Review Showdown 47 Post Mortem - Port Federers v Adelaide Tomics

hey buddy,
You anywhere near the Kentucky river that is flowing with Bourbon?
After this crap, I wish I could swim upstream there!!
Wish i was

If you have to stay up past 1am for a sport, then sadly most of the time it's not going to end well ...

Best reason ever to never schedule arvo games again

For me the biggest problem is the midfield. We are so one paced in there and none of them really have great skills. None of them spread from the contest or have great defensive games.

Still can't believe why we haven't developed a tagger. Every other team tags our best player Sloane yet every week we watch the best opposition player carve us up without tagging them.

Crouch brothers are great accumulator of the footy but both have little hurt factor. How many games has b crouch been tagged? Shows how little they probably rate him.

My view exactly. Our midfield does not hurt or even majorly influence.

You are kidding surely, the top tier players make an enormous amount of money for chasing a football around.
No digging trenches, 4 am starts or minimum wages while still on a AFL list.
Most will milk it until they are told to go, very few consider it a good time to walk away especially when at present they are considered an automatic selection.

He will go into the media post football.

Maybe not in his first few year but he picked Mattner and Godden and chose to keep the others around.

Repeating what I said some time ago - Pyke is the type that surrounds himself with support people that are not threats to his position. It is an age old management ploy.

Do you think that Duursma would've been playing consistent AFL football if he had been drafted here?

Or maybe the more telling question is do you think that McHenry would have been playing in the SANFL all year had he been drafted by Port?
Think about it Duursma is good size and solid build with pace ,strength and skills .
Mchenry is tiny slightly built and best asset was he was great tackler (in u18s) and out injured playing SANFL

Repeating what I said some time ago - Pyke is the type that surrounds himself with support people that are not threats to his position. It is an age old management ploy.
How do you know this?

Personal observation or club based intel?

I actually disagree. I don’t think we were able to get anyone else due to how low we pay these type of coaches.

Read my first one. You look pretty stupid and petty trying to make up a s**t fight when there wasn't one.
Dude. Seriously, no matter your intentions, it’s never wise to go into the opponents board after a shitty loss. But you know that.

So are you saying the crouctheh"s are over rated or sloane is

Should any of midfield be dropped for their performance last night

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

No, not at all. I'm agreeing with the view that our midfield our great accumulators but do not come out of midfield/stoppage contests with any real HURT FACTOR. Our work from centre is circuitous, slow, readable, lacking in penetration and rarely INFLUENCES the game forward.

Ooohhh
My head !
If only the Crows kicked as many goals as I had wines last night
So embarrassing getting beaten by a team that got beat by the Dogs
Watch us get done by the GC

Pick one at least would be safe then
Shame we need about 18 first picks

Think about it Duursma is good size and solid build with pace ,strength and skills .
Mchenry is tiny slightly built and best asset was he was great tackler (in u18s) and out injured playing SANFL
Hes as big as Butters.....

QUIZ
Gee silly old me I forgot my mouthguard and had my team play 1 man down for the best part of a whole match. With mouthguard in this week I show 50,000 people I do not know the rules and cost my club a critical goal. (hint I go missing for great periods of time during the match)
Who am I ?

It reached a point where we had to retire him early, if he wasn't he would have played the other games and finals series

What are you talking about? He played out the full 2016 season and finals. Was given a pity coaching/playing contract in 2017 because the club didn’t have it in them to delist him after he’d spent half the year telling anyone who’d listen that he wanted to play on. The club’s choice was to embarrass him by delisting a player who had no place on the 2017 list or confuse up a sham reason to retain him.

That whole Murphy kick was embarrassing. Leadership ?
Eddie went across and talked to him, he also talked to the umpire.

Either they both misread the umpire or the umpire got it wrong

No, not at all. I'm agreeing with the view that our midfield our great accumulators but do not come out of midfield/stoppage contests with any real HURT FACTOR. Our work from centre is circuitous, slow, readable, lacking in penetration and rarely INFLUENCES the game forward.
So do we continue without that hurt factor and run with accumulators

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

JJ I can not work out why because as he is a sook and often a non trier uninjured so why bring him in without spudding it up in the SANFL for a couple of weeks to rid his inner demons.

On a brighter note it was great to see the club get more development games into players...Well done Dickie and Dave especially. Train well (smile) and make sure your boots are nice and shiny and you bring your mouthguard (optional) and YES of course you can have a game next week.

Review Showdown 47 Post Mortem - Port Federers v Adelaide Tomics