Autopsy St Kilda v Melbourne, Etihad Stadium @ 4:10pm

When were we ever in front of them though? We finished below them last year and finished last the year before. They have been rebuilding for 3 times as long as us. They should be pushing for finals by now while we are still a couple of good drafts off building our side.
I always thought we were better.
The last time we lost to the dees was elimination final of 06'

The draft system is designed to get the bottom performing clubs competitive again.
Having said that, Melbourne bottomed out in 2008 and got Watts. Watts was highly rated in the draft by all observers. If we had had the first pick back then we'd probably have done the same.

2008 Watts : No Significant Benefit .

2009 : Got Trengove and Scully. Trengove has proven to be injury prone and not given much benefit.
Scully was poached which resulted in compensation. Melbourne got no tangible benefit for this draft pick until Hogan started playing last season.
You have to put a huge question mark in front of the process that allowed Melbourne's pick, designed to get them competitive, to drag out for 5 years. ie the process allowing Scully to go to GWS AND allowing Melbourne to draft underage players.
They then copped all the draft dilution of the startup clubs and made some bad choices along the way.

Add a poor team culture and what do you get.

I think he means list-wise Melbourne are in better shape than us at this stage now. Sure they were far worse when they traded or delisted all their older players 4-5 years ago, but the fruits of doing that are coming through now. Viney, Salem, Petracca, Brawshaw, Oliver, Neal-Bullen & Stretch are all 1st-to-3rd year midfielders & thats without even adding the likes of Dom Tyson, Tom Bugg & Ben Kennedy who are 22, then they have Vince, Jones & Trengove as well.

Their midfield crop is looking ****ing solid for their future IMHO

'
We've had better senior players for a long, long time but they've been stacking their list with elite youth for much longer. With quite a few of our senior players retired/traded/slowing down we'll see Melbourne's more advanced youth start to turn the tide in their favour.

Hogan, Petracca, Brayshaw, Viney, McDonald, Salem, Oliver, Gawn and Tyson is an outstanding young core - we're another year or two away from having that much elite young talent on the list. However they do lack depth in KP and are still very reliant on Jones and Vince for experience and leadership. I'd say we have stronger depth and experience but they beat us comfortably for elite young talent.

When were we ever in front of them though? We finished below them last year and finished last the year before. They have been rebuilding for 3 times as long as us. They should be pushing for finals by now while we are still a couple of good drafts off building our side.
I agree with you Birdman but looking at the timeline then it means that a couple of more years of going to the draft and then at least a 2-3 years getting games under their belt means that 2020 is not realistic anymore. Didn't the Pelchen strategy say Flag contention by 2020?

Loving your guys analysis of our list.

Personally if i wanted one player from your team for a needs point of you view id take Hugh Goddard. You guys got a massive steal and hes one i think will become a dominant swingman of the future. I think his upside is far greater then McCartin.

Question is where do you guys see him? Forward or back?

I agree with you Birdman but looking at the timeline then it means that a couple of more years of going to the draft and then at least a 2-3 years getting games under their belt means that 2020 is not realistic anymore. Didn't the Pelchen strategy say Flag contention by 2020?

He wouldn't know if his arse was on fire. Flag by 2020 was always going to be impossible because our best players are still our older players. Finals by 18 or 19 should be our goal. Then it may take 3 or 4 years even from there.

Personally if i wanted one player from your team for a needs point of you view id take Hugh Goddard. You guys got a massive steal and hes one i think will become a dominant swingman of the future. I think his upside is far greater then McCartin.

Look at McCartins TAC stats and dont listen to flogs like Dermot.
We didnt pick him over Petracca and Brayshaw for shits and giggles ff take a couple years he is pretty similar to hogan in size and shape but 2 years younger and Hogan is the best young ff.
If you dont trust our recruiting department trust your own Saints didnt down trade pick 1 to GWS because the dees would of taken Brayshaw and McCartin with 2 and 3 if GWS got Petracca.
After he was played too early because of need he made the team after consistently scoring 4 goals a game in the VFL and did pretty well for a first year forward but we would hope he has a breakout game or two this year and kicks 4 or has over 20 disposals.
The only other forward to compare him to is Moore who also looks fantastic but has the advantage extra height against 2nd 3rd defender and getting delivery from a midfield that your new boy Ben Kennedy couldn't hold a spot in

Look at McCartins TAC stats and dont listen to flogs like Dermot.
We didnt pick him over Petracca and Brayshaw for shits and giggles ff take a couple years he is pretty similar to hogan in size and shape but 2 years younger and Hogan is the best young ff.
If you dont trust our recruiting department trust your own Saints didnt down trade pick 1 to GWS because the dees would of taken Brayshaw and McCartin with 2 and 3 if GWS got Petracca.
After he was played too early because of need he made the team after consistently scoring 4 goals a game in the VFL and did pretty well for a first year forward but we would hope he has a breakout game or two this year and kicks 4 or has over 20 disposals.
The only other forward to compare him to is Moore who also looks fantastic but has the advantage extra height against 2nd 3rd defender and getting delivery from a midfield that your new boy Ben Kennedy couldn't hold a spot in

Ok..? Good on you for giving me a whole run down on McCartin who btw I still rate highly.. But I wasn't asking about him at all.. Its Goddard im after mate.

Most likely down back

I think he will end up down back mainly because of the lack of KPD on our list at the moment. (it may change)
Wouldn't mind seeing him pushed forward though.

I agree, I see him turning into a Drew Petrie type where he'll start his career down back then end up as a big power forward who is capable of kicking 40 to 50 goals a year down the track.

Massive upside.

I agree, I see him turning into a Drew Petrie type where he'll start his career down back then end up as a big power forward who is capable of kicking 40 to 50 goals a year down the track.

Massive upside.
Who knows... If we can pick up a quality KPD through free agency it could happen...

I think this as well. Honestly think he will end up forward.

Not sure why some people on here get so aggressive at opposition supporters asking a legitimate Question lol
There are many opposition supporters who value add here.
This Dees guy seems to be one if them. He is being polite and deserves a go.

Not sure why some people on here get so aggressive at opposition supporters asking a legitimate Question lol
Its a question prefaced on McCartin not being a top forward.
We won't fit Bruce, Paddy and Goddard forward and Bruce is still only 23 maybe if we got Bruce to do ruck work but i think thats a waste of his talent.
I explained that McCartin is more talented then people(media) realise and that if the Dees could grab a forward from our list it would be well Bruce but then Paddy and were keen on McCartin in the 2014 draft at pick 2.
So far Goddard hasn't spent much time forward apart from when he was beaten down back and McCartin went down injuried. Goddard will go forward but probably only to cover injury or if he's getting killed. Also I think so far Goddard is not as good at judging the flight of the ball as Paddy and despite Goddards size needs to improve his body work but they are equal on second efforts.
Saying that his cousin thinks he'd make a better forward then defender but then again he choose to go to the injectors so i take it with a grain of salt.
It was the vibe of it

What's the expectation this year for Demons?
Id like to think 10 to 12 games win this year. No more piss weak excuses. Will we make finals? Personally i don't think we will, i think we'll just miss out meaning next year is a must.

We just have to continue stock piling talent and make bold recruiting calls like getting Jeff Garlett for pick 61 and Oliver at pick 4.

Only time will tell but really do hope we make some inroads.. but as a melbourne supporter thats seen some false hope in the past its hard to really say how we'll go this year.

Id like to think 10 to 12 games win this year. No more piss weak excuses. Will we make finals? Personally i don't think we will, i think we'll just miss out meaning next year is a must.

We just have to continue stock piling talent and make bold recruiting calls like getting Jeff Garlett for pick 61 and Oliver at pick 4.

Only time will tell but really do hope we make some inroads.. but as a melbourne supporter thats seen some false hope in the past its hard to really say how we'll go this year.
Is Petracca expected to be right for round 1?

I reckon you are on the money. The 8 will be very hard to make this year. Too many teams all vying for too few spots. It will mean those who on other years might have snuck in will be stuck 9th to 15th. I reckon it's a year injuries will hurt and anyone could tumble though. I'd say the Dees are probably slightly more cohesive as a team but around the Saints level still and probably Brisbane and GC with us both. Should be above Carlton and Essendon but hard to see any of us jumping that next tier which has Geelong, Dogs, Sydney, Pies, Adelaide, Port Adelaide, GWS etc in it. The team going for top 4 would also include some of those as well as Freo Richmond, North, WCE, Hawks etc. Of course injuries can hit any of those teams to and bring them back down.

Autopsy St Kilda v Melbourne, Etihad Stadium @ 4:10pm