News The Hawthorn Allegations

Don't know. I think the coaches are cooked with or without participation from the families. Racism or accusations of it are such a big issue and enough will come out for some negative findings.

Here are the outcomes from the Yorkshire cricket club review, where 14 people lost their jobs in what was basically a he said/ she said scenario with far less explosive material than the Hawks scandal:

Of the 43 complaints submitted, the report upheld seven complaints. These were:
  • Rafiq was not provided with halal food when playing junior cricket for Yorkshire.
  • Before 2010, three separate incidents of racist language being used by former players were identified. These were determined to be harassment on the grounds of race.
  • Before 2012, a former coach regularly used racist language.
  • During his second tenure at Yorkshire (2016–2018), jokes made about religion which made "individuals uncomfortable about their religious practices."
  • Between 2016 and 2018, a player made references to Rafiq's weight and fitness that amounted to bullying.
  • In August 2018, when Azeem Rafiq raised concerns of racism there was a failure by the club to follow its own policy or investigate these allegations.
  • On a number of occasions prior to 2018 the club could have done more to make Muslims more welcome within their stadiums and should have dealt better with complaints of racist or anti-social behaviour within those stadiums."
Mate, I doubt there will be any repercussions for Clarko and Fagan. This is Australia.

Do you reckon? I think there already are repercussions in that their reputations are besmirched by the accusations, and they are currently unable to ply their trade due to suspension.

However, without some kind of formal process in which the complainants participate, I would agree that neither coach is likely to receive the kind of repercussions they may deserve. To me, there are similarities with the Lumumba situation - a complaint is made but then there is refusal to participate because an acceptable process could not be agreed upon. Lumumba's complaints are lightweight affairs compared to those of the Hawthorn players. He got the justice he deserved i.e. walked away empty handed with nothing achieved. The Hawthorn players seem far more deserving of an outcome, so allowing their complaints to simply fizzle out because the players won't accept the process would be a real shame for all involved.

I don't think your cynical attitude - 'This is Australia (they'll get off) - is really justified. There is a very strong societal acceptance that justice for indigenous people is a high priority. I doubt that an AFL led inquiry would dare to sweep under the carpet accusations as serious as those made by the complainants.

I think you underestimate how much the BLF (left the typo, because it amused me)movement and corporate responses to it are multi-national and how powerful the movement is. I really can't imagine the AFL choosing to protect a couple of individuals, resulting in the AFL taking on a huge chunk of that response and I think it's very likely that with a series of diferent claims that there will be an Inquiry conclusion that includes some reference to racial stereotyping regarding at least one of the claims. And if the R word drops, they'll all be ducking and running for cover and slamming the door on anyone left outside with the R word attached to them. This is Australia.

There will be repercussions because this is Australia
I think things are improving in Australia regarding recognising and taking action on racism. We still have a way to go though.

For example, Tex Walker should have been suspended for life rather than given six weeks.

I agree with other posters that Clarko and Fagan should be given the opportunity to explain their part.

I think things are improving in Australia regarding recognising and taking action on racism. We still have a way to go though.

For example, Tex Walker should have been suspended for life rather than given six weeks.

I agree with other posters that Clarko and Fagan should be given the opportunity to explain their part.

But you also believe they will get off scot free regardless.

Campbell Brown just confirmed that the allegations need to be looked at, make of it what you will.

I think you underestimate how much the BLF (left the typo, because it amused me)movement and corporate responses to it are multi-national and how powerful the movement is. I really can't imagine the AFL choosing to protect a couple of individuals, resulting in the AFL taking on a huge chunk of that response and I think it's very likely that with a series of diferent claims that there will be an Inquiry conclusion that includes some reference to racial stereotyping regarding at least one of the claims. And if the R word drops, they'll all be ducking and running for cover and slamming the door on anyone left outside with the R word attached to them. This is Australia.

Builders Labourers Federation?

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep, I do
It's all fixed brother. White college boys looking out for one another.

I went to Wesley College and know what they're all about.

AFL run by college boys.

Unlike NRL which is run perfectly under ex players.

Not a huge fan of rugby although I kind of follow the Storm.

AFL run by college boys.

So, unless Clarko is sacked and his involvement in footy finished, it's a fix? Which college boys are involved in this fix?

If what the families have said is true, he most certainly should be sacked.

AFL run by college boys.

The NRL perfectly o_O run by ex players?? Who did Peter V’Landys play for? And have you checked out the owners of the private owned Storm franchise - all white college boys, all very wealthy, none actually played rugby league and one is hugely involved in the sports gambling industry. You might want to reconsider.

And if it’s not true or the true complete context of the conversations significantly waters down the reality of what was saiD and how it was said…. You won’t believe a word of it because it’s a fix.
I don’t recall saying it was a fix, only that I doubt the allegations will be proven.

You said you doubted there would be repercussions, because this is Australia.

Hence from that I assumed you implied it was going to be a fix. Apologies if I misinterpreted.

Maybe you simply confirmed our laws that say innocent until proven guilty…

Yeah a few indigenous families making up this story. It's what they do. They pick random people like Clarko to burn.
College boys will set Clarko free.

I admit that I don't have a great deal of faith in the process, but at this stage it is the best possible path to understanding more about what happened at Hawthorn.

If there is strong evidence that even some of the claims are true, then the consequences will be severe.

I don't understand why people are so keen to pre-empt or discredit the investigation before it has even started.

It's not like it is one accusation. More than one family. Plus the Cyril Rioli stuff a little while back.
Much to do with Kennett.

But if the families don't participate in further proceedings he won't be sacked.

Agree although why bring it up.. Are they expecting a payout ?
Not confident Clarko is not guilty but expecting him to walk off scott free. Just the way things seem to be nowadays. Money talks.

You could say that about any accusation. That's a given. The actual issue to be resolved is whether it's true. That's why we should wait until the full story is heard.
So….you agree with me?

News The Hawthorn Allegations