Toast Ruggles delisted

If anything it is uniting us all though!
I am just going to ignore such inane comments.
Bobby is fast becoming Troll like.
I think Bobby has really strong opinions, and they are currently pessimistic, but he is certainly not a troll, he is not abusive. We should accept all pov from our supporters, but no way do we have to agree.

Hard to accept someone that gets down in the dumps after a win and snipes at others and wishes the team for a poor game/finals campaign.. Not to mention attacking Bartel for growing a beard for a good cause ect

As well as sending abusive PM to others on the board when he disagrees with them

Nah he can get stuffed

He should really come into his own over the next few years once he gets more consistency in his run from defence and eliminates some of those little mistakes he makes.

I really like him and hope he can keep his place.

He can get lost a bit and start grabbing at his opponent and makes a few mistakes but I can't question his endeavour. He looks great sometimes streaming past and executing the hit up kick.
I do feel that's Thurlows spot though.

My opinion on Ruggles seems to change from week to week; to me he set a high bar for himself after a good NAB cup game and his debut against Brisbane.
His kicking looked superb and he took a couple of nice intercept grabs in those games.

After that I saw a few things revealed in his game that I didn't like; went to ground far too often for a defender and had a cynical tendency to play/look for free kicks. Also was a lot less assured when the ball was on the deck than I thought, let a few balls pass him by where he should have smothered the contest which lead to bad turnovers and goals.

However he has tightened up of late and seems to be learning all the time; his game vs Fremantle was very good.

He's 24 but obviously in terms of experience at the top level he's a 'young' 24, AFL-wise.

Overall he's made a decent fist of his first season, but I'll wait until the end of the year before I form an opinion as to whether I think he should be upgraded to the senior list or not.

My opinion on Ruggles seems to change from week to week; to me he set a high bar for himself after a good NAB cup game and his debut against Brisbane.
His kicking looked superb and he took a couple of nice intercept grabs in those games.

After that I saw a few things revealed in his game that I didn't like; went to ground far too often for a defender and had a cynical tendency to play/look for free kicks. Also was a lot less assured when the ball was on the deck than I thought, let a few balls pass him by where he should have smothered the contest which lead to bad turnovers and goals.

However he has tightened up of late and seems to be learning all the time; his game vs Fremantle was very good.

He's 24 but obviously in terms of experience at the top level he's a 'young' 24, AFL-wise.

Overall he's made a decent fist of his first season, but I'll wait until the end of the year before I form an opinion as to whether I think he should be upgraded to the senior list or not.
Was it Ruggles executing a perfect smother on Stringer that saved almost a certain goal? I do agree he tends to go to ground a lot, similar to Bews when he was first getting a game, it's probably the pressure of the moment near the opposition goals that magnifies those types of mistakes

I agree with all that... one can sense that although he is 24 , he has taken a big step up this year ...all informed commentary says the the jump from u18 to VFL is not as great as the jump from VFL to AFL so my guess he has found it hard work , a high level of athletic opponent..he has seen different types, different talents and in different environments that he would have seen very little of before.Watch VFL its like there is 15 V 15 .a lot more open.
I have no doubt he will just get steadier and more robust ie less mistakes the more games he accumulates... but does he have a high enough upside to hold a more talented player out? Only time will tell. At the moment he is a needs fill. He a strong bodied defender who tries to play within his limitations and limits...those limits are gradually getting expanded with experience and error.

I still feel that if Ruggles can do what he has done, then Stewart would be a reasonable shot as well... I really do like having the ability to have elevation form our VFL side.

The upgrade is a different list structure question. I have said before that I dislike Rookie list ..and this is one of the reasons.. he should not need to be upgraded. But it is , what it is... and currently there is little logic in upgrading. Why fill a main list spot and then fill a Rookie spot , better to access the earlier talent. If however I was going to elevate anyone atm.. it would be Parsons.. early on I was under whelmed , he obviously was underdone because from what I have seen recently he has a lot of upside ..much better talent that 2nd pick in the Rookie draft.
Wells has done an amazing job with the picks he had last year imo.

Parsons.......................................... much better talent that 2nd pick in the Rookie draft

Agree with the whole post.
Stewart worth a good hard look if he is a focused young man.
Elevations from this side will make VFL at Geelong more attractive and place more youngsters under the nose of the MC / recruiting staff......... But they have to be good enough.

Parsons . Slow start in a struggling team. Playing as a flanker he flashed in every now and again and it was time to learn his number. The last 3 or 4 weeks have seen him play on ball and :

a. Find it
b. Use it
c. Continue to produce the odd "who was that" moment.

Top rookie pick. How does he not get picked in the main draft?

Agree with the whole post.
Stewart worth a good hard look if he is a focused young man.
Elevations from this side will make VFL at Geelong more attractive and place more youngsters under the nose of the MC / recruiting staff......... But they have to be good enough.

Parsons . Slow start in a struggling team. Playing as a flanker he flashed in every now and again and it was time to learn his number. The last 3 or 4 weeks have seen him play on ball and :

a. Find it
b. Use it
c. Continue to produce the odd "who was that" moment.

Top rookie pick. How does he not get picked in the main draft?

Thats whole different discussion..
To think about the number of nominated player even Rookie players are in the top 5% of players trying to get picked , so plenty of talent kids miss out. No matter what the tankers claim.. we are talking very small amounts for most of the players.

Then think how many players that are good enough to play state yet do not get taken at all, and how many just have a poor year when it counts. If the academy players can drop from R1 player to later..some R2,R3 players can drop to Rookie or not even get picked. Add personal bias and club needs...

Have a look at a player like Gardner , and I see him being equal to several talls taken earlier. He probably was undervalued because he played for Tassie, and looked light. Buzza played the other week when we played Werribe and McKay played.. I thought Buzza show far more and yet McKay was a pick 21. Yes raw but the is something to work with..IF he is willing to work. Some come on quicker , some show more when they are settled into a pro environment.. etc. and some just don't work.

I think Parsons had injuries issues... not the first time we have gone that gambit.

Welcome... joined dec 2011 and not a post.. Well good on you for posting ..more the merrier.
and Nice Photo ...it might make a good avatar
Thx for the tip Turbocat...a nice avatar indeed...and one I feel will last many years.
At the end of last year...a very good mate who played for the Dees 2nds back in the early 60's,and who fancies himself as an astute judge of the game,asked me how I felt barracking for the "new" handbag team....because he reckoned we lacked anyone with legit mongrel in them.
It's what I like about Rugs....not because I admire that kind of player,other than without 1 or 2 of them,mobs like the Hawks get a bit silly.
For what it's worth,Sam Menegola looks of a similar ilk.....

Thx for the tip Turbocat...a nice avatar indeed...and one I feel will last many years.
At the end of last year...a very good mate who played for the Dees 2nds back in the early 60's,and who fancies himself as an astute judge of the game,asked me how I felt barracking for the "new" handbag team....because he reckoned we lacked anyone with legit mongrel in them.
It's what I like about Rugs....not because I admire that kind of player,other than without 1 or 2 of them,mobs like the Hawks get a bit silly.
For what it's worth,Sam Menegola looks of a similar ilk.....

I dare that bloke to tell Selwood and Danger that they're "handbaggers" to their face. We might not have a lot of players with "mongrel" but there aren't many that don't go hard at the footy and the man. But yeah Ruggles looks like the closest thing we might have to a bit of a pest. From memory I think he was the one who got under Robbie Gray's skin.

Selwood and Danger are hard at the ball like the old Geelong mids Corey, Ling, Kelly etc were.

There's definitely no Scarlett, Milburn, Rooke, Chapman, even Johnson on his day, sort of nastiness around the current team. McCarthy and Cockatoo have a go but they don't have the size for it.

Agreed.

Bobby has / can make valid, strong contributions to this board, but his posts are all too often defensive, angry and hostile towards others posters and derogatory of all things GFC.

Expressing his desire for ill fortune to beset the club in finals so his hatred of Scott can be proven 'right' was inflammatory, and I suspect, deliberately provocative, hence the responses above.

If the emotion was wound back a bit I reckon there'd be a far more pleasant exchange of views, even if they are polar opposites.

Anyhow, back to topic. I'm liking Ruggles - he is a no nonsense player who puts his shoulder to the grindstone and keeps it simple. Every team needs such soldiers. I like what he brings.

What does that mean with our draft picks? Our last draft pick is used to upgrade him? Our second last draft pick for Sam Simpson assuming no alternate bids?

Pretty much yeah.

Including Ruggles to the list and assuming Lonergan plays on that makes the list at 33 senior players. Simpson makes it 34.
So do we run at 40/4 or 38/6. I think it may end up as 38/6 with one of those remaining 4 to be drafted to be Tom Stewart.
That'd leave 24, 38 and 42 to take 3 youngsters hopefully.

Pretty much yeah.

Including Ruggles to the list and assuming Lonergan plays on that makes the list at 33 senior players. Simpson makes it 34.
So do we run at 40/4 or 38/6. I think it may end up as 38/6 with one of those remaining 4 to be drafted to be Tom Stewart.
That'd leave 24, 38 and 42 to take 3 youngsters hopefully.

I haven't seen House...but a few posters like him....any thoughts?

If I'm not mistaken he wasn't invited to the state combine (have to be nominated by 3 clubs) and that means can't be a ND selection but can be rookied
That is correct isn't it Pure_Ownage

Looks to me to be more of a leading forward as opposed to a bustling pack mark forward. I think endurance is a weakness but of faults a player can have that'd surely be one of the most fixable? 194cm which is a good size and his hands are pretty good from what I've seen of him. catswhiskers would have seen him far more than I though.

If I'm not mistaken he wasn't invited to the state combine (have to be nominated by 3 clubs) and that means can't be a ND selection but can be rookied
That is correct isn't it Pure_Ownage.

I'm not Pure, but I am not sure that's right. Hayball shot out of nowhere last year, so had not been at any of the combines. Purely from memory, there is no restriction on who can be drafted (as opposed to rookied) once they are eligible for nomination and do actually nominate.

Toast Ruggles delisted