• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SFL 2010 Div 1 Thread - Part 2

Wouldn't be banking on the Attard rumour. The Heighters would be doing everything in their power (cash/coaching position etc.) to keep him there.

Doesn't the MPNFL have a points system for ex AFL/VFL players. If I was in that league looking for an ex AFL player to throw coin at I would go with a bigger body.

Attard is a gun but I'd be looking at your 100 game players to get better value.

Oh, I see... Could be a bit in that then. Can Mordi or East Brighton upset any of the Big 3 in September?

I think that Mordi could knock off any of these sides on their day. They are a well coached and determined unit. Their game style tends to cramp up the quicker running teams and cause turnovers. The are the competitions St Kilda! Go Mordi!

Discuss

:D
Oh, I see... Could be a bit in that then. Can Mordi or East Brighton upset any of the Big 3 in September?

I think that Mordi could knock off any of these sides on their day. They are a well coached and determined unit. Their game style tends to cramp up the quicker running teams and cause turnovers. The are the competitions St Kilda! Go Mordi!

Discuss

Ha ha ha ok mr Martello whatever you say....:D

Not that anyone will really be too fussed, but springvale districts website has a scathing review of there loss to TM's, certainly has a crack at all the players.

The website has it spot on, I went down to this game thinking the Districts had a real chance after a more than serviceable performance against StKilda City a week earlier. From the first clearence TM controlled the game SD were slow and inaffective in all of its positions.
With respect TM are not a great side but looked brillant on Saturday but only due to the pitiful performance by a side that will struggle to make top five in 2nd Division in 2011 if they turn in anything like what i saw on Saturday.

The website has it spot on, I went down to this game thinking the Districts had a real chance after a more than serviceable performance against StKilda City a week earlier. From the first clearence TM controlled the game SD were slow and inaffective in all of its positions.
With respect TM are not a great side but looked brillant on Saturday but only due to the pitiful performance by a side that will struggle to make top five in 2nd Division in 2011 if they turn in anything like what i saw on Saturday.

The website has been largely positive most of the year considering where they are at. Maybe the powers that be thought the young side needed a bit of needle. They must have been ordinary. The write up was a bit amusing in parts. At least they keep their website up to date. Surely every club can find someone to do the same.

The fact that it was mentioned St Pauls have a small support base is a joke.

I am sure Superfreak can attest to our turnouts to Chelt games, as to can Back2back with our visits to the penut farm.

In return when they come to Dogland, they usually have a pretty solid supporter base.

If the only thing Dingley can hang their hat on is crowd numbers, then good on them.......however it's something that should be expected from an inbred country town ;)

Have the St. Pauls Doggies been "Gut Running" again this week? Looks like another season of Big Spending for No Return. :confused:

What else would you expect from a club with no Colts and No support?

Have the St. Pauls Doggies been "Gut Running" again this week? Looks like another season of Big Spending for No Return. :confused:

Is that a sarcastic post?

St Pauls are about the only team the SFL can hang it's hat on in a proud manner. Consistently a finals contender and are rarely in the limelight for the wrong reasons. The saddest thing about St Pauls is the trophy cabinet - I'm sure 2008's premiership gets them through these days.

As for Dingley - A club of bullies who have only ever beaten one side placed above them in the history of the SFL (Cheltenham Netball Club)

Go back to Division 2 you pathetic excuse for a football club. You're women are the most unnatractive forms from the human gene pool i have ever laid my eyes on. Sort it out!

As for Dingley - A club of bullies who have only ever beaten one side placed above them in the history of the SFL (Cheltenham Netball Club)

Not sure if that was sarcasm but Dingley have never beaten us Maradona. We have belted them all three times.

Also there are a few more clubs than St Pauls who the SFL can be proud of. Quite a few more!

Is that a sarcastic post?

St Pauls are about the only team the SFL can hang it's hat on in a proud manner. Consistently a finals contender and are rarely in the limelight for the wrong reasons. The saddest thing about St Pauls is the trophy cabinet - I'm sure 2008's premiership gets them through these days.

Go back to Division 2 you pathetic excuse for a football club. You're women are the most unnatractive forms from the human gene pool i have ever laid my eyes on. Sort it out!

Maradona, is that an attempt at humor?

Perhaps you should take the "Hand Of God" out of your Pocket because your constant "Man Handling" has turned you into a very stupid person.

Big spending for no return hahaha. ..........if that's what you think.

Majority of our players are locals that either have friends or have themselves played with us.

McIntyre, Rafferty, Barnes, Dewar, Marasco, Davies, Knox etc

Yes Wheatley is exception, but we need to have a few imports if we are going to compete with Chelsea etc.

Look forward to playing your mob this weekend, and then maybe you can come up and have a few beers with me after the game.

Not sure if that was sarcasm but Dingley have never beaten us Maradona. We have belted them all three times.

Also there are a few more clubs than St Pauls who the SFL can be proud of. Quite a few more!

My apologies superfreak - i was only assuming due to the way the Dingoes carry on about how good they are.

Do you think Cheltenham will have a new coach next year? I do...

Maradona, is that an attempt at humor?

Perhaps you should take the "Hand Of God" out of your Pocket because your constant "Man Handling" has turned you into a very stupid person.

Not an attempt at humour. Just some very ratty looking people lurking around in the dark at Dingley. How would my "Man Handling" have had that kind of effect?

Get a kick you horse's hoof.:D

Not an attempt at humour. Just some very ratty looking people lurking around in the dark at Dingley. How would my "Man Handling" have had that kind of effect?

Get a kick you horse's hoof.:D

Somerville, if true, I actually feel sorry for you! They take "Keeping it in the Family" to a whole new meaning! Yeehah!!!!!!!:eek:

My suggestion based on today's game Maradona would be that Chelt will be looking for a new coach after a 75-odd point loss to Chelsea Heights.

Chelt actually shaded the Heights early, and could have three early goals on the back of some umpiring decisions from the younger umpire who could only be described as biased towards the Rosellas early - more on that umpires efforts in a moment.

Heights clearly missed Filthy up front and Beasey was well held for most of the day, but the Heights eventually got moving in the middle and across half forward to lead at 1/4 time.

Seven second quarter goals saw the Heights home by half time and it was the ease they were kicking them that had to be the concern for Chelt, whose winners became few while Roberts, Flack and co gave Heights plenty of rebound off a solid half back line.

The game was over a minute into the third as Heights scored in comical circumstances, with a set shot from 35 being miskicked, but going through at waist height as no Chelt player seemed to have gotten back the goalline.

From there the game petered out, but it seemed Chelt could get to about 70 meters out but didn't trust their forwards enough to get the ball in quickely to try and catch the Heights one out. The amount of cheap possessions they had between the half forward and centre after half time that were just cheap, petty stats were ordinary.

Chelt need two or three more hard ball getters to be competitive, as well as a strong key forward - I think 25 can do the job, but just doesn't want to do the hard yards. Same with the midfield. 'Bulldog', number 2 was dominant early but probably had less touches in the last three quarters than he did in the first. Why he was at half forward was beyond me. Get him up to the scoreboard wing here he could have an impace with the circle on that side of the pitch.

Number 12 for Chelt led the 'Hard Ball Want' category with about a dozen and was the king of their uncontested possessions on the day. 17 didn't want to man up in the final quarter - focussing on a few cheap stats - wonder if they'll see him in te team next week. Their ruckmen should just play tough, uncomprimising football insead of being a bit dainty - run through blokes and they'll think twice about crossing you again.

Good to see the SFL have issued their goal umps with jackets after I mentioned it earlier this season following a goalie going down with hypothermia - kudos on that.

However, the younger of today's central umpires put in a performance that could only be described as sub-standard and lacking a duty of care towards the players in my own opinion.

His free kick count in the first quarter was 6-0 to Cheltenham, including one decision he clearly guessed at, and then after waving play-on when a Chelt player had been brought down after several steps in possession and then paying a walk-in goal for abuse following the non-decision was a thorough overreaction for his failure to make the correct decision in the first place. His decision making on the day was awful, and maybe he wouldn't have had to pay five fifty meter penalties for abuse had he actually managed to get his decisions right in the first place.

But his failure to apply a correct duty of care was my big beef with him. In the first quarter, 23 for Chelsea Heights stood under a ball at CHB and was cannonned into by a Chelt player, mowing the Heights player into the ground and taking several seconds to get back up. No free kick.

In the second quarter, a three man contest with the Heights player going up given he had the sit was paid a push even though the man in front was never impeded in the contest WAS paid a free kick. I cannot see how a man who is deliberately cannonned into does not receive protection from the umpire, while a fair contest between three men is ruled to be illegal.

My suggestion to the SFL is to maybe take the umpire out of Division One for a while - he was awful today..and to the Chelt player who wore a single figure on his back that mentioned to be under the scoreboard in the last quarter his evalution of the umpire, I wholeheartedly concur.

My suggestion based on today's game Maradona would be that Chelt will be looking for a new coach after a 75-odd point loss to Chelsea Heights.

Chelt actually shaded the Heights early, and could have three early goals on the back of some umpiring decisions from the younger umpire who could only be described as biased towards the Rosellas early - more on that umpires efforts in a moment.

Heights clearly missed Filthy up front and Beasey was well held for most of the day, but the Heights eventually got moving in the middle and across half forward to lead at 1/4 time.

Seven second quarter goals saw the Heights home by half time and it was the ease they were kicking them that had to be the concern for Chelt, whose winners became few while Roberts, Flack and co gave Heights plenty of rebound off a solid half back line.

The game was over a minute into the third as Heights scored in comical circumstances, with a set shot from 35 being miskicked, but going through at waist height as no Chelt player seemed to have gotten back the goalline.

From there the game petered out, but it seemed Chelt could get to about 70 meters out but didn't trust their forwards enough to get the ball in quickely to try and catch the Heights one out. The amount of cheap possessions they had between the half forward and centre after half time that were just cheap, petty stats were ordinary.

Chelt need two or three more hard ball getters to be competitive, as well as a strong key forward - I think 25 can do the job, but just doesn't want to do the hard yards. Same with the midfield. 'Bulldog', number 2 was dominant early but probably had less touches in the last three quarters than he did in the first. Why he was at half forward was beyond me. Get him up to the scoreboard wing here he could have an impace with the circle on that side of the pitch.

Number 12 for Chelt led the 'Hard Ball Want' category with about a dozen and was the king of their uncontested possessions on the day. 17 didn't want to man up in the final quarter - focussing on a few cheap stats - wonder if they'll see him in te team next week. Their ruckmen should just play tough, uncomprimising football insead of being a bit dainty - run through blokes and they'll think twice about crossing you again.

Good to see the SFL have issued their goal umps with jackets after I mentioned it earlier this season following a goalie going down with hypothermia - kudos on that.

However, the younger of today's central umpires put in a performance that could only be described as sub-standard and lacking a duty of care towards the players in my own opinion.

His free kick count in the first quarter was 6-0 to Cheltenham, including one decision he clearly guessed at, and then after waving play-on when a Chelt player had been brought down after several steps in possession and then paying a walk-in goal for abuse following the non-decision was a thorough overreaction for his failure to make the correct decision in the first place. His decision making on the day was awful, and maybe he wouldn't have had to pay five fifty meter penalties for abuse had he actually managed to get his decisions right in the first place.

But his failure to apply a correct duty of care was my big beef with him. In the first quarter, 23 for Chelsea Heights stood under a ball at CHB and was cannonned into by a Chelt player, mowing the Heights player into the ground and taking several seconds to get back up. No free kick.

In the second quarter, a three man contest with the Heights player going up given he had the sit was paid a push even though the man in front was never impeded in the contest WAS paid a free kick. I cannot see how a man who is deliberately cannonned into does not receive protection from the umpire, while a fair contest between three men is ruled to be illegal.

My suggestion to the SFL is to maybe take the umpire out of Division One for a while - he was awful today..and to the Chelt player who wore a single figure on his back that mentioned to be under the scoreboard in the last quarter his evalution of the umpire, I wholeheartedly concur.

Happens in all games, was also evident in St Pauls vs Dingley.

B.Rafferty was running with the flight of the ball and their key foward Number 2 didn't have eyes for the ball and cleaned him up, knocking Rafferty out cold and he had to be sent off to hospital on a spinal board.

In this instance he recieved a free kick but how a report wasn't laid is beyond me.

Number 2 from Dingley then proceeded to dive when pushed with remonstrating St Pauls players, just shows how much of a bitch he is.

He was heard saying at the start of the game to his opponent "it's my last game today, i hope i break your jaw". Real tough.

Shit, massive post and some good observations mate!

Will try and give you an insight on a few of your points.....

Yeah started well and should have been in front at quarter time but missed some easy shots while CH took their chances at the other end.

Chelt need two or three more hard ball getters to be competitive, as well as a strong key forward - I think 25 can do the job, but just doesn't want to do the hard yards.

With Mentiplay out for the year we have struggled to find a big target and Frankie has only play 10 games since his broken leg 2 years ago. He reminds me alot of Nick Riewoldt at the moment. Getting his hands to plenty of marks but his touch just isn't there and is dropping ones he would normally eat. That will return as he gets more confidence and more game time. The injury he had was horrific and took alot to come back from.

Same with the midfield. 'Bulldog', number 2 was dominant early but probably had less touches in the last three quarters than he did in the first. Why he was at half forward was beyond me. Get him up to the scoreboard wing here he could have an impace with the circle on that side of the pitch.

Bulldog has played the entire year as a deep forward and yesterday was the first game where he has been released us the ground. Certainly wins the hard ball in close, but lacks the petrol tickets to run out a full game in the middle. Hopefully with a full pre season that will come next year. He was on fire early.

Their ruckmen should just play tough, uncomprimising football insead of being a bit dainty - run through blokes and they'll think twice about crossing you again.

Our two normal ruckman were out injured (Ott and Falconer) which left our two reserves rucks to take on Wineberg and Uaongo. The more senior footy they play, the more they will learn what is required at the level. Overall I thought they actually beat the CH pair just we got flogged when it hit the ground.

I reckon you are a bit harsh on the young fella but I know where you are coming from. Was like they had watched Friday night footy (St Kilda v Hawthorn) and tried to emulate it. Either way, it had no impact on the result of the game, but did lead to some frustration from both sets of players.

The fact is that we cannot make the finals (which is a very strange feeling!) and were beaten by a very good side who are going places this year. We played 10 players under the age of 22 yesterday (another Colt debuted), which is great for the future of the club. We had kids on Fitcher, Walsh, Beasy, Ogier etc which is only going to benefit their game as they learn to play the level and what it takes to beat good players and teams.

All the best to Flacky, Puppet and the boys down there. Hopefully you get the reward for effort you deserve come finals time.

Lets hope 2011 is a year in which we rebound strongly to once again challenge in September.

Its seems Richard will no longer be at City next year i am told he might have already signed with a EFL club surly not??