Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)

I don't think I'd blame work rate. Dogs are just much better than us. Even Lobbs a better interceptor than Lever ATM, I don't care how hard we try the dogs are better than us on every line
Yeah right. So you’re open to players playing out of there natural position?

Great to hear Goody say we're not looking for the future in the next couple of weeks, we'll just keep doing the same thing with the same players 🧠

I actually don't blame him. His job is to try and coach to win games.

Responsibility needs to fall on Richardson 1st, then Roffey and Pert. They decide this big picture stuff. I think it's probably time for Richo to move on. He should have gone to Pert, Roffey and the board this week and said 'We're done for this year. If we're wanting to challenge again next year our best plan is pack everyone off now who needs it and focus on preparing for 2025 rather than milking 2024 for no purpose'. From there, the club leadership goes 'Yep, makes sense' and they filter that message down to Goody.

Ultimately, those are the people who hire and fire him, so he follows their directives.

This isn't to defend Goody's coaching and selection decisions of course, but that's where the blame should be in terms of the club's big decisions.

doubt anyone will ,but why sub JVR out when there were others spudding it up (hint hint Oliver).

I think he was just physically cooked. Carried a big load with Gawn being a bit less mobile. Saw JVR deep in the backline a bunch of times tonight as well as rucking and doing his best forward. I mean, still not the decision I would have made, but I think that might be the reason.

I actually don't blame him. His job is to try and coach to win games.

Responsibility needs to fall on Richardson 1st, then Roffey and Pert. They decide this big picture stuff. I think it's probably time for Richo to move on. He should have gone to Pert, Roffey and the board this week and said 'We're done for this year. If we're wanting to challenge again next year our best plan is pack everyone off now who needs it and focus on preparing for 2025 rather than milking 2024 for no purpose'. From there, the club leadership goes 'Yep, makes sense' and they filter that message down to Goody.

Ultimately, those are the people who hire and fire him, so he follows their directives.

This isn't to defend Goody's coaching and selection decisions of course, but that's where the blame should be in terms of the club's big decisions.
Didn't Goodwin scream at a bloke over the phone to the point of creating an unfair dismissal lawsuit because he didn't get our players in for surgery fast enough post-season? Goodwin absolutely has a say. Seasons over. Get the senior players in cotton wool already.

From memory, pretty sure it was because the doctor was being conservative with injury management and Goody wanted to death ride the injured players every game. Sounds familiar hey?

Point is - Richardson, Roffey and Pert decide this stuff. Goody can't go to the board and say 'Well, we're packing it in for the year'.

From memory, pretty sure it was because the doctor was being conservative with injury management and Goody wanted to death ride the injured players every game. Sounds familiar hey?

Point is - Richardson, Roffey and Pert decide this stuff. Goody can't go to the board and say 'Well, we're packing it in for the year'.

That was a seperate quote, this is the one I'm talking about:

"Mr Goodwin telephoned Dr Arain expressing his frustration about all surgeries and particularly regarding one player who had not yet received surgery … Mr Goodwin became irate expecting all surgeries to be completed within 72 hours of the last game, saying ‘You’re f*ing around. (The player) is an A-grade player and we need training in the pre-season ASAP. All this f***ing around has taken up valuable time. Are we f***en here to do our job and win games of football or are we here to f around?’” The legal letter stated."

That was a seperate quote, this is the one I'm talking about:

"Mr Goodwin telephoned Dr Arain expressing his frustration about all surgeries and particularly regarding one player who had not yet received surgery … Mr Goodwin became irate expecting all surgeries to be completed within 72 hours of the last game, saying ‘You’re f*ing around. (The player) is an A-grade player and we need training in the pre-season ASAP. All this f***ing around has taken up valuable time. Are we f***en here to do our job and win games of football or are we here to f around?’” The legal letter stated."

Two different events then, both covered in the below article:

“Are we f****en fair dinkum,” Goodwin allegedly said to Arain.

“Why the f*** would you change the plan when we agreed he could push through his comfort zone. F***ing (player’s name) was at Chadstone with his mates last Thursday but is f***en concussed today.”

“According to our client (Arain), Mr Goodwin voiced his extreme displeasure about the decision to rest the player …,” the legal letter said.

“After attempting to explain his recommendation to Mr Goodwin, Mr Goodwin continued to swear and talk over our client, suggesting that the player was exaggerating his symptoms and our client (Dr Arain) was not managing him properly.”

‘Are we f****en fair dinkum’: Goodwin’s alleged X-rated rant at doctor revealed over concussed star

Two different events then, both covered in the below article:

“Are we f****en fair dinkum,” Goodwin allegedly said to Arain.

“Why the f*** would you change the plan when we agreed he could push through his comfort zone. F***ing (player’s name) was at Chadstone with his mates last Thursday but is f***en concussed today.”

“According to our client (Arain), Mr Goodwin voiced his extreme displeasure about the decision to rest the player …,” the legal letter said.

“After attempting to explain his recommendation to Mr Goodwin, Mr Goodwin continued to swear and talk over our client, suggesting that the player was exaggerating his symptoms and our client (Dr Arain) was not managing him properly.”

‘Are we f****en fair dinkum’: Goodwin’s alleged X-rated rant at doctor revealed over concussed star
Yeah no, I get that he said the other thing too but the point is the seasons effectively over now. I think even Goodwin should see the pointlessness of driving the players into the ground for two more weeks.

Mate. I'm not arguing that. I'm saying his bosses, the people that run the club, decide that stuff and the responsibility should be on them to call the season, get everyone right, and inform Goody of the plan. Otherwise he just goes business as usual. Richardson is the key person here.

I just reckon Goodwin could make that call himself if he wanted to or at least tell them that's the best thing for the rest of the year.

I'm sure he could suggest it to Richo if he wanted, but it's not his decision. People seem to think senior coaches run football clubs, and it's just miles off from reality. Richo is General Manager Of Football Performance, this is literally what he gets paid to do - Manage the performance of the footy team. It's 100% on him to make this happen.

Not sure I agree with that. Coaches have the most power, everyone is in the footy department is in service to making their vision a reality. Also why they cop the most of the blame/credit and are usually the first to be sacked when it all goes pear-shaped.

The board and CEO are the only thing that's truly over the coach. Richo oversees everything and liaises between the footy department and the board but I don't think he's giving Goodwin orders unless they're explicitly coming from the board.

Not sure I agree with that. Coaches have the most power, everyone is in the footy department is in service to making their vision a reality. Also why they cop the most of the blame/credit and are usually the first to be sacked when it all goes pear-shaped.

The board and CEO are the only thing that's truly over the coach. Richo oversees everything and liaises between the footy department and the board but I don't think he's giving Goodwin orders unless they're explicitly coming from the board.
Exactly. Richo is a highly paid babysitter and middle man. He has no real power.

Human shield is in his job description also, Roffey, Goody and the medical staff all use to face the music for them. Invaluable part of the club.

Kornes saying you need to lock away the footage of that game so it's never seen again 😂 ....Meanwhile down at Dees HQ, that's how we want to be seen 🧠

Also went on to say (paraphrasing) "Melbourne will never win a flag playing that style of footy, all Goody ever talks about is contest and defense, maybe he should start talking about scoring too cause that's also important."

Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)