Autopsy Round 6, 2023: Carlton v St.Kilda

How many of our boys have deeper emotional connections with the club?

Sinclair
King
Higgins
Stocker

These young kids, coupled with Hayes Harvey Goddard Lyon in the coaches box, is going to show this group what it means to play for St.Kilda.

I had a sook watching them walk off today. 5-1, giving their all for supporters who have waited 60 years for us to salute again.

I wish my old man was around to see Lyon take these boys to a new level again. He loved Ross when he was here the first time.

I love this football club!!
Happy name day Malaka!

Youre Wrong The West Wing GIF

They’re absolute scum.
Not compared to bombers fans they arnt

So Port just found out that Jonas has been rubbed out for a week, they also lost Todd Marshall to a concussion this weekend and Mitch Georgiades just got injured in the SANFL today.

To top it off, we play them at Marvel for a change. I don't mean to get too far ahead of myself, but the lid is slipping, it's not off 100%, but it is only just hanging on precariously.

Mitchito top of our team for SuperCoach points too
If ever you needed an example of why supercoach scores are meaningless in judging a game of footy then check out the scores in our game. You would think Carlton won by 10 goals going by the scores. People who judge players on their fantasy point scores on sites like fanfooty make me laugh

Got to the game with my group to find ourselves surrounded by Blues - supporting mates all in the same block!
After that ultra stressful first half, boy was it just a great feeling to turn around at the end and see no one there 😆

Also won another bottle of very good 🍷 from my steakhouse-owning mate - two years in a row.

Aside from the usual suspects, thought Byrnes, Hilly, Butler and Gresh had really good games. The one piece of play on the wing from Byrnes, running hard from behind the ball to get a handball receive then dodging around a man in a cramped space and delivering the ball perfectly was great.

Looking forward to watching the game again.

Go the Mighties!

Had a read of the Bloos autopsy thread.

Consensus ( apart from Voss being crap) is that they move the ball forward to slow to their key forwards.
I reckon could go to the oppo autopsy with the exception of Collingwood and hear the exact same thing.
They overlook the extreme discipline and absolute gut running of the Saints, we surge forward quicker than any team and surge back quicker, if one player stops, the zone is in place, they can't get through and chances are we turn it over.
Long may supporters of other clubs not recognise this, ever.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

CaptainRisky are we allowed to give Byrnes a wrap yet without getting yelled at??
He is getting back into my good books but all of us have made harsh calls at times, even you.
Go back to my 2021 posts to see what I thought of Ryan

Butler got us going imo.
Back to his best of crumbing the footy at full tilt. He’s so exciting to watch when he’s going. I also think he is our barometer, when butler plays well, so do the saints.

Hill was everywhere, wood, Sinclair, elite.
Hunter Clark is looking more and more at home at the level on the ball.
Crazy, as he did not get a touch in the first qtr, Just two tackles. I was thinking sub him out before it gets ugly, then he kicks two goals and changes the game.....

Loved Ross’ pressa!
Gotta admit - I fall a little more in love with Rossy during every presser. 😍
Love how he takes the journo to task after him saying we had a soft draw to start.

Had a read of the Bloos autopsy thread.

Consensus ( apart from Voss being crap) is that they move the ball forward to slow to their key forwards.
I reckon could go to the oppo autopsy with the exception of Collingwood and hear the exact same thing.
They overlook the extreme discipline and absolute gut running of the Saints, we surge forward quicker than any team and surge back quicker, if one player stops, the zone is in place, they can't get through and chances are we turn it over.
Long may supporters of other clubs not recognise this, ever.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Agree, once again all you hear from the media is how poor Carlton's ball movement was, not how god our defensive structures are. Opposition teams just run out of ideas as they dont know how to get through the press.

Who do you feel would be the benchmark team to beat??
A lot consider it to be Collingwood and we went very close there.
I’ll be taking the lid off if we beat Geelong and Sydney.
I know Geelong didn’t start off too well and Sydney copped an absolute pizzling on the weekend but if we beat or go close to those two I’ll be a bit more of a cocky campaigner than I already am.

Autopsy Round 6, 2023: Carlton v St.Kilda