News Team V Bulldogs

Wow - now Boaky out.

I thought the side we took to Melbourne to play the Kangaroos was in a pretty bad shape, but this one takes the cake.

On paper, this would be the poorest side we've just about ever picked. Nash, Harding, Logan and Davenport all in the one side.

Well fingers crossed that Matty can somehow inspire something very, very special.

A competitive, four quarter effort resulting in a five goal or less margin may have to do............Nah just kidding, I still expect us to win.;)

Primus has put the players on notice. By putting all the players on notice does that mean the club has drawn another line in the sand? We know how successful that has been.

No I wont be cynical unless the team lines up as named and plays indirect football. If that happens then nothing has changed. However I suspect Primus has a few role changes in mind for certain players. If he doesn't then we know he was a not a yes man.

But I am rather surprised Motlop remains. I suspect there is a line in the sand for him too. At least I bloody hope there is.

It can't change totally overnight without a complete bloodbath of the list, no point in that. I want to see players being dragged ****ing immediately for doing the wrong thing in terms of the next/the new/ game plan, even if its just a momentary slip into the old ways. If I see that, I'll know the processes of change have started at several levels. I want to see 'enthusiasm' seeing the players run for each other is one measure. Pretty much all I can ask for in "game 1" given where we are at.

Ditto on Motlop. Probably Carlile & Chad out saved him. Drags Salter down back. Must be something wrong with Stewart (apart from him needing to go build his upper body strength, Primus would be a fair judge). If Motlop fails or does his block up there... the line will be drawn across the back of his neck not in the ^&(*ing quicksand.

There's plenty to be interested in for this game. I'm more nervous than excited about the game. Boak's a huge out for us.

Whilst I agree with most of peoples complaints and on seeing the selection the following were my main concerns (in order):

1) Motlop - remaining.
2) Salter - in back pocket.
3) Stewart - dropped.
4) Trengove - FB (minor concern).

... I am still a bit optermistic.

1st... this is Matty's 1st game. Lets see how we actually play the game and how he implements his gameplan(s). Players in those positions could actually play alright. Motlop could/would be more effective with speedier and quicker delivery to him one-out. Westhoff showed good form against Collingwood and was marking well.

2nd... Named Lineup doesn't equal Playing Lineup. Salter may well end up at FF if things aren't working. Besides that Salter has seemed at home in defence too (although I much prefer him up forward)... perhaps this is part of his education process. Play some games as a defender to better understand the game before resuming as a forward... much like what Richmond have done with Jake Reiwoldt.

3rd... Stewart did seem to be struggling to make an impact. He took some good contested marks here and there, but seemed to get knocked around too easily in the contest. Perhaps dropped back for a "breather" from the top level.

4th... Sort of glad to see Carlile out actually. They say he is injured but could have gone out due to form too... either way... perhaps a wake up call he needs. We can still lose (and possible win) without him :p will be good to see Trengove in a more responsible role.

Again... not complaining too much about the changes. Will reserve judgement after I see how we play and how the players are used on gameday.

PS - I am tipping Banner to have a standout game. He has been doing well the last few weeks and with Boak out I think he will step up.

Let's not forget, we got within a goal of this side in the preseason semi final with practically the same line up.
Sure that was a preseason match - but it wasn't as if Footscray weren't fair dinkum.

I've decided not to worry about selections for the rest of the season - it is now going to be audition time (yes, still including Salter in defence for an extended period which is fairer to him and the club in the long term) and we should see the newbies coming in when they are fitter and match ready - eg Moore, Pittard, Marlon, Meyer and remotely possibly, Butcher.

Nash again and Harding gets his chance with Boak out - there is nothing to lose to see if they are worth keeping.

we cant take a trick at the moment ... but knock on wood we will win. would have liked to seen Motlop omitted but since he isnt why not give him or ebert a run up the field.

Good luck to Scotty Harding who I hope takes advantage of this, hard coming in against the Dogs after going between league and reserve.

I can't wait to see HOW we play if any differently. I don't expect much noticeable change at first but hopefully he'll play Salter a half down forward when Motlop goes to a flank or something. We are only at the beginning of a long climb..

Also interesting to see the club does not make contract details public yet the Boak article states it's a two year. :p

Harding selected i reckon because they're trying to get some trade value to send him to Gold Coast where he has some connections (from Qld and Hunt goes out with his sister i think).

As far as Salter in defence - he's selected there in the released team, but lets just wait til the game before we jump up and down, the team doesn't actually have to line up exactly how its placed in the team selections on Thursday nights.

Whilst I agree with most of peoples complaints and on seeing the selection the following were my main concerns (in order):

1) Motlop - remaining.
3) Stewart - dropped.

... I am still a bit optermistic..

so you should be

(general reply to all will refer to the above later)

i have penned in all games as a loss
most here should too
look for gamestyle

primus can't chop radically. we have injuries and need to field a competitive team

you cant tell people they are on notice and then drop them.

also, come on people, it was always a question of,

1) are these good players being given an unworkable game style and instruction, or
2) are they just ordinary players

so we lose choco, and the only way to see if it was choco or his game trategy is to play the SAME players, in teh same positions, with a few changes during the game of course, and give them a fresh instruction. which i beleive MP has said he has given them in regards to being more direct

IF they perform well, and lets not forget we have some serious talent out there- then point proven, it was chocos stupid gameplan.

IF they fail having been given a fresh start a bit of motivation and a rocket, then we know it was the players.

as for can they do well? heck yeah. this is the team that pulls off 10 goal quarters. the skitzo friekoid team. perhaps, just perhaps MP knows where and how to adjust. of course do we think he's going to send an email to Rodney Eaded giving him 3 days to adjust to it? get real

watch, enjoy. its a shame this game isn't in adelaide they'd possibly get 35,000 there as a sign of support. i hope we do next week.

1) Motlop - remaining.

you can't drop the guy if you put him on notice, thats what notice means. primus told us he was putting him on notice

named. also we are deficient in defence and he has actually looked quite good there. but watch for versatility in teh game. make comment in 3 weeks on salter once Ali and Chad are back in

3) Stewart - dropped.

fair enough. i'd tell him son, man up and muscle up and you'll hold those marks. the kid has done good attempting to bust packs, he just lacks the mass. i agree drop him and tell westhoff HE is on his last legs. stewart will for sure be a part of our starting team from Rd 1 next year.

Westhoff will be on a boat if he doesnt kick 10 goals in the next 7 weeks. and in some ways while i detest the tall pussycat i actually hope he does (gillian batty his mum will love reading this i am sure). clearly he has a talent more than the luck he had in 2007. but he appears lazy and lacking in confidence plus he has the buildof a 15 yr old which after 4 years is simply unacceptable for an AFL footballer. if he does perform well then the pAFC benefits and again it demonstrates that choco was failing him and thus other players may also be able to improve their performance which augers well for the future. but we cna't play both stewart and put westhoff on notice as a forward.

see above. trengrove is a HUGE part of our future. stick him down back and let Schultz Westhoff Davenport Ebert and Motlop fight for their survival. this kid was not put on notice and he deserves to be given time to settle as a defender or in a specific spot. lord knows we spent weeks here saying how choco was destroying him making him a mr fix it utility. MP gives him a chance to settle we should be saying thank you

the ONLY one I am wanting in is Lobbe. But I have NO doubt of all the people at the club who understands best what is best for the team and individuals it is Primus. i'd almost expect others to get a gig before lobbe on that basis as they need to be tested

Truly. having 7 weeks up our sleeves to test these guys is a blessig for us

long enough,not too long.

sit back and enjoy it. put them down for losses but watch the show

Playing Salter in defence screams PETTIGREW to me

Poor Pets was persisted and persisted in defence when he clearly isnt a backman

Im worried Port are going to destroy Salters career in the same fashion

Salter has looked comfortable in defence. He has a good kick as our designated kick in player and so far has shown no bomb-scare moments that Pettigrew did from time to time.

Yeah I agree.

His boot is lovely. Defensively he's been ok.

I don't envy him this week however.

true. have seen him caught out being a few steps behind a couple of times against good opposition, but that is just the learning process. composure and disposal a huge plus. interesting watching him (and D. Stewart) for a couple of quarters each from a superbox above the southern goal against collingwood.

I thought he looked average to poor in defence. He cannot defend one on one and has been caught out of position horribly.. because he's a forward.

Being taught to play as a forward and a defender are polar opposites. Salter has shown why.

I thought he looked average to poor in defence. He cannot defend one on one and has been caught out of position horribly.. because he's a forward.

Being taught to play as a forward and a defender are polar opposites. Salter has shown why.

Roger Delaney says otherwise. Brian Lake was a forward in his junior footy from memory.

Tim Evans went the other way - that's what selectors are for - to try things out.

Assuming Primus isn't playing ducks and drakes and is planning to unleash Salts forward, it just goes to show how skewed our philosophy has become.

We've got Trengove and Chaplin as key backs against a Hall-less Dogs already, but we're prepared to play a natural forward as third defensive tall over a far more accomplished stalwart in Cornes - regardless of his current form - while simultaneously leaving Motlop, who is need of a spell as much as anyone currently going around in the AFL today, in what is a woefully dysfunctional forward structure incapable of kicking a winning score even with a rare 4-5 goal cameo from the likes of Ebert.

The Streak II: The Fremantling, here we come.

Roger Delaney says otherwise. Brian Lake was a forward in his junior footy from memory.

Tim Evans went the other way - that's what selectors are for - to try things out.
Two more examples of the difference between playing forward and back include Heath Grundy and Nathan Bock. Both utterly pathetic forwards who couldn't get a kick if their lives depended upon them. One has been an All Australian and the other is having a pretty good season.

Why we'd take a functioning forward in Nick Salter given our key forward needs and play him in defence is akin to forcing Einstein to give up theoretical physics and practice molecular chemistry.

News Team V Bulldogs