Media Swans Talk in the Media 2024

Our club in the Media

MOD NOTICE ON COPYWRITTTEN CONTENT New
This content is brought to you by Chief and the Mods of Big Footy.
PLEASE READ:

A reminder to all on the rules of copywritten content.

You will be held responsible for the articles you post that infringe copyright.

Mods will issue warnings when posters reproduce full articles on Big Footy.

You will receive something like this and an initial 1-point infraction. Contued posting of articles will incur a Serious Infraction of 5 points.

So please remember, when using material that may be the copyright of another party, you must:
  • Use only that portion you are directly commenting on. A reasonable guide might be a paragraph or two.
  • Always link to the source.

I dare say Mr Bandicoot has lived out on the story for a bit.
Imagine telling his grandkids he got to sit next to bedford. :unsure:
Actually No. I never mentioned it to anyone. As a young kid I was always afraid if the VFL found out that I was the one who threw it, I'd be banned from going to matches. The only people I spoke to about it were other members of the cheer squad and my family.
For decades it just sat in the back reaches of my memory until I read the article on the Swans site about a great grandfather and his three generations below him who were all swan supporters. In that article he recounted that day in Geelong and said that he was extremely grateful to the person who threw it. This is what he said in the article.

Earlier that year we travelled to Geelong to support our team. I remember it because Doug Wade, the Geelong Champion full forward, was lining up for goal in the tense last quarter, and this was a game we had to win to play in the finals. As he ran in to kick for goal, a half-eaten apple was thrown at Wade. It didn't hit him, it hit the football just as it was leaving his boot and skewed the ball for a point allowing us the win. To that Swans supporter who threw the apple, a huge thanks.

It was only then that all the memories of the day (albeit some are a little blurry) came flooding back. It was then that I posted here that I was the one who threw it and Callipygian sent me a pm and asked if I would like him to let Swans HQ know about it. This was March last year and I hadn't heard anything from the Swans until a couple of weeks ago hence I'd sort of forgotten about it again.
Someone on the site here mentioned that someone had already laid claim to being the one who threw it so I googled it and found an article in the Geelong Advertiser about it. Said he was 14 at the time and was bullied into throwing it. Yeah, I'm sure. What was a 14 year old Geelong supporter doing at the South Melbourne end of the ground which was packed with South supporters when he could have gone to any other part of the ground. It was ridiculous.

Anyway, it was good to remember the good times of being in the cheer squad and the times of being a kid.

PS. I can't remember that Bedford was sitting next to me. :p

I meant who is it on here? I know we have Bob from Ballerat

Thank you Hairy. Seemed I liked that original post from Bandi - shows how much of what I read that I actually take in 🤣
Old age is a BITCH!!!!
Old age is most certainly a bitch but then again it's better than the alternative.

Well done and great article.

Ballarat has always had a decent contingent of Bloods’fans. My best mate is another mad Swans fan from the ‘Rat.

Actually No. I never mentioned it to anyone. As a young kid I was always afraid if the VFL found out that I was the one who threw it, I'd be banned from going to matches. The only people I spoke to about it were other members of the cheer squad and my family.
For decades it just sat in the back reaches of my memory until I read the article on the Swans site about a great grandfather and his three generations below him who were all swan supporters. In that article he recounted that day in Geelong and said that he was extremely grateful to the person who threw it. This is what he said in the article.

Earlier that year we travelled to Geelong to support our team. I remember it because Doug Wade, the Geelong Champion full forward, was lining up for goal in the tense last quarter, and this was a game we had to win to play in the finals. As he ran in to kick for goal, a half-eaten apple was thrown at Wade. It didn't hit him, it hit the football just as it was leaving his boot and skewed the ball for a point allowing us the win. To that Swans supporter who threw the apple, a huge thanks.

It was only then that all the memories of the day (albeit some are a little blurry) came flooding back. It was then that I posted here that I was the one who threw it and Callipygian sent me a pm and asked if I would like him to let Swans HQ know about it. This was March last year and I hadn't heard anything from the Swans until a couple of weeks ago hence I'd sort of forgotten about it again.
Someone on the site here mentioned that someone had already laid claim to being the one who threw it so I googled it and found an article in the Geelong Advertiser about it. Said he was 14 at the time and was bullied into throwing it. Yeah, I'm sure. What was a 14 year old Geelong supporter doing at the South Melbourne end of the ground which was packed with South supporters when he could have gone to any other part of the ground. It was ridiculous.

Anyway, it was good to remember the good times of being in the cheer squad and the times of being a kid.

PS. I can't remember that Bedford was sitting next to me. :p
The train ride home was something else , we hadn't made finals since 45 , it was like winning a flag to us , always next year was the call . But look at our great club now and to all that came through those hard times and the hard times in NSW . What a club

Doe anyone know what the link is with Swans supporters and Ballarat? My olds grew up in the Clayton / Westall area which was South Melbourne recruiting territory hence the strong support in that area.
I don't think there's much more to it than a number of old die hard south supporters and their offspring reside here. I'm 4th generation and my kids now support the swans too.

The little pockets of support always fascinate me. I know it's said our following in Tassie comes from South being the closest VFL club to station pier when the islanders came over to the mainland. As I've mentioned the Clayton to Noble Park area was former zoned ground. GotTheGoodes is doing his best to increase the South Australian swans supporting population etc.

Well done and great article.

Ballarat has always had a decent contingent of Bloods’fans. My best mate is another mad Swans fan from the ‘Rat.
It annoyed me when the Dogs were playing in Ballarat a couple of weeks ago and the commentators regularly referred to Ballarat as "the Rat". That's not the case. Ararat is referred to as The rat by locals, not Ballarat.

Was it Kellie Underwood
Please not this again. Don’t get me started. Taylor laying unconscious on the ground and she comes out with

“ We are talking about an outstanding human here “

Outstanding player for sure but what the **** is she on about ???

Anyway I’m out now.
Fox Footy need their head read. Won’t comment on this again.

Doe anyone know what the link is with Swans supporters and Ballarat? My olds grew up in the Clayton / Westall area which was South Melbourne recruiting territory hence the strong support in that area.
My mates dad was rusted on as a kid and went to the 33 GF. Will ask my mate what his theory is.

It annoyed me when the Dogs were playing in Ballarat a couple of weeks ago and the commentators regularly referred to Ballarat as "the Rat". That's not the case. Ararat is referred to as The rat by locals, not Ballarat.

Refer to Ararat as ratsak. Not the best town in the world. My mates in Ballaarat refer to it as the Rat.

I am still puzzled why the windswept, freezing North Ballaarat Oval got the deal to host Footscray. There are some beautiful and relatively protected ovals such as City Oval. My mate loathes NB footy club but he played for Redan so is biased. He claims dark Council and AFL corruption.

Matt Roberts most improved - well of course he is!

Hear, hear. I think most hoped Roberts would come in and make an impact, given the glimpses he'd shown and reports of his pre-season form, though I expect few of us imagined he would all but cement a spot from round one. A fantastic year so far.

Of course, one could argue for Heeney as most improved, even though he starts from a higher baseline. We always knew he had the potential to be an outright star, having turned it on for a handful of games most seasons, but this year he has not missed a beat. He is pure silky class, inside, outside, forward, a class above. I'd go as far as suggesting that without Heeney we may have dropped a few more games. Of course that could be said about a number of other players but it's Heeney's consistency at the highest level that really impresses. Few players have begun the season so faultlessly. I hope he continues.

Clubs website is very quiet.
Far out you're hard taskmaster. The Swans video channel on youtube has been posting shorts and video this entire past week. Not to mention the instagram & twitter posts.

Oops .. oh that is good.

Rarely youtube and abhor X and Insta. I really am a dinosaur. But happily so Re social media.

Enjoy your pile on. :p