Top 3 for 2008 National Draft

There's a long way between now and the next draft.....Suban might not come on and may drop to 10-15 range.....Cornelius might dominate div2 and push for top 5.....Tom Lynch might recover well from his knee op and dominate TAC.......if Shaun McKernan plays like he began to towards the end of last season he might push into top 5 contention. One thing I learnt last year is not to make too many predictions too early (other than locking Naitanui and Rich into 1 and 2 :eek:).

Written Hurley off Gilly? :D

Agree with nearly everyone else regarding Naitanui, his performance in the carnival guarantee him top 3 irrespective of what happens this year.

I think Mitchell Banner has proved in the TAC last year he will be the best small player this year. Criminal that because of his age he wasn't given a fair dinkum chance with Vic metro last year.

Agree with nearly everyone else regarding Naitanui, his performance in the carnival guarantee him top 3 irrespective of what happens this year.

I think Mitchell Banner has proved in the TAC last year he will be the best small player this year. Criminal that because of his age he wasn't given a fair dinkum chance with Vic metro last year.

Reckon Nick Suban might have something to say about that.

Tom Swift = midfielder from WA
Tom Lynch = KPP from Hailebury (Sandringham Dragons)

Trengove IIRC is about 196-197cm and spent some time in the ruck as well as defence for Calder.....has a good leap and good timing so competes well for his size, he probably shaded Kreuzer in the ruck in their TAC final last year, but K was running around on one leg effectively. With the trend towards 200+cm athletes who can run and leap tall building in a single bound I would think he'd need a few cm's to be drafted as a ruckman...but is mobile enough and reads the play well enough to play KP.
I know this thread is about the top three, but would Shaun McKernan be in the same boat if he doesn't grow?

Bad call.

Sellar dominated his first carnival (was talk he would go at 1)...wasn't eligible til the next draft, was sick during the next champs and didn't play as well...slipped to 14.

There is no way Naitanui is a guaranteed top 3 pick.

Naitanui won't go Top 3. You just don't spend a Top 3 pick on someone that has so many question marks. Unless of course your 08 season was a 'one-year shocker' in-which you were descimated by injuries.

Top 3 at this stage... Rich, Swift, Hartlett with Hurley marginally behind them.

Bad call.

Sellar dominated his first carnival (was talk he would go at 1)...wasn't eligible til the next draft, was sick during the next champs and didn't play as well...slipped to 14.

Nobody is guaranteed of anything, however, his form at the carnival was such that he will be very highly sought after come November this year.

Naitanui won't go Top 3. You just don't spend a Top 3 pick on someone that has so many question marks. Unless of course your 08 season was a 'one-year shocker' in-which you were descimated by injuries.

Top 3 at this stage... Rich, Swift, Hartlett with Hurley marginally behind them.
There are question marks over this player? :confused: :rolleyes:

Kreuzer picked in Nick of time

"He is the most exciting player I have seen and he missed the draft by two days (because of his birth date).

"People won't believe how much money they will pay to go through the gates to watch him play. I've never seen anything like it."

Bad call.

Naitanui played in the U18 Championships as a bottom aged player and competed well against the taller Kreuzer who went at 1 in the following draft. Showing an ability to ruck against a taller and bigger and more physically developed ruckman.

Sellar on the other hand dominated the U16s played against much smaller players who he was able to physically dominate. The following year against players bigger than him in the ruck he struggled as he was still an in between size. He became a CHF who could ruck a bit due to not growing and with average U18 form and a drop off for his SA club he dropped a bit.

Dont see the same thing with Naitanui who has runs on the board at U18 level just like Leuy, Kreuzer and McEvoy did at U18 level before they are eligible.

This draft like many others will have guns coming out of it...Guys like Naitanui, Rich, Hartlett and the likes would be highly sought after come draft time towards the end of this year...

There are question marks over this player? :confused: :rolleyes:

Kreuzer picked in Nick of time
Have you seen the kid kick the ball? Have you seen the kid mark the ball? Have you seen the kid actually hand-ball the ball over a distance of 10 + metres? Actually.... Have you seen this kid even play??? :rolleyes: So yes question marks.

But if you were going to find a source, please find out that doesnt involve Carlton. Natanui shows raw athletic ability probaly never seen. Kreuzer shows footballing ability full stop. Natanui is a relative gamble. Kreuzer is relatively safe. I will say again, question marks.

This draft like many others will have guns coming out of it...Guys like Naitanui, Rich, Hartlett and the likes would be highly sought after come draft time towards the end of this year...
Sinaperi says Rich is the best midfielder he has seen for anyone in that age bracket. Thats saying something.

Have you seen the kid kick the ball? Have you seen the kid mark the ball? Have you seen the kid actually hand-ball the ball over a distance of 10 + metres? Actually.... Have you seen this kid even play??? :rolleyes: So yes question marks.

But if you were going to find a source, please find out that doesnt involve Carlton. Natanui shows raw athletic ability probaly never seen. Kreuzer shows footballing ability full stop. Natanui is a relative gamble. Kreuzer is relatively safe. I will say again, question marks.
But Sinepari the WCE supporter is the man to listen to? :rolleyes:

No offence, but Wayne Hughes would have forgotten more than you or Sinepari know.

And Hughes also praised Rich in that article, so I guess he's been reading Bigfooty.

I think you're a bitter WCE fan.

But Sinepari the WCE supporter is the man to listen to? :rolleyes:
Ok overnight sensation.... Sinepari is a well respected poster here on the draft and trading board. Everyone on here long enough will know that Sinepari knows his shit and it matters not what team he supports. Should we also tell Weaver to f..k off because he supports Richmond???

No offence, but Wayne Hughes would have forgotten more than you or Sinepari know.
Huh?? Wayne Hughes is good. But your quoting a guy with the obvious #1 pick and a team in desperate need of a Ruckman. Hughes seems to be into the gambling types when you look at the O'hailpins, Hampsons, Benjamins.

Natanui has shown next to nothing to suggest his junior form will translate into AFL ranks.

And Hughes also praised Rich in that article, so I guess he's been reading Bigfooty.
Rich's form has been out of this world. Don't need BF to figure that one out.

I think you're a bitter WCE fan.
I think you have no idea who Natanui is let alone seen him play.

No KPP's in WA....... some very quick mids
Cornelius and Hartlett very good but at 190cm half forwards at best
Hurley at 192 only just but looks like he may put on 2 or 3cm
any young KPP's in Vic, SA, Tas, Qld or NSW

hurley is in vic.

he goes to my school.

good fella. Hope he has the heart to dominate AFL footy:thumbsu:

definatley has the skills/size and fitness

Top 3 for 2008 National Draft