Preview Round 9, 2023: Adelaide v St.Kilda - Adelaide Oval, Sunday 14th May, 1:10PM AEST *SINCLAIR 150TH*

Who Wins?

• Crows

Votes: 36 47.4%
  • Saints

Votes: 40 52.6%

Excellent endurance, Jason Blake type tank. His preseason running drills was eye opening.
Would finish 10 to 20 metres ahead of his group all the time.
At the end he would be started 20 metres behind the group and finish 10 metres ahead.
Elite endurance.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
didn't he have a problem with that last year and thats why he didn't get a get a game or was that something else?

Adelaide are an interesting side, pretty hard to get a gauge on them because they played the flag favourite and then Geelong at a ground almost no one beats them at.

My understanding is that Adelaide are excellent at getting the ball into the forward 50, but lack the pressure to keep the ball in there if they don't score a goal.

Whilst this works in our favour with or incredible strong defence, our midfield hasn't been as good at winning the contests and getting the ball to our advantage inside 50 as well as earlier in the season.

The game should be a bit more free flowing than against North Melbourne, who tried to out shithouse us at our own game, so turnovers will cost us more if we have the same level of skill errors as last week.

Adelaide probably deserve to be the favourites, but this is a great game to see where we are at this year.

A win this week will give us a lot of confidence and a likely 9-2 going into the bye, but let's take this one week at a time.

didn't he have a problem with that last year and thats why he didn't get a get a game or was that something else?
last year it was more his running patterns. First praccy, Carlton blocked him off the ball at every opportunity so the coaches believed he had been scouted in the pre season to get a hold of his positional play. Physically he had only one preseason and struggled a bit at VFL level.

Early preseason, I was wonder Who TF was this cousin Greg character absolutely burning off everyone during the 400 repeat sprints, then it twigged. he looked physically different in the face and upper body. Only one looking more chiseled was Mason Wood.

On the weekend he looked so much more at home in the AFL than at any other time, seemed to do much more running,(half forward flank?). Someone said he is being groomed for the Mason Wood role, seems like it. They have identified his tank and looks like they have found his position. The Saints are after versatile players not one position players and Coops is getting used to other roles than just forward.

I’ll join the chorus to keep Sharmo in the side. He was much stronger in the contest (Freudian slip oops) than usual, which was his criticism.

His clean and smart ball use was awesome to watch as well as his launching at the ball. His kicking for goal is really high end in the comp, he wouldn’t be far off T Marshall and Fogherty technique wise, just needs some consistency and confidence.

Don’t know what the team balance looks like, but I would certainly play him again after his first up performance. I think because he’s a known quantity to a degree, where still a bit dazzled by the new toy hammer who has not reached the quality of game Sharman just displayed first up. Sure he has been crashing packs and dynamic but Sharman is a fair way in front imo.

I’ll join the chorus to keep Sharmo in the side. He was much stronger in the contest (Freudian slip oops) than usual, which was his criticism.

His clean and smart ball use was awesome to watch as well as his launching at the ball. His kicking for goal is really high end in the comp, he wouldn’t be far off T Marshall and Fogherty technique wise, just needs some consistency and confidence.

Don’t know what the team balance looks like, but I would certainly play him again after his first up performance. I think because he’s a known quantity to a degree, where still a bit dazzled by the new toy hammer who has not reached the quality of game Sharman just displayed first up. Sure he has been crashing packs and dynamic but Sharman is a fair way in front imo.
Yep. Shiny new toy things but Caminiti could potentially displace membrey this week but it’s not a huge output difference mostly just the intangibles of crashing packs.

King in no doubt thought

That mark he took over the North player running back with the flight from a mongrel clearance was elite stuff. pity he didn't finish with a goal, but gee it was good.

Have to agree- we shouldn't gift games to young first year players who lose their cool and get rubbed out. A run in the VFL is required
Gee that's a harsh call. Brand new to AFL footy, huge game at the G against the Pies, we're in the game and he gets hit behind play, he spontaneously retaliates and gets 3 weeks. The Tribunal hearing is a "win" because it's not 4 weeks, but even so the arbitrary nature of all AFL match review/Tribunal decisions could have gone anywhere.

Caminiti will, and no doubt, have learned. What should he have done, drop to his knees after being hit to emphasise to the umps that he's been "unfairly treated?" No, he responded and was unlucky the Pies' nuffie (Murphy?) was concussed, when probably most players would not have been.

He's served his time and there's no need to punish him further by playing him in the VFL for that reason. If he's not selected, that's different, that's where he plays, but not because he did what he did.

Gee that's a harsh call. Brand new to AFL footy, huge game at the G against the Pies, we're in the game and he gets hit behind play, he spontaneously retaliates and gets 3 weeks. The Tribunal hearing is a "win" because it's not 4 weeks, but even so the arbitrary nature of all AFL match review/Tribunal decisions could have gone anywhere.

Caminiti will, and no doubt, have learned. What should he have done, drop to his knees after being hit to emphasise to the umps that he's been "unfairly treated?" No, he responded and was unlucky the Pies' nuffie (Murphy?) was concussed, when probably most players would not have been.

He's served his time and there's no need to punish him further by playing him in the VFL for that reason. If he's not selected, that's different, that's where he plays, but not because he did what he did.

*Adelaide Oval

last year it was more his running patterns. First praccy, Carlton blocked him off the ball at every opportunity so the coaches believed he had been scouted in the pre season to get a hold of his positional play. Physically he had only one preseason and struggled a bit at VFL level.

Early preseason, I was wonder Who TF was this cousin Greg character absolutely burning off everyone during the 400 repeat sprints, then it twigged. he looked physically different in the face and upper body. Only one looking more chiseled was Mason Wood.

On the weekend he looked so much more at home in the AFL than at any other time, seemed to do much more running,(half forward flank?). Someone said he is being groomed for the Mason Wood role, seems like it. They have identified his tank and looks like they have found his position. The Saints are after versatile players not one position players and Coops is getting used to other roles than just forward.
Good point.
I’m not covinced coops played as a Full Forward on the weekend.
I’m not sure we had a key forward on Sunday unless skunk was sitting forward.

I can see a case to bring in both King and Hammer as FF/CHF
And keep Sharman in as a half forward, feeding i50, shooting when in range.
eg: ginger tom lynch at Adelaide when they were running JJ/Texas.

Have been a big Membrey fan since he joined the club but have noticed a downward trajectory in his form over the past 2 years. He is slow and one dimensional and doesn’t suit the quick game style RTB is trying to introduce.
Sharman surprised and showed versatility in his game. He is also taller than Tim and can provide ruck back up. Tim is much loved but is, unfortunately, from a different era. I would like to be proven wrong. I would give Tim one more chance, in a forward set up which includes King.

He just needs his old role as a third tall back. He’s not a running high half forward.

I don't think we should be dropping Membrey just yet. He's building and is extremely experienced which you would think would be beneficial against strong sides. Trying to keep Sharman, Membrey, Caminiti & King in the side is excessive and drops out a Byrnes/Stocker/Paton/Gresham type.

My feeling is that Caminiti plays a game at Sandy. I would drop back Paton for King. We don't need Paton with the way we are defending and we certainly dont need his dodgy disposal.

Wilkie Howard Stocker
NWM Battle Sinclair
Hill Steele Wood

Higgins Membrey Butler
Owens King Phillipou
Marshall Crouch Ross

Byrnes Sharman Clark Gresham (Billings)

Caminiti Bytel Windhager Webster Paton

Edit: Forgot a whole line lol ignore me now

A mate was at the game against North and near ground level thought Dougal was getting in the wrong position and was caught napping a few times, same for Membrey. I think RL will rev the lads up a bit more for this game, as we can't have any slackers.
Corey will tear Doogs a new one.

A mate was at the game against North and near ground level thought Dougal was getting in the wrong position and was caught napping a few times, same for Membrey. I think RL will rev the lads up a bit more for this game, as we can't have any slackers.
doogz has been quite good this year, but he was waaay too loose on ricky nixon jr, especially seeing as norf weren't kicking it to anyone else. Was playing 10 metres off him at times, mind boggling

I reckon that the bottom 3 look like they'll be pretty set and the top 4 in quality stands out. That said fixture, double ups and and injury won't mean that's how the ladder will end up.

Bottom three Hawks, Roos and West Coast. Barely competitive and you'd need to have a bad day to lose to them. Richmond have a toe in that pool but just slightly better.

Goldy, Freo, Sydney and probably Tigers in the next group that could push up into the 8 but are not convincing on recent form.

We sit in a pool with Adelaide, Port, Essendon, Carlton, Dogs.

Just above us is probably Brisbane where they are a bit classier than most in our group and more proven but need to show more to move into the next group.

Then the cream. Melbourne, Collingwood, Geelong. All look like they would be worthy flag winners.

We need to keep knocking off teams in our pool or below and we can easily push for a spot in the top 4.
Good summary. I'd still probably put the Swans in that pool you've listed together with us. They are too good and resilient not to hit back.

For obvious reasons I really hope Marshall and Gresham are available. But it will also give us an early insight into the perceived pecking order. King, Membrey, Caminiti, Sharman, Owens (should've listed him first), Phillipou, Higgins, Gresham, Butler, Billings.

Webster is also not far away so selection will be very interesting. Webster for Paton is another tossup.

Sandy might get to field a half decent team at last unless we pull the dreaded "managed" excuse.

In: King, Caminiti, Webster
Out: Membrey, Gresham (managed), Paton

If it weren't for the Pou getting the Rising Star nod he'd be looking at a rest also.

Harsh on hammer to come back thru the seconds because he got whacked for three weeks.

Id play him and king
Adelaide arent tall back there
Put them under the pump and keep it locked in

I have no idea who to drop tho
Yep - thats the thing.

You can mount a case for all of King, Membrey, Caminiti, Sharman, Phillipou, Owens to be selected but in reality there is only 4 spots available.

Owens is a lock and if King is fit, there will be a couple of players who have to miss out.

Could be any of the four - although I'm not convinced they will go with King this week.

If it weren't for the Pou getting the Rising Star nod he'd be looking at a rest also.
Tired Baby GIF