List Mgmt. The OFFICIAL 2013 Trade/Free Agency Targets Thread

Anthony or Levi? Yeah I know, but I always used to think having speight around to one day play a similar role to Harvey would be good. Also does this mean we would have to try and retain players like gysberts if we offload

I personally would prefer to keep Greenwood and Anthony for depth, and let Gysberts find his third home in three years(if the stories are true). But I can understand why both players would want a regular game, but then look at Cruze (w(ho)tf was he) Garlett, would have been better off being a depth player at North then whatever he decided to do, was it Peel and then he had a sook because Freo players were getting a game infront of him.

Daniel Flynn (explosive pace), worth a look?:)

from AFL.com.au

CLUBS are using this week to test three international athletes who are pushing to be recruited to AFL lists.

American pair Jason Holmes and Mark Cisco, and Irishman Daniel Flynn have arrived in Melbourne ahead of next week's NAB AFL Draft Combine.

There they will show their athletic ability, as they have already done at international combines earlier this year.

But before that, five clubs have pushed for another look by asking one, two or all three of the prospects to train under their watch this week, with a focus on getting to know them better and to see their skills with the oval ball.

"The three guys are taking the opportunity to accept invitations to go out to clubs who are interested in getting a closer insight for some training and testing," AFL national talent manager Kevin Sheehan told AFL.com.au.

"The clubs are trying to establish their position around alternative talent."

Holmes and Cisco emerged as potential AFL prospects in April, when they tested at the combine in Los Angeles.

Along with fellow American Patrick Mitchell, the trio trained with the Sydney Swans mid-year in a bid to become international rookies at the club.

The Swans selected Mitchell, but interest remains in Cisco and Holmes who both come from multi-sport backgrounds, including basketball and American football.

Holmes is 203cm, and Cisco is sized at 207cm, with the AFL looking to America to recruit athletes who can play in key position roles or the ruck.

Flynn is being groomed as a running defender as the 19-year-old has explosive pace and power. He played for the European Legion against the AIS-AFL Academy team in Surrey in April.

With the international athletes falling under the free agency category, a club can sign a player immediately if it wants.

In between meeting clubs this week the athletes will work with the AIS-AFL Academy squads, which are in Melbourne for a camp.

Levi's played 11 games in the last 2 years and will be 25 by the time season 2014 comes around. If he wants to leave for greater opportunity then I really don't blame him. We should be able to work out a decent deal for him.

My only issue is Levi is a lot better than some blokes getting a game.

Am I the only one who thinks we still have an unhealthy reliance on Boomer? I would love to see him play the small forward/high half forward role until his career winds up but i still think we require his pace and ball use in the middle? I don't think we will be up there with the best whilst our 35 year old veteran is still getting tagged? The comparison to this is that Goodes at Sydney still contributes to the team and is a dangerous player but is probably 4th of 5th in line to get tagged, which highlights how dangerous their other mids are? Harvey could quite easily play the small forward role and kick 30 goals a year and average 15 'quality' disposals and still make a significant contribution to the team. I also think this a major reason why the potential trade for Betts is flawed.

The other player with pace and sublime ball use is Daniel Wells. At 35 and 29 next year respectively, who do we have to fill the void if they are injured, which wouldn't be uncommon as they continue to get older? We should not be relying on those two to have so much bearing on each game. Our midfield depth is pretty good now but i still think we are lacking the silky A grade types coming through.

Also, whilst i think NDS is a good fit, he fits the mould of Boomer and Wells in that we would have 3 players who it wouldn't shock if their best footy is probably behind them? What happens if we become premiership contenders in 2015 and they are on the decline and struggling with injuries? NDS is an agressive approach not a long term view for sustained success as in three years time we'd be struggling in the same area?

There is huge pressure on Atley to step up and build a tank to play the Wells/Harvey role but we are simply hoping he has the tank to do that? Not all players can? In 3 years he's be copping all the heat from opposition taggers?

The other one is Harper. Good skills and pace but struggled in 2012 to have anymore than 10 possesions and go anywhere near the midfield? He has always been earmarked as a small forward so he musn't have the engine to ever play in the middle?

Are there any trade targets out there who can fills this role? I have brought up Yarran a few times as a similar type and at 23 would be ideal.What would you be prepared to give up to get Yarran accross the line or any other similar type players? The players like Stephen Hill/Ryan Griffen/Lewis Jetta don't grow on trees and cost a bomb, but sometimes its about paying overs for the importance to your own team rather than what someone is worth (which i think someone mentioned in an earlier post).

Who else is out there who can fill this role?

I'm not so much worried about atley/ Harper tanks but making an impact on games when playing midfield.
If atley isn't playing midfield next season - I don't think it's in bons plans at all.

With Lmac coming in it should free up either atley or mullet to run through the midfield.
Also I have real high hopes for garner- looks the goods.

And then there's Dal who will take McMillan 's spot.

Am I the only one who thinks we still have an unhealthy reliance on Boomer? I would love to see him play the small forward/high half forward role until his career winds up but i still think we require his pace and ball use in the middle? I don't think we will be up there with the best whilst our 35 year old veteran is still getting tagged? The comparison to this is that Goodes at Sydney still contributes to the team and is a dangerous player but is probably 4th of 5th in line to get tagged, which highlights how dangerous their other mids are? Harvey could quite easily play the small forward role and kick 30 goals a year and average 15 'quality' disposals and still make a significant contribution to the team. I also think this a major reason why the potential trade for Betts is flawed.

The other player with pace and sublime ball use is Daniel Wells. At 35 and 29 next year respectively, who do we have to fill the void if they are injured, which wouldn't be uncommon as they continue to get older? We should not be relying on those two to have so much bearing on each game. Our midfield depth is pretty good now but i still think we are lacking the silky A grade types coming through.

Also, whilst i think NDS is a good fit, he fits the mould of Boomer and Wells in that we would have 3 players who it wouldn't shock if their best footy is probably behind them? What happens if we become premiership contenders in 2015 and they are on the decline and struggling with injuries? NDS is an agressive approach not a long term view for sustained success as in three years time we'd be struggling in the same area?

There is huge pressure on Atley to step up and build a tank to play the Wells/Harvey role but we are simply hoping he has the tank to do that? Not all players can? In 3 years he's be copping all the heat from opposition taggers?

The other one is Harper. Good skills and pace but struggled in 2012 to have anymore than 10 possesions and go anywhere near the midfield? He has always been earmarked as a small forward so he musn't have the engine to ever play in the middle?

Are there any trade targets out there who can fills this role? I have brought up Yarran a few times as a similar type and at 23 would be ideal.What would you be prepared to give up to get Yarran accross the line or any other similar type players? The players like Stephen Hill/Ryan Griffen/Lewis Jetta don't grow on trees and cost a bomb, but sometimes its about paying overs for the importance to your own team rather than what someone is worth (which i think someone mentioned in an earlier post).

Don't be as bad as the commentary teams. Boomer is still splitting teams open because he is a superstar. it's not a reflection of our over reliance on him. "sorry Boomer can you stop being so good so the youngsters can step up". His age has nothing to do with it, he's a freak. He can move to half forward when his body starts slowing down. At the moment you'd want him involved as much as possible e.g like he was against the Cats

The youngsters will step up when the time is right. Just enjoy watching Boomer play while you still can, no need to over think his role.

Why aren't we looking at white from tigers he is quick outside player and wouldn't be that costly to get?

so glad we didn't bother with that Pearce Hanley guy either, ****** international rookies.;) so have you any insight into this kid or is it just a generalisation opinion you have?

Shae MacNamara, Ciaran Kilkenny, Caolan Mooney, Conor Meredith, etc etc et al.

Vast majority of international rookies are failures. Just because this one is quick doesn't mean he's going to be any better. I'd prefer a homegrown, rookie player like Aaron Mullett or Michael Firrito or any one of the other rookie list successes the club has had.

Shae MacNamara, Ciaran Kilkenny, Caolan Mooney, Conor Meredith, etc etc et al.

Vast majority of international rookies are failures. Just because this one is quick doesn't mean he's going to be any better. I'd prefer a homegrown, rookie player like Aaron Mullett or Michael Firrito or any one of the other rookie list successes the club has had.

its not a choice of one or the other, international rookies are outside the list number, it is just the money spent on the contract and staffing resources, pretty sure I could come up with a list of failed rookies longer then your list of failed international rookies.;)

Don't be as bad as the commentary teams. Boomer is still splitting teams open because he is a superstar. it's not a reflection of our over reliance on him. "sorry Boomer can you stop being so good so the youngsters can step up". His age has nothing to do with it, he's a freak. He can move to half forward when his body starts slowing down. At the moment you'd want him involved as much as possible e.g like he was against the Cats

The youngsters will step up when the time is right. Just enjoy watching Boomer play while you still can, no need to over think his role.

Yeah age should have nothing to do with it.
It's not like Michael Jordan stopped being the main man when he hit 30.

agree with some of what you say and I think most do, that is why most are saying outside speed is a requirement with our first live pick. but to make a big play for the players you mentioning would be to give up something good, robbing paul to pay peter.

I am over the moon with the development of the youngsters but still don't think they play the same role as boomer. Garner, McKenzie, McDonald, Bastinac etc are all quality, but still not line breaking, silky types. Atley is our exception and reminds me of Jesse Smith prior to injury trouble (was destined to be A grade).

All our mids are the same type and it is no secret that we are in the market for an outside mid. The Geelong game was an example of Boomers dominance and most would agree that if he wasn't playing that night we probably would have lost. I don't think a player at that stage of his career should still have that much of an influence on your team (credit to him though). I dont see the next Boomer/Wells type coming through apart from Atley? I also wouldn't be comfortable with Atley copping all the attention from the opposition when Wells and Harvey start to wind down?

Still early days in development for alot of the youngsters i know, but NDS is an all or nothing approach that simply adds to the burden on Atley in a couple of years.

Who knows, there may be some gems in the draft that our in the recruiters line of sight?

agree with some of what you say and I think most do, that is why most are saying outside speed is a requirement with our first live pick. but to make a big play for the players you mentioning would be to give up something good, robbing paul to pay peter.

Agree totally. What is the price of success though? Is our biggest deficiency and risk for long term success outside class (based on the age of Wells/Harvey/NDS)? If so, then you have to contemplate the risk of losing a quality player now versus filling a hole in 2/3 years again?
We seem pretty well off in KPP and inside mids long term?

Hypothetically speaking, if we managed to hold on to pick 8, that is decent currency and would change the landscape considerably?

I am over the moon with the development of the youngsters but still don't think they play the same role as boomer. Garner, McKenzie, McDonald, Bastinac etc are all quality, but still not line breaking, silky types. Atley is our exception and reminds me of Jesse Smith prior to injury trouble (was destined to be A grade).

All our mids are the same type and it is no secret that we are in the market for an outside mid. The Geelong game was an example of Boomers dominance and most would agree that if he wasn't playing that night we probably would have lost. I don't think a player at that stage of his career should still have that much of an influence on your team (credit to him though). I dont see the next Boomer/Wells type coming through apart from Atley? I also wouldn't be comfortable with Atley copping all the attention from the opposition when Wells and Harvey start to wind down?

Still early days in development for alot of the youngsters i know, but NDS is an all or nothing approach that simply adds to the burden on Atley in a couple of years.

Who knows, there may be some gems in the draft that our in the recruiters line of sight?

Another way to look at it NMFC is if Boomer was not having such influences & not getting tagged because of what he still can do..he would be retired because the game has gone past him.

Enjoy what you have while you have it mate. Another with his ability to do what he does would be superb l agree with that. We may have to wait for Cooper to see it. (crosses fingers after typing)

Why aren't we looking at white from tigers he is quick outside player and wouldn't be that costly to get?

Put simply, he would not fit into our best 22. He would be fighting for spot 20 - 30 on the list and we have enough of those already.

Even with a reduced sticker for Woolworths on him, i'd rather back our recruiters with a 3rd/4th round pick or whatever his worth rather than trade for him?

[/B said:
Another way to look at it NMFC is if Boomer was not having such influences & not getting tagged because of what he still can do..he would be retired because the game has gone past him.

Enjoy what you have while you have it mate. Another with his ability to do what he does would be superb l agree with that. We may have to wait for Cooper to see it. (crosses fingers after typing)

Sorry, dont agree with that. Goodes still has an influence (tore Collingwood apart mid year) but is now thrid or fourth in line to get tagged. The emergence of Jetta and Hannebery has only prolonged his carrer one would think.

I dont expect anyone to be the next boomer or Wells, but can see it being an issue in a couple of years rather than act on it now while we still have the champions around to take some of the heat.

Agree totally. What is the price of success though? Is our biggest deficiency and risk for long term success outside class (based on the age of Wells/Harvey/NDS)? If so, then you have to contemplate the risk of losing a quality player now versus filling a hole in 2/3 years again?
We seem pretty well off in KPP and inside mids long term?

Hypothetically speaking, if we managed to hold on to pick 8, that is decent currency and would change the landscape considerably?

Hypothetically speaking, if we did managed to hold on to pick 8, that would give us a massive shot at a kid with some of boomer's attributes and when boomer decides to hang the boots up we would be ready to go, by recruiting a Chris Yarran/Stephen Hill/Ryan Griffen/Lewis Jetta would it be the writing on the wall for boomer at the end of 2014? I hope not, he still has another 3 to 4 years of massive football in front of him, fingers crossed.:)

I dont think anyone doubts that Boomer could quite easily fill the small forward role that Betts was apparently ear marked for. I could see Boomer kicking his 2 a week (40 odd for the year) roving off Pertie, Black, Tarrant etc. and also hitting them lace out everytime!

The writing would never be on the wall for Boomer, and if anything, some would argue the addition of someone else of serious quality would only prolong his carrer by putting him further down the oppositions pecking list and allowing him to get off the chain?

I think opposition teams still put the most work into Boomer, which says alot about him, but not the rest of the team, if he is the oppositions biggest problem when is closer to the end of his carrer rather than the start.

This is not a Boomer or youngsters hate sessions, simply a realisation that we are still relying on a bloke to provide so much when he should just be the cherry on top.