Season already over for 3 clubs

Seriously, have you?

All I've noticed lately is arrogant Collingwood supporters trolling other clubs. One flag in three decades and you're the greatest club ever.

Get a grip.

Uh, what? 6 months ago maybe. But then again, confirmation bias and all that.

if richmond actually played 4 quaters of football just like the 3rd, i tell you what, it would of been a good win for the tigers.

But that's why Richmond, my team and all the other also rans don't win many games.

They don't play 4 quarters of football and if they do, they don't do it next week.

Until they start doing that, they will stay as also rans.

From Rd 1 it appears, to me at least, that 3 teams are already well off the pace and will struggle big time.

Brissy- Gutsy, but they've lost their most important player (and only key forward of any note) and face 2 very difficult months without him. Vossy will need a miracle to win anymore than 2 games during this period.

West Coast- A win full of heart, but they've lost their best player to what appears a serious groin injury. Going to be a long year.

Richmond. The scoreline flattered the Tigers. They got the Blues at a good time, as they were missing a half-decent key defender. They were obliterated in the inside 50s and Jack is their only real shining light.

Too soon to call a long season for these teams?

Stupid thread title - Season already over.:thumbsdown:

None of these teams you listed were serious top 8 contenders anyway and the 2011 season is all about improving the list, game plan and getting experience into the younger players.

So after 1 round none of these teams will gain anything positive from the 2011 season?

The Eagles losing Le Cras will mean Darling, Wilson and Weedon will be getting more games and development. The team will try different set ups up forward and learn not to be too Le Cras focused and spred the load.

Brisbane were hurt big time losing Brown and Staker, no doubts. But this side also is on the rebuild and other than themselves no-one expected them to play finals. They need to find a new KP forward for post Brown, now they can start developing one and Mitch Clark becomes #1 up forward.

Richmond are Richmond, lots of young talent but as they said "On the Couch - how come so many player leave Richmond and become better players, latest being Tambling". They have a bigger task ahead of them than just season 2011, they need to build a stronger playing culture.

So no season 2011 is not over for these three clubs.

Nothing worst than flog Essendon supporters who all of a sudden think that after one game their team is now a top four contender when 6 months ago they were a rabble. :thumbsdown: It March mate, come back and post in a couple more months when your injuries to key players start mounting and the Hird factor starts wearing off.;)

but as they said "On the Couch - how come so many player leave Richmond and become better players, latest being Tambling".

Rodan most definitely, Tambling just one reasonable game, Schulz a handy season but nothing special, and whats his name? Cant remember... That other ex tiger who has gone on to dominate the competition... remind me.

Typical BF mentality. Doesn't get any clearer...

An Essendon supporter can't start any threads because their team won on the weekend? Plus you all have to take pot shots at the OP's team even though they have nothing to do with this thread... Ohh yes, big bad Essendon started this thread... Thats basically all its about isn't it? :rolleyes:

Come on BF, pull your socks up.

The OP's team has everything to do with this thread. They are only 4 premiership points ahead of all these teams that have been written off, or level with West Coast. Why not consider the Bombers, considering their recent past.

from what i observed in round 1, the season is as good as over for 16 other teams

Unfortunatly this is close to the truth.:(

So after 1 round none of these teams will gain anything positive from the 2011 season?

Richmond are Richmond, lots of young talent but as they said "On the Couch - how come so many player leave Richmond and become better players, latest being Tambling". They have a bigger task ahead of them than just season 2011, they need to build a stronger playing culture.

Speaking of premature.:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Only one average game from Richie with a few typical Richie turnovers under no pressure is no evidence of improving. He was better in 09, maybe even 08.

The OP's team has everything to do with this thread. They are only 4 premiership points ahead of all these teams that have been written off, or level with West Coast. Why not consider the Bombers, considering their recent past.

I think the form line and particular injuries are more telling than the results.

I think Richmond look a lot better this season and they have 0 points. Not sure how many wins they'll get, but that 3rd quarter was a glimpse of what they can do.

Lions had a hard season to start with and performed valiantly.
They are now down their first 3 choices in a tall forward. (Brown, Staker, Fev).

Eagles arent gonna do much this season, but Le Cras always loomed as a possible upsetting influence (see essendons game last year). Add Natanui and the return of Cox and those 3 alone could cause teams a bit of grief. Silver lining for them is they have an excuse to play a number of decent kids up forward. Gonna try catch as many games to see Darling in action.

The spirit around essendon with its fans is less about the win on sunday and more the difference onfield and Roos said it best last night. We might have won that game based on the last few years form given the dogs were flat, but it would have been a 22 goal to 18 goal win instead of 16-8. The defensive side of our game has vastly improved and the work-rate and fitness is at its best since 2001. I think a lot of opposition fans are getting more ahead of themselves than the essendon fans when criticising our exhuberence.

Win or Lose, we are light years better than we have been for a decade. A list that was fairly criticised is doing a lot better. And while we may not have the pick of the kids, the mid-tier players are starting to do what they are supposed to and its making life easier on our stars (hille, ryder, watson, fletcher) and creating a better environment to develop the kids.

And say what you like, but a winning culture will develop a better team more effectively than a losing one and you need only look at the way stars came from nowhere at Collingwood/Sydney (Blair, Wellingham, Swan, Reid, Brown, Dawes, Hanneberry, Rohan, etc etc) than Richmond

Hard to not say Brisbane's season is over, even though it is still March. The whole forward line has been decimated when you take into account Fev as well. Hard to see them winning many games of footy, although im sure they will pinch 3-5 wins from somewhere.

Seriously, have you BEEN on BigFooty lately?

A lot of Bombers supporters getting kinda big for the britches at the moment. You weren't in the "Oh NOES, Collingwood only got 35K to the Port game!" thread?

OP (an Essendon supporter) failed to mention the measly 42K you got to the Dogs game. He also forgot to mention that was actually one of the biggest crowds we've HAD against Port in Melbourne.

But you know, why should that stop you guys getting ahead of yourselves over a repeat of what happened in Matthew Knights first game.

When did I ever criticize Collingwood or a lack of a crowd against the Pies? In fact, getting 35k pie fans to the game while the GP was on is a good effort. AGAIN, can I repeat myself this is not about Essendon. If people want to say we'll finish 14th again they can- as long as they give some justification.

I haven't seen too many people argue with my OP, except those that support the aforementioned teams. Let's not argue my premise, let's just attack the Bomber supporter. :rolleyes:

Surprised an Essendon supporter would bring up Round 1 form as a "barometer" for the whole season.

2006- Bombers flogged the reigning premiers (swans) in Rnd 1 and then lost 13 or 14 in a row to finish 15th

2007- Flogged Adelaide to finish 12th

2008 flogged north to finish 12th

2009- got flogged by Port and then played finals

2010- flogged by Geelong and finished 14th

So 1/5 was true to Rnd 1 form.

Early days and should be a good game this week Swans vs Bombers, bombers look good, but have struggled at ANZ so 50/ 50 I reckon

Stupid thread title - Season already over.:thumbsdown:

The Eagles losing Le Cras will mean Darling, Wilson and Weedon will be getting more games and development. The team will try different set ups up forward and learn not to be too Le Cras focused and spred the load.

Further proof that Weagles season is over before it began. They need an injury to force them to look at different avenues to attack - coaches aren't bright enough to consider/implement. Says it all about their dismal state.

The good news for everyone else is with beating NM and getting through a few rounds of the NAB Worstfold can argue "improvement", thus all opposition teams and supporters get the benefit of the weagles having Worstfold for life. Spoon dynasty has just begun.

You're bagging out a Premiership coach, when your club hasnt won a single premiership between all there coaches? This 'spoon' dynasty coach took WC from bottom to premiership. Surely this some kind of weird joke?

Fremantle just beat a bottom of the ladder Brisbane, with Freo having 2 more players, and Brisbane missing Brown for the last quarter. Freo supporters needs to look at there own club a bit more before speaking.

And after Round 1 no one's season is over. Many teams have bombed out/ won big in Round 1, and gone on to finish high/low. None of the teams mentioned even have premiership expectations this year. This thread is a major fail.

Pretty much.
Who knows how Le Cras will affect West Coast.

Brisbane losing Brown is a real kick in the groin. They also lost Staker for the year and probably Beams for a while with a hip injury...

Big losses...But they played really well.

Richmond is hard to tell yet. They look undersized in KP spots, but I think their mids are better than they showed. Foley had gastro apparently. Martin was unusually quiet.

If 3 goals is unusually quiet I'll take that every week.

Many people (especially Richmond supporters for some reason?) were still very quick to write off Essendon after their mauling of the Bulldogs last week claiming the Dogs couldn't of played much worse, were missing key players and will improve as the season goes on.

Pretty much sums up my feelings about Richmond at the moment, to be honest. The Saints were woeful for most of the game, were missing their best midfielder in Lenny Hayes for a large chunk of the game and the Tigers still couldn't chalk up a win. Pretty disappointing really. St Kilda however will be the superior team as the season grows older. We'll soon see how good the Tigers are over the next couple of weeks with some big games against quality sides, my prediction is they will flounder. :)

Many people (especially Richmond supporters for some reason?) were still very quick to write off Essendon after their mauling of the Bulldogs last week claiming the Dogs couldn't of played much worse, were missing key players and will improve as the season goes on.

Pretty much sums up my feelings about Richmond at the moment, to be honest. The Saints were woeful for most of the game, were missing their best midfielder in Lenny Hayes for a large chunk of the game and the Tigers still couldn't chalk up a win. Pretty disappointing really. St Kilda however will be the superior team as the season grows older. We'll soon see how good the Tigers are over the next couple of weeks with some big games against quality sides, my prediction is they will flounder. :)

Wow, St Kilda were missing their best mid for half the game!!!

Lucky Richmond didn't lose any quality players or it might've gotten ugly.

Wow, St Kilda were missing their best mid for half the game!!!

Lucky Richmond didn't lose any quality players or it might've gotten ugly.

Selective memories, like most of your fellow supporters.

What suits Richmond doesn't necessarily suit any other team in the competition, especially Essendon. And especially over the last week.

Be proud of your efforts to draw the game. :)

Don't go feeling as though you should ever need to provide any proof for your relentless & ambit claims about what Tigers supporters have been saying. :eek:

I see. So playing a team that played in two GFs last season isn't a 'big game' for us. A team we haven't beaten since 2003. A team that has made a habit of flogging us in the last decade. Mmmkay.

And yes, the Saints lost a very good player. Only about half a game after we lost the bloke we apparently can't possibly afford to lose, lest we become a rabble.

Is it too early in the day for cognitive thought process where you are? :eek:

Yep. They looked ordinary again last night. They might scrape together about 7 wins.

You can forget about Saints making the top 4.

Very few of us are expecting more than about 7 wins by the way.

This doesn't diminish the fact that you'd have to be a complete flog to come on here after R1 and tell everyone that the teams who finished 13th, 15th and 16th last season can't win the flag this year. Next you'll want to tell us that the Cleveland Cavaliers can't win the NBA title this season.

With another 20 rounds to go it's mathematically possible for all three clubs to play finals. We've put in two very competitive efforts against two Top 4 aspirants, yet you're still prepared to write us off arbitrarily. :thumbsdown:

Season already over for 3 clubs