Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

I tell you what, I was wishing I owned a bar on Swan Street on Saturday night. That place was packed.

The GP isn't that great for local businesses, a lot of it is self contained so they don't go outside. After for dinner it probably isn't bad and the hotels would all be full.
I worked on the GP for 5 years, i have no love for the event or F1 but what youre saying is a mile off.

The local cafes make all their bank in the 3 months pre and 2 months post from all the tradies etc etc.

The pubs and co make an absolute killing for the 4 days of the event.

Without it Middle Park likely wouldnt exist.

Know it is a long shot - left my run to late - if anyone has a couple of spare tickets the Carlton game happy to pay overs to get a couple and take my young bloke along.

Have tickets to the Melbourne Richmond game but not the game i and my young bloke want to go to.

Will retreat to the wilds of Tassie next week after venturing down the Great Ocean road followed by a couple of nights in Richmond.

Please let me know

cheers

Know it is a long shot - left my run to late - if anyone has a couple of spare tickets the Carlton game happy to pay overs to get a couple and take my young bloke along.

Have tickets to the Melbourne Richmond game but not the game i and my young bloke want to go to.

Will retreat to the wilds of Tassie next week after venturing down the Great Ocean road followed by a couple of nights in Richmond.

Please let me know

cheers

On the Ticketmaster app, if you select ‘standing room tickets’, there seems to be some availability.

I was able to add 2 to the cart so if you don’t mind standing that’s an option.

I was gonna offer to let use my interstate membership barcodes V as i get 5 home games but it seems its prob sold out with standing only

Cheers mate - I' m also an interstate member but it ain't a home game, will look at the standing

I worked on the GP for 5 years, i have no love for the event or F1 but what youre saying is a mile off.

The local cafes make all their bank in the 3 months pre and 2 months post from all the tradies etc etc.

The pubs and co make an absolute killing for the 4 days of the event.

Without it Middle Park likely wouldnt exist.

I go to Middle Park, it's a very lively local community. The pub maybe.

The old Middle Park hotel sounds like it hasn’t changed much, was a very lively local community back in the 70’s, had one or two run ins with the locals back then. 🥊 🥊

It's pretty gentrified now, the whole area is. You might get told off for wearing the same colour chinos as some other ponce but it's not like the old days of middle park. Middle Park is a nice little strip of old fashioned shops and cafes. It's pretty old fashioned by toffy now. Fighting for a park among the euro SUVs full of hot rich MILFs is a sport there.

A fun thing to do on Internet forums.

Years ago I was on a forum and a woman there was always going on about her "acting". She was very holier than thou and annoying as hell so I decided to mess with her. I sent her a pm telling her I'm fascinated with theatre etc and would love to hear more about here experiences. I said please leave nothing out... where did it all start for you... what was your first role etc etc.

Then I blocked her.

She would have been in blissful heaven writing a 20,000 word essay giving me the ins and outs of her thespianic endeavours. Only to find out she was blocked when she sent the message.

She announced what had happened to the forum and was very p*ssed off.

It brought me joy. Quite a bit of joy.

Why?.... because I'm a child sometimes.

Anyway... give it a whirl if you feel inclined.

I can assure you, it doesnt make money. Thats not a shot at the community, just a fact of the economics of the location.

I had to do alot of the reimbursement negotiations with sporting clubs and local businesses and saw their books.

Most on Armstrong Street (cafes, the IGA that was there and the food joints) make round 80% of the yearly revenue during that 3ish month period.

The pub is less but still significant.

A fun thing to do on Internet forums.

Years ago I was on a forum and a woman there was always going on about her "acting". She was very holier than thou and annoying as hell so I decided to mess with her. I sent her a pm telling her I'm fascinated with theatre etc and would love to hear more about here experiences. I said please leave nothing out... where did it all start for you... what was your first role etc etc.

Then I blocked her.

She would have been in blissful heaven writing a 20,000 word essay giving me the ins and outs of her thespianic endeavours. Only to find out she was blocked when she sent the message.

She announced what had happened to the forum and was very p*ssed off.

It brought me joy. Quite a bit of joy.

Why?.... because I'm a child sometimes.

Anyway... give it a whirl if you feel inclined.

It's pretty gentrified now, the whole area is. You might get told off for wearing the same colour chinos as some other ponce but it's not like the old days of middle park. Middle Park is a nice little strip of old fashioned shops and cafes. It's pretty old fashioned by toffy now. Fighting for a park among the euro SUVs full of hot rich MILFs is a sport there.
It’s been that way for decades, hotels about as quite as you could hope to find. GP isn’t a boon to local business if anything it costs them imo. Punters come down on the light rail straight into the track and straight off home the same way. Tradies wouldn‘t account for the locals that are driven off.

Two weeks a year is total crap, they have huts up just after Christmas and if you wander down there now they will still be pulling the stands etc down. In fact I know they are because my son in law hit one out of the driving range and scored one of the trucks doing just that yesterday. All those local clubs and activity that grinds to a halt that has to be taken into account as well. I’ve lived near the track in the past and I’m still close, I was an active member of the middle park tennis club for years. A semi regular at the pub, local restaurants, supermarket, must have purchased 10 bikes from the old penny farthing and punted in the local tab.

The GP isn’t going anywhere in the short term but anecdotally it’s not a winner for the locals and it’s a downright disgraceful misuse of a very busy public park. It’s used extensively for both organised sport and passive recreation. It was ok if you’re a fan in Adelaide, we only have it because Jeff wanted to flex and rave about melbourne being the sporting capital of the world. Like a lot of things Jeff did imo it’s yet another shocker.

Isn't it about time our society started jailing these campaigners, or better still, sentence them to very lengthy terms of community service. These entitled pricks seem to think their cause is so noble they can break whatever laws they feel like.
It's about time they learnt some respect and what has been sacrificed in the past, so they can lead their life of priviledge.
Absolute tossers!

Isn't it about time our society started jailing these campaigners, or better still, sentence them to very lengthy terms of community service. These entitled pricks seem to think their cause is so noble they can break whatever laws they feel like.
It's about time they learnt some respect and what has been sacrificed in the past, so they can lead their life of priviledge.
Absolute tossers!

Snooker has always been into oil & gas corruption, it's about time somethey brought them to account!