Certified Legendary Thread The 'I've Got an Easton Wood' Appreciation Society.

sorry mate the hype train doesn't stop, i have seen enough of him in the VFL to compare him to Easton Wood
Was out marking most key forwards this year in the vfl and is a great third man up like woody
Agreed, I rated him highly since his first VFL game I saw. Absolutely shattered he did his knee as it pretty much writes off next year :( could have started preparing him to take over Boyds role.

Reckon he would be upgraded if he didnt do his knee
Looking forward to seeing him play in 2017

Thrilled for him. Was a fan when he first appeared on the scene, but doubts crept in.

Credit to our medical staff and to Easton's incredible work ethic. What a weapon he has become.

Can we change this thread title to
"I've got a Charlie Sutton"?

Congrats Easton. Great season and well deserved!
Haha!! Well, Charlie was as 'hard' as they came!!

Holding a large piece of timber here ... but I think with a good run at it (I'm talking 40-50 straight games) I think he can become an elite player in the competition. ...
Nice call Bazza!

IIRC some posters said he should never play for us again after round 1. I may have wanted him dropped too :oops:

I hope everyone learns a permanent lesson not to write a player off too soon :rolleyes:
... Fuel to the Hrovat fire?

The point of bumping these posts from May 2014 is not to be an after-the-fact smartarse (we've all made some clangers here at times, which we'd rather not see bumped) but to put the discussion of injury-prone players into a new perspective.

I'm not saying Hrovat (or Honey or whoever) are exactly the same as Wood, but there was plenty of doubt over Wood's future as recently as 12-24 months ago due to his run of injuries and being played out of position. Sound familiar?

Geez, well, errr
Hes done it again, came here and already rebumped, of course
Just another time, Favourite Player, My Man, always knew he could get to this point, good on Bazza for the Elite call, definitely had early claims and chance for Sutton but the only question was if he could top the mids and fellow halfback brigade.... And he Sureee did
Again I can stop following footy happily watching Eastons achievements, but i wont with potential glory to come

EASTON WOOD has capped off a stunning breakout season by winning the Western Bulldogs' best and fairest award.

Entering the season on a one-year deal, the rebounding defender quickly established himself as one of the Dogs' most important players and finished the year with a three-year contract extension, All Australian honours and his first Charles Sutton Medal.

The 26-year-old picked up 268 votes to finish a clear winner ahead of skipper Robert Murphy (229) and second-year sensation Marcus Bontempelli (226).

"I never envisaged I'd have the honour of achieving this," Wood said.

"I truly love this club with every inch of my heart, I'm truly proud to be a part of it and I can guarantee you going forward I'll get every inch out of myself."

Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge paid tribute to Wood's courage and selflessness.

"The man has no fear," Beveridge said

"He's always putting the team first and usually young men that fit this mould don't win these awards, but that's why this achievement is even more remarkable."

Nearly impassable across half-back this year, Wood led the AFL in intercept marking, was 12th for both total marks and contested marks and averaged 17 possessions a game.

After battling injuries early in his time at Whitten Oval, Wood missed only one game in 2015 and polled every match he played in.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-10-07/woods-rapid-rise-ends-with-bulldogs-best-and-fairest

Nice call Bazza!

... Fuel to the Hrovat fire?

The point of bumping these posts from May 2014 is not to be an after-the-fact smartarse (we've all made some clangers here at times, which we'd rather not see bumped) but to put the discussion of injury-prone players into a new perspective.

I'm not saying Hrovat (or Honey or whoever) are exactly the same as Wood, but there was plenty of doubt over Wood's future as recently as 12-24 months ago due to his run of injuries and being played out of position. Sound familiar?

I'm still holding that piece of wood and saying we can (and should) finish T4 next year!

Congratulations Woody on winning the 2015 Best and Fairest. You proved way too good for Buzz and Mr. Potato Head who were no where near it. Also well done to Hamm on being the Best First Year Player.

Rex was stiff.

Fantastic effort by Woody. Richly deserved. Loved what Bevo had to say about him too!

When wood finished 19th in the b&f last year, I tried to eat my own face. I couldn't believe that was how McCartney had seen his season.

Thank you luke Beveridge and well done to Easton.
Same. Couldn't believe it the week he got dropped. I thought he was in our 5 best last season too. Man on man defence, side ways, backward kicking was clearly not working for Woody.

Certified Legendary Thread The 'I've Got an Easton Wood' Appreciation Society.