News surjan on the move

Perry Mason closed this case. Surj is mediocre at best time to move on. He was ok when he had better players around him but unfortunately he never moved to the next level like a lot of his friends.
Who exactly where these better players in 2009 and early 2010 when you could debate he was one of our top 3 players in terms of consistent and better performed players. I'd argue his been getting better for quite some time, but you won't listen so it's pointless

More importantly, all the haters have come out of the woodwork to voice their opinions today, yet suspiciously not a peep or a passing comment from you or captain ebert for a couple of years. intriguing

Ultimately what's best for Port Adelaide will come to fruition. What the actual truths are is anyones guess

I can wait to read up about Kane Cornes when his tenure with Port Adelaide comes to an end. That will be interesting

Was talking to a friend about Surj and apparently just recently he Tweeted something along the lines of, Ignore the rumours im happy at PAFC???

Did anyone else see that?

Players use Twitter, Facebook etc the same way they use traditional media - they say only what they want you to hear and to toe the party line.

Did you expect him to tweet that he hates it at Port, has decided not to comply with directions and wants to be traded?

He posted this;

Can only assume he has seen this thread ;).

Don't believe everything you read guys. Still every much a Port adelaide player. Thanks for all the kind tweets tho. #AAmisaturdaynigh

do enjoy playing for both jumpers but the power one a little more :) Cheers pal. #getoAamisaturdaynighpeople

Yeah, was just going to post the same tweet. Reckon hes pretty happy here, judging by those comments :thumbsu: just need to give him the game time he deserves now :rolleyes:

Players use Twitter, Facebook etc the same way they use traditional media - they say only what they want you to hear and to toe the party line.

Did you expect him to tweet that he hates it at Port, has decided not to comply with directions and wants to be traded?

No not at all, i wouldnt expect him to say "PAFC is Sh*t etc"
But why would he say anything at all?
He wasnt put on the spot or asked by the media to comment etc but he took it on off his own bat to do it? Why?

No not at all, i wouldnt expect him to say "PAFC is Sh*t etc"
But why would he say anything at all?
He wasnt put on the spot or asked by the media to comment etc but he took it on off his own bat to do it? Why?

Because he has a Twitter account and I guess you have to use it for something.

However, I don't understand the need for one of these in the first place.

If you check back to post #83 of this thread you will note that his tweet was reported here already. ;)

He tweeted that in response to all the tweets he was receiving from concerned peeps (inlcuding @BigFootyPower) about his status at Port following the article in the Hun.

And plenty of sportsmen around the world have created issues for themselves through their tweeting (Joey Barton from Newcastle the latest example) so it is not just used to toe the party line. Footballers here generally seem to use it as a communication tool among themselves and occasionally respond to persistent fans.

(inlcuding @BigFootyPower)

"Shameless plug!" said @MattTarrant.

:p

Thought it was interesting his second post about wanting to play for Port aswell, sort of related to soem people making comments earlier on about his love of playing in the SANFL.

Well we know you're a Port player Jacob mate, there's no 3/4 season draft. We're asking if you're happy in SA with us. I guess he can't give the answer we want to hear right now.

Despite his tweets I think Surj will be gone at the end of the year.

It was interesting tho to read a comment today attributed to Jason Akermanis about how he did a heap of bike riding one year to help his fitness and decided it stuffed up his running. So he ditched the bike.

Surj did a heap of bike riding this pre-season to get his fitness back and now he looks like he can't run.

I heard Surj approached Freo over the last summer break and they told him he was not fit enough and to improve and they would look at him. The club found out and he is now on the outer. For all of the people who believe he loves the club so much he does not. He wanted out end of last year. In fact from what I hear half our players want out and of course they are not going to publicly say it but the playing group is not a happy or cohesive one.We are wooden spooners in more ways than one.

I heard people that post random shit on the internet and claim it as fact are mostly lonely 37 year old white men that weigh 168 kgs and have seventeen cats.

That rumour was started by Ralph on AA - I heard it that day and what he said was that Surj trained with Freo, Port found out and he's been on the outer ever since.

This was put to Surj who laughingly replied that at the time this was supposed to have happened he was cycling up Mt Lofty.

It's crap. Full stop. I wish people would stop repeating it or variations thereof.

Oh well, regardless of all these rumours I can't blame him if he wants out. We are going to win a spoon and obviously our playing group is very unsettled. Who knows whats going on but its been split ever since we lost that bloody GF and Dom was appointed captain over Shaun. Most importantly, Surj isn't getting the opportunities he deserves for an experienced player who leads by example, always putting his body on the line. Why wouldn't he consider a move home, especially considering the state of WA football compared to SA footy atm :rolleyes:

News surjan on the move