Roast The media....*Shakes Head* Part 4

inb4 the big rebrand: South Australian National Pokie Parlour Sausage Sizzle and Football League.

Home games in a Bunnings carpark, away games at the Arkaba Hotel.

Haven't Centrals' crowds dropped away since they're not winning literally every week? .......
Centrals' home crowds are inflated because they count everyone that plays the pokies at Grand Central on game day in their match attendance figure.

Attendance figures from the last SNAFL round, Port #1, Crows #2, Norwood #3 and then daylight.

View attachment 167200

Aren't the Eagles top? I mean really.

Are we seriously supposed to believe that 800-1200 of their previously active fans are 'boycotting' because of the mere presence of AFL reserves - a move that has actually allowed all the other SANFL clubs to be fully autonomous for the first time since 1990?

I personally reckon the SANFL is suffering from a similar awakening that saw Football Park dwindle after most Crows and Port fans had been to the relatively space-age MCG and Dome.

After sampling the glories of Adelaide Oval fans have realised that standing on a windswept mound watching turgid uninspired skill-free footy isn't cutting the mustard in 2015 and are voting with their feet accordingly. That's not Port or the Crows' fault, that's just progress.

Why would anyone who started following football from 1997 onwards possibly choose the SANFL to go watch? Outside of country leagues where the football is a community event, if you aren't watching friends or family, or trying to drum up business/support being a sponsor or politican who goes to watch local football?

I'd wish Port would bypass the SANFL and go to the AFL directly for money to put into Junior football around the state. Or at least a big F-U by doing it in our former recruiting grounds.

Unemployment money doesn't stretch as far as it used to out lizbef way, and gotta play dem pokies as well, amirite?
I work out that way a bit, when I'm in the area I always stop in and use their toilet paper and grab a free coffee. I will bankrupt them 10c at a time.

If the SANFL actually faced up to fixing some of their problems and stopped blaming Port (and to a lesser extent the crows) for all their problems they might improve in areas.

How can anyone actually beleive the reserve teams are the reason for the crowds being down? Crowds are down because the competition is shithouse

The only reason most people even look at the sanfl these days is to see how the AFL listed players are going or the to have a look at potential draft picks

It will just be a matter of tine before the AFL take over the SANFL in some way shape or form. The pigs at the trough know this, they are all just jockeying for position. The bitterness that prevails from the haters, is a meniscal aspect. Time marches on, the old guard fights in anyway it can to keep the status quo or pines for the ''good old days''.

The great thing for the SANFL is that even if they remove Port and the Crows they will be able to refer back to their presence in the league as the sole reason for crowd decline forever more

'Can't live with 'em, can't live without 'em!' :D

Why would anyone who started following football from 1997 onwards possibly choose the SANFL to go watch? Outside of country leagues where the football is a community event, if you aren't watching friends or family, or trying to drum up business/support being a sponsor or politican who goes to watch local football?

I'd wish Port would bypass the SANFL and go to the AFL directly for money to put into Junior football around the state. Or at least a big F-U by doing it in our former recruiting grounds.
Agree with most of that. However, I still attended every Magpies game, as I have for years. I still enjoy the chilled out atmosphere at SANFL games, especially those at Alberton. Clearly the standard is not as high, but the players generally have a red hot dip. State league footy has its place.

they don't have a home
Exactly. I initially thought that maybe every second game against the same team they were considered the "home" team even if they played at the opposition's ground but I checked the SANFL website and, with the exemption of the game against us in Claire (?) they were always the "away" team, which makes sense.

EDIT: so we have established, once more, that the Advertiser are a bunch of campaigners.

Attendance figures from the last SNAFL round, Port #1, Crows #2, Norwood #3 and then daylight.

View attachment 167200
The total attendance is 10335. When I was a kid one of my hobbies was collecting weekly footy stats, which included attendances. Some weeks you would have 3 or 4 games which had an attendance of more than 10335 themselves.

SANFL needs juniors taken away from them. Of the top 70 coaches votegetters so far this year, 5 are from SA juniors (and Jacobs is 70th).
Others are Wingard/Vince/Thompson/Neale.
Compared to WA it means our system is not developing top line players.