

Any Crows supporter with half an idea about footy wouldn't be saying shit, we are far from a shoe in that's for sure, we haven't beaten you since 2011.

Go over and read our board, everyone's just happy we are showing some form and we might be able to give you a run for your money for a change, but who knows you might flog us by 10 goals.

Confidence levels extremely high on the crows board, I literally read it every week on other team boards how they're going to knock us of, how its the perfect time etc etc very rarely happens, in fact especially for the Crows its almost impossible lol.

It didn't, as such.

You suggested that players whom 'made space' & snuck out the back for gimmies were smart, so I asked if you included Lindsay Thomas in the smart club or whether you considered him a seagull. Following that, I asked what else 'smart players' would do & whether you considered Shuey & Thomas et al as smarties for staging for free kicks?

There's a fine line between squib & smart-player. Perhaps a deciding factor is jumper colour. I'm happy to respect LeCras & Robbie Gray but hate Shuey & Wantfries & so I'm asking for your interpretation on the line between smart player & cheat/squid?

I said smart players find space but to be good you also need to a gun on the defensive side.

Nothing about campaigners who just hang out the back to get easy goals and don't do the hard work as well.

Wantfrees, Lindsay etc all cut from the same cloth in that respect.

Burger's 300th, all and sundry (including Clarko) claiming we've been lucky and not the better side the past 2 weeks, media pumping up the Crows and in particular their scoring power whilst highlighting that we've dropped off the pace in that regard.

Feels like another perfect storm brewing like after last years QF loss.
So much this.

Kingy hates the Crows with a rare passion, never forgiven us for 98. Knew exactly what he was doing last night, pumping our tyres while at the same time giving you a whack.

Campaigner was gleefully signing off on our death warrant for Fri night.

Confidence levels extremely high on the crows board, I literally read it every week on other team boards how they're going to knock us of, how its the perfect time etc etc very rarely happens, in fact especially for the Crows its almost impossible lol.
I've tipped the Hawks. I don't for a second buy into this average form BS. 2 of 3 wins have come against genuine top 4 aspirants. Playing at home.

I expect us to be far more competitve than the SF last year, but not quite there yet.

Adelaide coach Don Pyke yesterday said he would talk to Betts about his ongoing struggles against the Hawks, who have targeted him physically.

Story here

Not sure where this whinging to the media came from? Unless it came from the media themselves? Here is the presser and listen from about 6.05

Um....

So much this.

Kingy hates the Crows with a rare passion, never forgiven us for 98. Knew exactly what he was doing last night, pumping our tyres while at the same time giving you a whack.

Campaigner was gleefully signing off on our death warrant for Fri night.

Don't worry, mate. Kingy has no regard for us either.

Is that allowing for Burgers 300th?

MCG estimate is 42k fwiw

Yeah and the fact it's Friday night and crows have decent support here. 45 at the G against the Eagles in the worst time slot in history

Anyone think Clarko was trialling TOB down back last week with an eye to this week?

Frawley - Tex
Stratton - Betts
TOB - Lynch
Gibson - Jenkins

I just think Lynch is really important to them as he will be the one that gets off the chain when teams put a lot of effort into tex and betts. Plays a leading high half forward/ centre half forward role.

Anyone think Clarko was trialling TOB down back last week with an eye to this week?

Frawley - Tex
Stratton - Betts
TOB - Lynch
Gibson - Jenkins

I just think Lynch is really important to them as he will be the one that gets off the chain when teams put a lot of effort into tex and betts. Plays a leading high half forward/ centre half forward role.
Good observation, Lynch is, in my view, one of our top 5 most important players.

North really hurt us by playing a surprise tag on him who did well to cut him out of the game - might have been McDonald, can't quite recall.

Has a massive tank so, as much as anything, needs someone that can run all night with him.

Frawley - Tex
Stratton - Betts
TOB - Lynch
Gibson - Jenkins

Stratts is also a great match up for Lynch, could Doc get first crack at Eddie? Jenkins poses big problems, he'll make Gibbo accountable and that kills us, he will also dominate Gibbo in the air.

The other way I can see it going is

Litherland on Lynch
Stratten on Betts
TOB on Jenkins
Frawley on Tex

Gibbo giving TOB and Litherland 3rd man chop out when in 50 only. I think we concede Lynch marking up on the wing. I don't see these 2(Jenkins and Lynch) in FWD 50 too often together. Duryea and Birchall will need to provide massive run out of the backline. (I know there will be others and it's a simplistic view).

Good observation, Lynch is, in my view, one of our top 5 most important players.

North really hurt us by playing a surprise tag on him who did well to cut him out of the game - might have been McDonald, can't quite recall.

Has a massive tank so, as much as anything, needs someone that can run all night with him.

Personally have a lot of time for him. I see him as your Gunston replacement. :eek: Don't mention zie Gunston

Litherland on Lynch
Stratten on Betts
TOB on Jenkins
Frawley on Tex

Gibbo giving TOB and Litherland 3rd man chop out when in 50 only. I think we concede Lynch marking up on the wing. I don't see these 2(Jenkins and Lynch) in FWD 50 too often together. Duryea and Birchall will need to provide massive run out of the backline. (I know there will be others and it's a simplistic view).

Personally have a lot of time for him. I see him as your Gunston replacement. :eek: Don't mention zie Gunston
Ha ha - spot on though. He's a far less fashionable and less cool version. Very effective though and their numbers aren't as far apart as you'd think.

The problem with Jack is that he is so multi faceted and can hurt in so many ways, both up the ground and back again.

Lynch has that characteristic as well although not as potent a goal kicker as Jack. Overall though he has greater hurt factor than any of our other forwards.

Frawley - Tex
Stratton - Betts
TOB - Lynch
Gibson - Jenkins

Why would we do that when we have Brand playing at Box Hill and looking a class above?

Litherland on Lynch
Stratten on Betts
TOB on Jenkins
Frawley on Tex

One thing this highlights for me is if we lose the contested and uncontested footy again we aren't going to prevent them from kicking goals... Wheres Brian Lake when you need him? This game seems a perfect fit for Brand to come in, I would personally prefer Brand to TOB especially to play on a big.

Litherland makes me wince with pain each and every time the ball goes in his vicinity, I don't think/feel he is Hawthorn standard.