SFL 2010 Div 1 Thread - Part 2

Thanks for clearing up the Butterfield tribunal appearance Super. Also agree with you on the Shalders situation. Has been a fantastic footballer for many years, and decided to focus purely on coaching (which unfortunately was not as successful as he would of hoped, and i think he is a great coach), so good luck to him if he wants to run around in the seconds. I am sure he would have thoroughly enjoyed playing the season with Butterfield, and have a chance to win a premiership together.

Was also down at the St. Kilda City v St. Pauls game on the weekend. Unfortunately the game was over half way through the second (may have been earlier). City were just to big and strong at the contest and around the ground. The positive for the Doggies were, that they had enough of the footy, but they just butchered it going forward. Don't think they could use the ball that horribly again. But credit must go to City's pressure. Don't think the Dogs are totally out of it, but have a big task this week against East. Just have to use the ball better. And they have the ability too.

Should be a cracking game on Sat at Mordi. Chelsea would have loved the week off, and will be fresh and firing for City, who must have gained a lot of confidence form the weekend.

Great weekend of footy ahead. Got to love finals time!!

I am amazed how much sh*t Shalders seems to get. The guy has obviously put his club ahead of himself, firstly by standing down as a player when his influence was dropping away at senior level, then by rolling up his sleeves to help out the 2s when injuries hit. It can't have helped his personal coaching preparations but he still put his hand up.
By the way I think he is older than Mark Dessent?? Is he - or Joe Krierger - embarrassing themselves at 2s level??

I am amazed how much sh*t Shalders seems to get. The guy has obviously put his club ahead of himself, firstly by standing down as a player when his influence was dropping away at senior level, then by rolling up his sleeves to help out the 2s when injuries hit. It can't have helped his personal coaching preparations but he still put his hand up.
By the way I think he is older than Mark Dessent?? Is he - or Joe Krierger - embarrassing themselves at 2s level??[/quote]Agree here if Krierger can't get a game some things wrong especially after the seniors got beat.:rolleyes:

Thanks for clearing up the Butterfield tribunal appearance Super. Also agree with you on the Shalders situation. Has been a fantastic footballer for many years, and decided to focus purely on coaching (which unfortunately was not as successful as he would of hoped, and i think he is a great coach), so good luck to him if he wants to run around in the seconds. I am sure he would have thoroughly enjoyed playing the season with Butterfield, and have a chance to win a premiership together.
He's a flog and will let Chelt down in finals as he always doe's too slow.

Yeah kidding. Just like taking a pot shot every now an again. Really ordinary form
from the sfl. The top 2 sides won't get to hit Springvale (The Grand Final ground) till the preliminary or the gf but 3,4 and 5 get to grab a feel for the ground earlier. I hope this doesn't have any effect on grand final day.

Did St pauls rest players so they could familiarise themselves with the Springy deck?

Mad Monday was one of the best I've been involved with at any level. Everyone is safe and well and there are no incidents to report!

Chelt were very lucky to come away with a win last weekend against my mob, however I do think they will knock off Chelsea to take the first spot in the reserves gf.

In fact i'm predicting Chelsea reserves to go out in straight sets~!!!! Especially with their Seniors in the hunt as they will be focusing their efforts on that.

We get some more players back this week, as do the seniors, which puts us in a very good position to go all the way from 3rd spot similar to what we did last year, and in 2007.

Chelt were very lucky to come away with a win last weekend against my mob, however I do think they will knock off Chelsea to take the first spot in the reserves gf.

In fact i'm predicting Chelsea reserves to go out in straight sets~!!!! Especially with their Seniors in the hunt as they will be focusing their efforts on that.

We get some more players back this week, as do the seniors, which puts us in a very good position to go all the way from 3rd spot similar to what we did last year, and in 2007.

Are we to conclude from all this that St Pauls won't be focusing their efforts on the Seniors?? It seems flawed logic because Dingley have no senior team in, so by your own definition St Pauls 2s won't even make the Preliminary final??? :confused:

You're right homer22 - the boys got ahead of themselves and some indiscipline and a fade out cost us dearly.

At least our club isn't rotting away like yours in Div 2 homer...

Se besides
1 ) Getting ahead of themselves ( even though E. Bri beat u by over 8 gls at your home ground )
2 ) Some indiscipline
3 ) A fade out ( if thats what u call scoring 1 pt after half time )
you would have won. Maybe your "structures" should have been called statues, ala Martello. The scoreboard flattered mordi as most of the 2nd half was played in E. bri half.

Se besides
1 ) Getting ahead of themselves ( even though E. Bri beat u by over 8 gls at your home ground )
2 ) Some indiscipline
3 ) A fade out ( if thats what u call scoring 1 pt after half time )
you would have won. Maybe your "structures" should have been called statues, ala Martello. The scoreboard flattered mordi as most of the 2nd half was played in E. bri half.

Whatever man.:D

C T i watched your side and Chelt on Saturday and both of you have got no chance and we will prove it by taking Chelt apart this week as far as our Seniors are concerned we won't be sh*t scared like your mob was it might be a case of ST Pauls out in straight sets as you say.

If you think both Chelt and us have no chance then you really do have no idea.............

I'm pretty sure Chelsea were confident in the two's this time last year and we all know how that panned out!

Are we to conclude from all this that St Pauls won't be focusing their efforts on the Seniors?? It seems flawed logic because Dingley have no senior team in, so by your own definition St Pauls 2s won't even make the Preliminary final??? :confused:

Come on pies, we all know Dingley's Seniors at best are reserve equivalent so that doesn't apply to them!!!

Based on last week's game, our seniors could very much be out by next Monday, which would give our reserves a huge list to choose from.

The point i'm making is that Chelsea's seniors will make it to the end, and as long as they are in, that will be their priority, whereas Cheltenham (and possibly us if our seniors drop out) will be focused on winning the reserves flag.

Come on pies, we all know Dingley's Seniors at best are reserve equivalent so that doesn't apply to them!!!

Based on last week's game, our seniors could very much be out by next Monday, which would give our reserves a huge list to choose from.

The point i'm making is that Chelsea's seniors will make it to the end, and as long as they are in, that will be their priority, whereas Cheltenham (and possibly us if our seniors drop out) will be focused on winning the reserves flag.
I love this quote got a lot of confidence in your Senior group.......NOT. We would rather play your rubble of a Senior side any way as we all know the cup is heading down Beazley way.

I say that because if we play like we did against St Kilda we could be out.

If we play to our best, we can play then we will be right in it.

I take it you have discounted St Kilda City as a flag threat? Because based on what i saw last weekend they could very well beat your mob.

I was at the game on saturday watching the game and St Pauls were shocking and Citys pressure was the best ive ever seen and their movement of the ball was great to watch.Some of the coaching moves from the doggies were woeful not putting Marasco on Quinn was a huge mistake i thought clearly hes the dogs number 1 defender and yet he was playing on a medium size forward which would of suited the other defender that was on quinn because he needs to be stop because he can destroy games and did on the weekend with the help of Poyaz.
Also Adam McIntyre was a gun onballer for the Dogs in the season that they won it know their trying to play him Half Back when his skills are not as good because i would love to see him in the midfeild going hard at it because some young doggies players looked a bit dazed with Poyaz,lindsey and Johnstone bagging it long and intimerdating the dogs.

The Doggies need to cut down on their rotation too the amount of times i saw players running on and off the ground was shocking most of the day they had 17 coz the runner was out there dragging players off. i dont see city and the Heighters dragging there best players on and off.St Pauls lacked leadership and missed Barnes and Wheatley out their.I'm tipping St Pauls wont put the effort again and should beat East Brighton if they play local football instead of all the AFL crap with going backwards,rotating and carnt afford turing over the ball over and over again in crucial positions on the ground.
By the way Lindsey is a disgrace and hopefully he gets wacked by on of the Heighters for kicking McIntyre's younger brother 3 times atleast that was the worst act i have ever seen on a football feild i have ever seen.He is a DOG fullstop
What happened with Kirkland i havent heard what he has done yet?
if it happened mcintyre's brother probably deserved it as he loves hitting blokes late and you don't see lindsay(5'8) getting any protection from umpires

Tmac loves tough hard football but he is far from cheap...........i didn't see the incident with Lindsay so i can't comment.

Kirkland has a new tattoo and thought he would show it off. Has F*** You on his arse, the east brighton crowd was ribbing him so he bared his arse at them. Umpires sent him off for basically the whole last quarter. Word was his teammates were not impressed and were laying blame, not that he gives a toss anyway as i have said before he plays for himself and himself only. He has been spruiking that he has been offered big dollars in the country, Moama i think, maybe with his idiot mate Grose.

Does anyone know if he got any weeks at the tribunal??

thats ordinary. surely mordi wont welcome him back next year.
most his goals were against heatherton and springy anyway...

It seems Chelt were the ones that were doing the tearing apart.

I said it from the start, Chelt were taking the first spot in the grand final and providing we overcome Dingley tomorrow, we will take the second which means Chelsea reserves out in straight sets.

Bad luck mate.