List Mgmt. Trade and Free Agency Discussion 2018 - Edition III - OP contains trade summary

Tell 3aw get stuffed. That’s horrid.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

It's still got me whacked why Pruess wants to go to the Dees. They clearly want to turn him into Mason Cox

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Is a midfield of Martin, Cotchin, Prestia, Lambert, Edwards, Graham, Higgins, Grigg really that bad? Yeah ok if a gun goes down we might be in trouble but you could say that about a lot of clubs. The clearances need some work and hopefully we work on that over the summer, it seems we lose a few by design to get the footy back. Really don’t think our mids are that bad at all
Higgo basically first year player...
Prestia had a broken rib...
Graham had a dislocated shoulder...
Dusty was not at his beast mode...
Cotch playing sore...
Lambert had an ankle injury...
Grigg just that older...
Midfield work left to Edwards who basically is a forward...
Caddy does his best work as a forward...
Our midfielders were running on empty...no zip...

Higgo basically first year player...
Prestia had a broken rib...
Graham had a dislocated shoulder...
Dusty was not at his beast mode...
Cotch playing sore...
Lambert had an ankle injury...
Grigg just that older...
Midfield work left to Edwards who basically is a forward...
Caddy does his best work as a forward...
Our midfielders were running on empty...no zip...
And Dave had the flu.

Still should never have lost to them.

Had a few PMs asking whether I’d heard anything re the Tiges, and thought it would be easier to reply here. Always happy to share what I hear.

It’s just that other than Lynch, there hasn’t really been anything worth talking about.

Basically, my mate in the industry is pretty adamant Lynch was the only big play for us this year. Salary cap space is tight, and with what even mid-tier players can demand at the moment, we’re simply not in a position to attract another recognised quality player in this trade period.

If something falls in our lap, of course we’ll consider it on its merits.. but as of now my understanding is there are no more irons in the fire, and we’ll be hitting the draft to fill the gaps in our list left by departing players.
As posted after Jack Dyer medal.

We just got Lynch and people want more.

Its the draft fellas and some mature age rookies.

With Sheil nominating Essendon, you’d have to ask the question about the bombers and their cap.

Smith, Daniher, Merrett, Zaharakis, Hurley, Heppell, Stringer and Hooker would be on a lot.

Parish, McGrath, Fantasia, Saad and Belchambers wouldn’t be on nothing.

Not adding Sheil to that list of high wages, seems suss.

Not like they haven’t cheated before.
They’re prob saying the same thing about Richmond , Spare the cheating part

We should've gone after Preuss... I'm not his biggest fan but he would've come cheap and probably would give Nank something to think about, Coz soldo sure as shit isn't making Nank sweat.
I’d doubt as cheap as you think , we wouldn’t be considering anyone on any higher than basic wages , think delisted fa . I reckon Zac Clarke ex freo would be a go, had a great year in wafl by reports

Yeah fair call, but I can't imagine Preuss could be driving a high price. Definitely need an athletic tap ruckman to give us something a bit different in the middle, Clark might be that gap fill.

Tell 3aw get stuffed. That’s horrid.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower
I don't mind that deal. We swap outside depth for inside depth (which is more of a need), and North can absorb a lot of the salary.

Eg: Melbourne pays some of Tyson's contract. To make up for it North pays a chunk of Preuss' contract. Everyone wins

How? Lynch is the only free agent that earned a compo pick before pick 16(now 17). Our first pick isn't going to move any lower than it is.

Granted a couple of them are handy players, but the argument put forward was that pick 17 could be a gun. Last 20 years only 2 of 20 players taken at that pick could be considered guns. The majority struggled to have much of an impact at all. Like I said I don't expect to get a couple of A grade 300 game players by down trading, but we do give ourselves a better chance of getting a couple of players who could be solid 150 game players.
if there are Fs and academy player bids it will get pushed back

Geelong is disappointing.
Being obstinate and blocking Kelly's return to WA.
They would create goodwill if they let him go.
I fear West Coast if they gain Kelly.