• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SFNL Div 1 2019

I like this analogy which is obviously coming from either a current or ex umpire, well explained. The quicker the competition starts dishing out heavier penalties for clubs the better, this softly softly BS is not achieving anything. Clubs need to be accountable for their players actions. Div- 1 ressies having a game abandoned is not a good look.
The first quarter in the Colts-v-St.Kilda City Grand Final back in 1980 went for 60 minutes and still have no idea how they let that game proceed. Really thought that this type of stuff had been left behind.

Not the first time Port Colts have caused trouble. League should send them a final warning or send them back to the West!
So you presume it was the colts who caused the trouble Thewiz99. Well your wrong, as I saw what happened. First incident was when Cheltenham’s Ruckman was on top of the Port Colts Ruckman and wouldn’t get off him. When he was eventually dragged off him , the Port Colts ruckman’s face was covered in blood. Then the same Guy who would be say “6.4” and weigh at least 120kg decided he would punch one of the young colts players in the face ( who was concussed) for the hell of it. Now I’m all for woman and young girls umpiring , but clearly the young girl who would of been no more than 14 years old was intimidated and the big hero didn’t even get a free kick against him. Now a senior umpire was warming up and was watching these events unfold , who then at 3qtr time spoke with the officials from both sides and it was decided to call the last qtr off . The Port Colts where winning by at least 10 goals. So you should really know what happened before you decide to make quotes like that . But don’t let the truth get in the way of your story mate.

Children shouldn't be field umpiring senior/reserve footy full stop. They should be over 18 so they will hopefully be less intimidated and more confident in themselves as an umpire! Let the juniors umpire themselves and the adults umpire adults!

Ridiculous the amount of young people who shit themselves when it gets too hot in the kitchen

Some of your points about umpires are relevant, but you’ve missed the point about respect. Some of these players who disrespect every decision need to play another sport, continuing bagging is not going to help young umpires gain experience and stay in the game. If it continues then we won’t have umpires, and let’s face it, some reserves players should just give it away anyway.

Children shouldn't be field umpiring senior/reserve footy full stop. They should be over 18 so they will hopefully be less intimidated and more confident in themselves as an umpire! Let the juniors umpire themselves and the adults umpire adults!

Ridiculous the amount of young people who **** themselves when it gets too hot in the kitchen
A handful of very good young umpires down with SUA, i think that BSA is on the money here, F&%kwits who can not control their emotions/tempers and obviously no respect for authority in life, let alone on a sporting field!!! Clubs need to cull these oxymorons!

Any chance we can discuss results rather than umpiring and “bogan” fans?

What is going on down at Mordi?? Thought they’d be flag favs early on. Stpauls looking a threat yet again too despite all the departures. Well run club!

Said it before, the league needs to start investing in the umpiring department instead of taking out loans on interest to look after clubs who are poorly run and in debt crises.

If you took out the u/18 umpires from senior ranks you would have club appointed volunteers umpiring reserves every week.

You might not agree with the decision but save your foul mouth abuse for your own back yard instead of dishing it out at an umpire (like a keyboard warrior), knowing well that they will never say a word back.

If you work it out on an hourly rate, the average umpire is getting paid < $15 an hour.

Back to footy, am too completely surprised with Mordi’s start to the year. Had them right up there to play off in the GF. St Paul’s a big surprise as well as Doggies mentioned. The good folk down at the Kennel definitely doing something right.

As the ladder shows, throw a blanket over 8 teams for the top 5 come the home stretch of the season.

Ridiculous the amount of young people who **** themselves when it gets too hot in the kitchen

The young umpire shouldn’t have to put up with this type of behaviour. Clubs do programs on this stuff so they should be respected.

Yes we would all prefer older mature umpires but in reality ALL leagues are struggling for umpires. Personally think they should be paid more..

Umpires have red cards which change things very quickly. Maybe these young umpires could be encouraged to use them in bad situations

As for mordi are there players really that good as they are not winning as much as people think they should

The young umpire shouldn’t have to put up with this type of behaviour. Clubs do programs on this stuff so they should be respected.

Yes we would all prefer older mature umpires but in reality ALL leagues are struggling for umpires. Personally think they should be paid more..

I do agree no umpire should have to put up with shit! Players should be more respectful as umpires do make mistakes. I just don't like when i see people intimidating umpires, which i've seen and then experienced as an ex umpire!

I do agree no umpire should have to put up with ****! Players should be more respectful as umpires do make mistakes. I just don't like when i see people intimidating umpires, which i've seen and then experienced as an ex umpire!
To help the young umpires to control the game, maybe the SFNL need to have off field officials [ game day observers ] call them what you like, which have the power to report and or speak to the clubs involved about their players abusive behaviours while it happens, just a thought.

They already have them BSA.

Unfortunately, like in many other local leagues, extremely under resourced.

SFNL observers would on any Saturday be required to get to 3-5 games each. Basically catching a half of footy before moving on to another match in that local vicinity.

Their Saturday mornings start early with the u/19s and don’t finish till after 5pm. The pay for their troubles is laughable at best.

Again, invest in the umpiring department and the standard of football will develop as well.

SFNL observers would on any Saturday be required to get to 3-5 games each. Basically catching a half of footy before moving on to another match in that local vicinity.

Their Saturday mornings start early with the u/19s and don’t finish till after 5pm. The pay for their troubles is laughable at best.

Again, invest in the umpiring department and the standard of football will develop as well.

Another of our Umpiring fraternity LFK? This is a problem in all umpiring leagues! Maybe these clowns can have a crack at umpiring and see how easy it is!

Negative gelder, just trying to give a voice for the boys and girls in green.

Imagine a Saturday where the umpires rolled up in their numbers and started yelling abuse from the boundary every time a player from either side made a skill error... would be a funny sight. We just need to respect the job they do, abusing them isn’t going to help improve their skills.

I think majority on here agree our SFNL umps do a fairly good job, reason why they are one of the main feeders to the VFL.

Anyhow, back to Div 1 talk...

Thanks LFK, but getting around to 3 - 5 games each is too many to digest accurately, maybe the comp could invest in more observers by offering up some $$$ as a part time position. Call them integrity officers or something and they have the power to intervene when things get OOC. The SFNL needs to get on the front foot in so many issues otherwise the comp will undo all the reasonable improvements that have actually happened over the last couple of seasons or so.

We had an umpire observer attend a game we were involved in recently. He came and spoke to our club straight after the game to let us know that 4 incidents had been caught on video including a clear headbutt. We weren’t too concerned about pursuing any ourselves as none were absolute howlers in our opinion, but charges would definitely be laid we were assured.

Interestingly the MRP refused to press charges on all four. Not much point having people in place and then ignoring the information they provide.

On your other suggestion about employing integrity officers, Id say the umpires already act as integrity officers and generally do a pretty good job. I’d prefer we raise the match payments and encourage more quality umpires to join our league and increase the depth with the aim to get at least one experienced central umpire to every game.

We had an umpire observer attend a game we were involved in recently. He came and spoke to our club straight after the game to let us know that 4 incidents had been caught on video including a clear headbutt. We weren’t too concerned about pursuing any ourselves as none were absolute howlers in our opinion, but charges would definitely be laid we were assured.

Interestingly the MRP refused to press charges on all four. Not much point having people in place and then ignoring the information they provide.

On your other suggestion about employing integrity officers, Id say the umpires already act as integrity officers and generally do a pretty good job. I’d prefer we raise the match payments and encourage more quality umpires to join our league and increase the depth with the aim to get at least one experienced central umpire to every game.

You've also got observers that don't understand football.

Our game vs Doveton (you guys), we had a tagger following Battle around, general annoying/niggling type tagging but nothing untoward whatsoever, yet the observer approached the team to say that if he keeps doing it he could be giving away free kicks or cited by the MRP.

If anything, it was a couple of Doveton teammates of Battle that came in and gave knocks well off the ball to the tagger that should have been looked at yet the tagger is the one cautioned........ Absolute joke in my opinion.

And you're correct, if there was a headbutting incident in your game or any other reportable incidents then charges should be laid.

You've also got observers that don't understand football.

Our game vs Doveton (you guys), we had a tagger following Battle around, general annoying/niggling type tagging but nothing untoward whatsoever, yet the observer approached the team to say that if he keeps doing it he could be giving away free kicks or cited by the MRP.

If anything, it was a couple of Doveton teammates of Battle that came in and gave knocks well off the ball to the tagger that should have been looked at yet the tagger is the one cautioned........ Absolute joke in my opinion.

And you're correct, if there was a headbutting incident in your game or any other reportable incidents then charges should be laid.
Was that tagger you, Gregory?

Thanks Tigersman, I certainly would welcome any improvements in relation to tribunal decisions to stamp out some of these buffoons who are getting let off. Video is a great tool but if its not used then WTF is the SFNL thinking. The quicker we get support for the umpires the better, more pay you say, experienced or quality umpires don't grow on trees and the way its heading the young ones will never get that experience if these support mechanisms aren't provided or supported. The lower two divisions are the main problem with some players and supporters of clubs graduating out of the school of dickheads and will not change, I know of some umpires who privately cringe when their appointments are out and they have to go to these divisions. SFNL need to act and act now.

Spot on.

An increase in umpire $ will also attract more ex-players to remain involved in the league and in the game it self.

Many ex-players have a great understanding of the game already and that is a wealth of knowledge lost if they choose to walk away from it completely once they retire.

From what I have seen, the respect for umpires who have transitioned from a playing back ground is more so as opposed to those who may have never played the game or transition to umpiring after only playing up until u13-14s.

The AFL and VFL are starting to promote it more and more. IMO, the SFNL needs to start doing the same.