Official Match Thread Season 26, Round 4: Roys FFC vs Gumbies FFC at Brunswick Junction Oval (MOTR)

I don't play for a team.

Typical... plays for himself, do you expect anything less? Then again, you did make the Team of the Week last game.

Most attention is still on recovering Dun Lop Stadium at this point. The BJO is on the backburner.
Fair enough.

Loving the work on our grounds. You can feel the refreshing sea breeze from here!

And also, saw the CBD... wow...

I’ve been really busy at work and drinking less during the week, and as a result of these 2 factors my ability to shitpost, and the quality of my shotposting, has clearly suffered.

but fear not team- things at work have reached their zenith and will calm down this afternoon and my drinking will resume in earnest as of this evening.
I expect your drinking to resume in the am, not the pm. Good day to you!

there was this guy at work who used to rest his head on the wall above the urinal when taking a slash even at the 10am wee. (we had similar pee schedules)

i had previously only ever seen that move done late at night at dodgy nightclubs

there was this guy at work who used to rest his head on the wall above the urinal when taking a slash even at the 10am wee. (we had similar pee schedules)

i had previously only ever seen that move done late at night at dodgy nightclubs
Anyone who rests their head on a wall above a urinal clearly exists within a world of hurt. Don't they know we all try to see how high we can pee?

Apologies to the Gumbies-supporting public for the issues we have with amenities at the BJO for the foreseeable future. The ground is under repair ... well ... it's under a time slip, really.

You see, here are just some of the vantages from which you could have enjoyed the play last year:
0jrTX9Y.png

Austere but highly functional and comfortable stands and a terrace on the far wing. Pretty everything you need as a visiting fan.

But now, we have this:
r0nLYzc.png

So you might want to bring your own picnic chair. Sorry.
can we get a puppy for the ground?

Loving the work on our grounds. You can feel the refreshing sea breeze from here!

We can now add your ground to a growing list of coastal arenas, which include Punt Road, Dragon Island, Abu Ghraib*, Van Cortlandt Park (just) and the Coliseum.

The Swamprats however bucked the trend and relocated away from the seaside, opting for a waterfront of recycled sewerage, where they continue to swim undeterred.**

* Of course you can't actually see the water past the massive walls and razor wire.
** Credit to the D-Generation.

Wait... what do you call this regional holiday anyway?
State nobody-answer-their-phones day.

can we get a puppy for the ground?
zChpmPp.gif

I’ve been really busy at work and drinking less during the week, and as a result of these 2 factors my ability to shitpost, and the quality of my shotposting, has clearly suffered.

but fear not team- things at work have reached their zenith and will calm down this afternoon and my drinking will resume in earnest as of this evening.
Anyone who rests their head on a wall above a urinal clearly exists within a world of hurt. Don't they know we all try to see how high we can pee?
upload_2018-8-15_13-53-20.jpeg

We can now add your ground to a growing list of coastal arenas, which include Punt Road, Dragon Island, Abu Ghraib*, Van Cortlandt Park (just) and the Coliseum.

The Swamprats however bucked the trend and relocated away from the seaside, opting for a waterfront of recycled sewerage, where they continue to swim undeterred.**

* Of course you can't actually see the water past the massive walls and razor wire.
** Credit to the D-Generation.

Punt Road? I thought that one was more river side? Is their ground also missing a pocket? Lol. I imagine the two islands might have their own certain appeals. If you are doing buildings again, it would be great to capture feel of the wealthy class down at the seaside.

I hope the idea of a boardwalk isn't taken!

Punt Road? I thought that one was more river side? Is their ground also missing a pocket? Lol. I imagine the two islands might have their own certain appeals. If you are doing buildings again, it would be great to capture feel of the wealthy class down at the seaside.

I hope the idea of a boardwalk isn't taken!
Yeah Punt Road is technically on a riverside, but it's right next to the mouth of that river, where it spills into the sea. So it's a bit either/or. The two islands are actually Dragon Island (in use) and Tiger Island (abandoned). I do intend to add a ruins-of-old-ground on Tiger Island one day.

What do you mean about a boardwalk? Your new ground actually has one in the walkway around the ground. The Coliseum has one for about 20 ft of it's walkway. Mt Buller has a boardwalk for obviously different reasons, it was slightly too big to fit on the mountain-top. If you mean outside of the footy grounds, there were plenty of boardwalky type things around the Freo Docklands but it's all gone now. No, from my best recall, there are no boardwalks.

Yes I will probably add buildings again. I'd really like to see a suburban town or small city. But I'm so devastated by all the detailed buildings I created, that this time I might just make a bunch of empty boxes.

If you rested your head on the top, you'd end up in there I reckon.
nah, we’ve got the Caroma P46 model urinal with the curved dome at the top - you’d hit your head and then slide off the side.

When somebody references a different Arthur
arthur.jpg

It has also come to my attention that there is many quality Arthurs out there... well, OK, the guy that Arthur Davell plays is named Rory (Doctor Who, 11th Doctor, guy that punches Hitler... he counts as an Arthur).

Why restrict ourselves to just one?

Gday to everyone, and suck shit if you’re not in the Brisbane City Council and miss out on today’s public holiday!
I'll see your shitty public holiday and raise you my next few days
Rostered day off x4; day in lieu x2; public holiday x2.

Hey, it's your state running the holiday, not some national thing.

September can't come soon enough...

Wait... what do you call this regional holiday anyway?
The Ekka.

Official Match Thread Season 26, Round 4: Roys FFC vs Gumbies FFC at Brunswick Junction Oval (MOTR)