Roast The media....*Shakes Head* Part 4

I don't get the whole BT hate. I like him. At least he has some character unlike most of the vanilla deadshits I have to listen to.

Even the the great man WGT is boring as batshit
Agreed his commentary on Saturday was ok

I dont think I have ever heard one positive comment about any commentator on this Port board!! You guys hate them all! I dont give a stuff about them really. Guys like BT are there to "call the game" - not to tickle everyone's fancy! He is there merely for his entertainment value not his "analysis!" .... they have other goons to offer that.

The more you guys rave against them & give air-time to them, either negative or positive, the happier the networks are .... they love hate & controversy more than they love & back-slapping! ... good for ratings.

I don't get the whole BT hate. I like him. At least he has some character unlike most of the vanilla deadshits I have to listen to.

Even the the great man WGT is boring as batshit

I don't hate BT, I actually quite enjoy his commentary normally. What I don't like is the preoccupation that a lot of AFL commentators have with talking up the comeback and BT basically took that to another level on Saturday night.

There's 'not tickling one's fancy' and 'actively making the game hard to watch'. Commentators shouldn't be hired and directed to provide 'entertainment'.
:confused:
Are you kidding me? That IS the caller's job! Each televised match has the official caller, surrounded by the "expert" analyzers. The callers are there to create excitement (even if there is none), and BT tried to do that for the mainly Victorian viewers on Saturday night. Pfff! Who cares?

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/adelai...to-adelaide-hall-of-fame-20150429-1mwe87.html

They were the sensational six in Adelaide's finest era – coach Malcolm Blight with Ben Hart, Tony Modra, Andrew McLeod, Simon Goodwin and Mark Ricciuto – and last night were among the club's first inductees celebrating 25 years in the AFL.

They joined Adelaide's inaugural chairman and general manager, Bob Hammond and Bill Sanders on centre stage at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre and delivered a flood of great moments at this $180 per-head gala dinner.

More stars and key people behind the scenes will in time also be inducted, but last night the focus was largely on those who were there when the Crows won their premierships in 1996 and '97.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/adelai...to-adelaide-hall-of-fame-20150429-1mwe87.html

Well, close enough... :D;)

Plus Modra was never part of their premiership teams

Without him the Crows would be Fremantle.

Their first truly bankable superstar that kept the crowds coming in lieu of success and his goals were vital in having them in contention in 97 & 98, even if he was shot by the time finals rolled around.

Without him the Crows would be Fremantle.

Their first truly bankable superstar that kept the crowds coming in lieu of success and his goals were vital in having them in contention in 97 & 98, even if he was shot by the time finals rolled around.
Yeah, I admit I was a Crows fan pre 97 purely because of Modra alone. A freak of a player and a travesty he never was part of a grand final side

:eek:

Get out
joking

[but no seriously please hand in your Port Adelaide card.]
Please let me rephrase.....I was a Modra fan (and thus followed the Cows by default!!). Those were the days, when it was SA vs the rest. Even in the early days there was this mentality amongst SA footy supporters that as long as the two SA teams were winning and beating the Vics all was good in the state

I reckon it's time to stop digging.....

Ah your probably right but back in 97-98 you could still respect the Crows but hate them when we were up against them. The two SA teams both coached by SA legends in Blight and Cahill, Modra was insane, Jarman mecurial, a young McLeod breath taking and you just knew Roo would become a star. They were brilliant to watch. They could easily suit your '2nd team' and was happy to follow. But then the coward Bickley raised an elbow, Roo was a dick at the Ramsgate, SA media turned on us during 2001-03, then sunk the boot into us in 07, Trigg took cheap shots at us, the media continued to sink lower all the while those pro-crow fu#kers in the SANFL let us bleed with glee in their eyes.

Probably more incidents in between but the point is the Camries were a lot more enjoyable, watchable and supportable back in 97-98. These days, they are fu#king campaigners with egos the size of Ollie's thighs; a product of media ass-licking and supporters prone to accepting mediocrity. As far as this Sunday goes, anyone who wears a shade of red, yellow or blue (bar teal) is a flog bottom-feeding scum

Ah your probably right but back in 97-98 you could still respect the Crows but hate them when we were up against them. The two SA teams both coached by SA legends in Blight and Cahill, Modra was insane, Jarman mecurial, a young McLeod breath taking and you just knew Roo would become a star. They were brilliant to watch. They could easily suit your '2nd team' and was happy to follow. But then the coward Bickley raised an elbow, Roo was a dick at the Ramsgate, SA media turned on us during 2001-03, then sunk the boot into us in 07, Trigg took cheap shots at us, the media continued to sink lower all the while those pro-crow fu#kers in the SANFL let us bleed with glee in their eyes.

Probably more incidents in between but the point is the Camries were a lot more enjoyable, watchable and supportable back in 97-98. These days, they are fu#king campaigners with egos the size of Ollie's thighs; a product of media ass-licking and supporters prone to accepting mediocrity. As far as this Sunday goes, anyone who wears a shade of red, yellow or blue (bar teal) is a flog bottom-feeding scum
I never felt that way about them.

Always reviled them, given the circumstances in which they came into being.

Sure, they had some terrific and very watchable players in that time but I used to look at a guy like McLeod and think that he should have debuted in the AFL with Port in 1993. Likewise for players like Modra and Riccuito. Modra and Hodges together in a Port Adelaide early 90s AFL team would have been sensational - Cahill would have got the best out of them, unlike that stupid **** Cornes.

I guess everyone sees things differently and that's just the way I saw it back then. Never bought into the SA v VIC thing or the media hype and as it went on and on it just intensified my loathing for what I perceived as a fraudulent, imposter franchise and everything it stood for.

I heard the grabs from Dangerfield. It's heartening to know that, for all Phil Walsh's supposed sweeping culture changes, these guys are still a bunch of primadonna's who still view themselves as being above any form of criticism.

#nospin

Riccuito joking about coughing on boak because he is sick. (Really he is just very hungover, the pleb) :rolleyes:

Ditts asked boaky "did you sit back and laugh on Sunday at the crows?" boak chuckled and said "good result wasn't it?"

Roo got so offended.

I showed minimal interest in the Crows when they first entered the competition: mainly due to the novelty factor. But I very quickly got sick of the media. Nobody was allowed to say a bad word about them - I soon found it impossible to listen to.

The 1993 preliminary final, where Essendon overcame a 7 goal half time deficit, is still right up there among my favourite non Port moments. I took great delight in their misery that night, and every time they've choked since, that delight has been repeated.

What sort of Hall of Fame has members that are all still alive?

It's like a Kim Kardashian biography.

I laughed at it too. I guess you have to start somewhere though. They are trying really hard, it feels so faux at the moment though. Give it another 25 years at least.