Review Showdown 56

He ended up near us shortly after that incident and I let him know how irresponsible it was to not penalise thrilhou & to get control back of the game which he started to look back towards me then corrected himself. He knew he’d ****ed up
They goaled from a free immediately after the missed tunnel too.

Why don't you wait until tomorrow when the MRO report comes in, weirdo. In the meantime take the time to look up the Tribunal guidelines regarding classifiable offences.

As Hinkley said, Houston is a very fair player and that was a split second decision for which he will just have to face the consequences. But anyone with a functioning brain who has followed the game this year knows that incidents like that which leave a player concussed are now treated very harshly by the AFL for obvious reasons.

My guess is the contact will be graded intentional, high and severe. Straight to the Tribunal and 4-5 weeks the likely sanction.

Why would it be graded intentional when it was not behind play like Rankine's bump? The only way it can be classified intentional is if Michael Christian is a biased flog and is leant on by other biased flogs like Laura Kane. Intentional gradings are reserved for incidents where the offender meant to commit the reportable offence, or where the offence was committed behind play. There is nothing in any footage to suggest Houston intended to get Rankine high, not was the contact made behind play, as Rankine was in possession of the ball. Any high contact, if there indeed was any, was incidental. This is a standard three-week suspension based on the matrix, don't let anyone try to tell you otherwise. Any penalty above three weeks is a biased disgrace and (another) indictment on the integrity of the league, and it baffles me why you or any other Port (or football) supporter would suggest otherwise.

Just watched the replay. Healy and Riciutto were both quick to say that DBJ ducked when he was paid a legitimate free for a head high tackle in the last quarter. Healy then back-tracked when he saw the replay saying the Crows player was reckless. But of course his natural instinct was to side with the Crows as he did for most of the night.

I expect that kinda shite from Riciutto but Healy should at least try to be more impartial

Just saw the Thilthorp tunnel on Jones, that is ****ing dirty as. Where's the duty of care for the players head there? Could've ended a lot worse.

If Thilthorpe did that in a basketball game he'd have left the game in an ambulance. Absolutely filthy and so, so dangerous.

If it had resulted in an Andrew Bogut type injury I think he'd have faced some tribunal scrutiny, but no doubt the AFL will ignore it.

Just watched the replay. Healy and Riciutto were both quick to say that DBJ ducked when he was paid a legitimate free for a head high tackle in the last quarter. Healy then back-tracked when he saw the replay saying the Crows player was reckless. But of course his natural instinct was to side with the Crows as he did for most of the night.

I expect that kinda shite from Riciutto but Healy should at least try to be more impartial
Honestly I believe Roo is less one eyed than Healy.
He has a real problem with Port.

Esava’s an interesting case study at the moment.

He’s clearly not an efficient forward. He didn’t mark much last night, and when he did win the ball he butchered it. His returns have been diminishing since the “surprise” factor of the Carlton game. But like Sweet, there’s a strength about the way he contests under a pack or high ball. He doesn’t get outmarked. Now it’s probably a case of everyone else around him hitting good form that coincidentally has occurred when he’s gone forward. But I’m comfortable him playing forward for the rest of the year if we go that way. We’ll need to choose between him and Marshall. It’s as simple as that.
Need MG back and firing pronto, Esava and Dixon the sole key forwards in a final is the stuff of dysfunctional forwardline nightmares.

Nah.

An old fashioned shirt front on a player who was basically defenceless that leaves him concussed is not something any coach would support in 2024. And not many supporters would either.

Added to that we will lose a key defender through suspension for the finals campaign - a player who is a focal point for our defensive rebound turnover strategy.

Wasn't a fair hit and wasn't smart. And even worse it could end up costing us big time in the finals.
Alot of experts forget we are talking split second decision making.

Houston was running full pace to mark the ball. Obviously last millisecond he realises he isn’t making it I don’t understand at that speed how a player can be expected to make so many decisions.

Either the AFL needs to slow the game down to avoid this unintentionality or accept it will happen

Houston was running full pace to mark the ball. Obviously last millisecond he realises he isn’t making it I don’t understand at that speed how a player can be expected to make so many decisions.

Either the AFL needs to slow the game down to avoid this unintentionality or accept it will happen

He need to try and mark it and turn in the last second but just running in and stopping to brace yourself always leads to tribunal problems

Honestly I believe Roo is less one eyed than Healy.
He has a real problem with Port.

Roo’s voice is quite grating but compared to a lot of others he does talk up our good players and at least has some knowledge of them.
The Crows board seem to hate him because he didn’t want Houston executed at dawn…

Don't give that Grotty moron any air mate he's just a pipsqueak with no relevance.
He’s also a massive oxygen thief hypocrite like the majority of them

It’s very simple Crowies stalking this board supporting the Crows gives less than **** superiority over anyone in here

You’re not special
You’re not elite
You’re not cultured or refined for your choice of football club membership ffs

The decision you make is to not attack a contest so hard that you can't avoid knocking someone out. Unless you're Maynard then you can just end a bloke's career with no penalty.

Houston had full view of what was in front of him, he knew where Rankine was landing, he went in too hard.

Roo’s voice is quite grating but compared to a lot of others he does talk up our good players and at least has some knowledge of them.
The Crows board seem to hate him because he didn’t want Houston executed at dawn…

He couldn’t really say too much, if he had hit Rankine he’d be taken straight to the Mortuary.

Why would it be graded intentional when it was not behind play like Rankine's bump? The only way it can be classified intentional is if Michael Christian is a biased flog and is leant on by other biased flogs like Laura Kane. Intentional gradings are reserved for incidents where the offender meant to commit the reportable offence, or where the offence was committed behind play. There is nothing in any footage to suggest Houston intended to get Rankine high, not was the contact made behind play, as Rankine was in possession of the ball. Any high contact, if there indeed was any, was incidental. This is a standard three-week suspension based on the matrix, don't let anyone try to tell you otherwise. Any penalty above three weeks is a biased disgrace and (another) indictment on the integrity of the league, and it baffles me why you or any other Port (or football) supporter would suggest otherwise.

Depends on their definition of intentional, but it was an intentional bump

I reckon the bump is one generation away from being as rare as the drop kick Macca, no one will coach anything in junior grades but tackle tackle tackle now & the AFL don't have the minerals to ban a long standing part of the game so this is how it filters out. Kids will just not have the instinct to bump.

The Crows board is full of absolute hypocrites who definitely wouldn't have had a crack at their own supporters for wishing or delighting in one of our players getting injured. They can **** off.
Let's see how the crowd reacts if JHF is ever stretchered off in a Crows home Showdown. Polite golf clapping I'm sure.

A major part of many people's criticism of Port is that we've been too nice. Screw that - Hawthorn won a hat trick of premierships by playing tough, unsociable football, and they definitely didn't care about making friends. We HAVE to play that way to be successful.
It's much better when people hate us, that means we're good.

JHF appitimises everything that is Port Adelaide, absolutely love this bloke, he plays exactly like a Port man. Imo he is our most valuable player right now.
Yep he has elevated himself to the main man. Against Melbourne in the last quarter he was a one main brick wall.

Healy always pumps them up, every season and it's like dude they've been shit for years. He is like their fans though, it hasn't registered how shit they are, if everyone was so good on their team why are they so bad?

Review Showdown 56