List Mgmt. Trade & F/A - 2018/2019 - Part 2!

I think your concerns are warranted mate.

I still think we send him to the best medical team OS for a second opinion.

Imagine this guy playing every finals game?
Total agreement here CFC, if we could get him onto the park regularly it could transform us from contender to premier even without Lynch - his best is just that good.

1 year, minimum wage, incentives and triggers.

Take it or leave it. We've gotten this far without you...

I don't think it is about take it or leave it MB.

I think he just wants to get his body right.......I agree a 1 year contract is responsible for all parties.

What positions do you think we need to target? Who would you look at?

If we get Lynch that would be great. We put our best offer forward without breaking our list management strategy. If he goes elsewhere so be it. If Suns match we pass. Not worth trading for.

While I would like May I think cost would be too high.

All this changes if Moore goes, which I don’t think will happen. But if he does use any compensation for Moore to target May.

If we keep Moore I don’t think our need for talks is as big as others on here. Yes we have a hole due to Dunn and Shaz but I wouldn’t be looking to trade our first round pick for a KPP. Take that to the draft. If we can pick up a cheap fringe KPP player from another club (eg Dunn) or a mature age player from the VFL (eg Michocek). We don’t need a star just a solid role player like Dunn. It is time to give MCLarty a go.

I don’t think there is anyone on our list that I would like to trade who has any value. I would be letting Kirby, Blair, Oxley, Broomhead, Crocker and Faz go. Most would be delisted with us perhaps getting a late pick for Faz. Not much to trade in a real top shelf KPP with.

Love Jamie and what he brings. . . but . . .

He can't bring anything if he's constantly injured.

How long is too long?

I think you need to stick with Elliot. If on the off chance we land Lynch you could be looking at a forward line like below and that is something to behold. Elliot is a unique player and pretty much irreplaceable so I would give him time. We have plenty of injury plagued players to get rid of before Jamie.

F: Elliot Lynch De Goey
HF: Thomas Cox Stephenson

If Elliott was fit and firing, would have loved to see him alongside WHE, Stephenson, De Goey up forward this year. How lethal would that have been!!
Unstoppable quartet...name a back 4 medium/small defenders in the one side that could cope with each of these guys. Please give us a healthy Jamie Elliot for finals....what a bonus he would be.

If we get Lynch that would be great. We put our best offer forward without breaking our list management strategy. If he goes elsewhere so be it. If Suns match we pass. Not worth trading for.

While I would like May I think cost would be too high.

All this changes if Moore goes, which I don’t think will happen. But if he does use any compensation for Moore to target May.

If we keep Moore I don’t think our need for talks is as big as others on here. Yes we have a hole due to Dunn and Shaz but I wouldn’t be looking to trade our first round pick for a KPP. Take that to the draft. If we can pick up a cheap fringe KPP player from another club (eg Dunn) or a mature age player from the VFL (eg Michocek). We don’t need a star just a solid role player like Dunn. It is time to give MCLarty a go.

I don’t think there is anyone on our list that I would like to trade who has any value. I would be letting Kirby, Blair, Oxley, Broomhead, Crocker and Faz go. Most would be delisted with us perhaps getting a late pick for Faz. Not much to trade in a real top shelf KPP with.

I agree with this. Target Lynch by all means and then work it out from there.

Moore/Reid/Mihocek/McLarty/Goldy are next years solution to our backline and forward depth. They can cover for Dunn & Scharenburg.

Moore will be an All Aussie centre half back one day and you can bookmark that. Hopefully that is at the Pies but if he does decide to go it will be with someone else. In that circumstance then yes we may need to also target a defender to cover that loss. If the Swans go after Moore then lets go after Aliir Aliir. Lachie Henderson is gettable also. But Mihocek/Dunn shows cheap quality is there if you look hard enough.

I think you need to stick with Elliot. If on the off chance we land Lynch you could be looking at a forward line like below and that is something to behold. Elliot is a unique player and pretty much irreplaceable so I would give him time. We have plenty of injury plagued players to get rid of before Jamie.

Id personally move De Goey into the midfield and run with WHE for De Goey in the forward line

That doesn't look as sexy!

De Goey & Thomas would be part of the midfield rotation so you would have Sidebottom, Pendles and the rest of the crew having time forward, however when the game needs to be won you stick JDG down there and win the game ala Dusty against us on the weekend.

Stephenson & WHE I would like to see up on the wings more to use their natural attributes, they can rotate and mix it up that way. With their speed they can really expose teams.

That forward line is so good you couldn't even fit in WHE! De Goey might actually end up in midfield with a forward line like that.

That is going to be the challenge with De Goey, he is so good forward is it worth dragging him away too much?

Any forward line looks better with Elliot in it anyway you cut it.

I am actually feeling quietly bullish about Daicos becoming a quality small forward. He is a slow burner but what I was most worried about with him was his pressure and tackling game this is starting to come together for him.

:think::think::think::think::think::think::think::think::think::think::think::think::think::think:

AFL
Wells will undoubtedly play on at Collingwood
By SEN 32 minutes ago
12MeCo18MD1611.JPG

Daniel Wells will remain at Collingwood for season 2019 says his agent Liam Pickering.

The 33-year-old has struggled to get on the park since joining the Magpies from North Melbourne in late 2016, managing just 14 games in two seasons, which has stirred speculation about his career.

Wells’ 2018 season was ruined by a lisfranc fracture in his foot in Round 12 but despite his inability to shake injury and gain continuity on the ground, he will undoubtedly be in the black and white stripes for the third year of his three-year contract.

“He wants to play and he will be able to play,” Pickering said on SEN Breakfast.

Which urged host Tim Watson to ask: “Has he got the capacity to play another year?”

To which Pickering replied: “Yes, of course he will.

“He’s in a moon boot at the moment. He will be playing.”

Watson then posed the question: “So why is anyone questioning him then?”

Prompting Pickering to state: “Maybe they’re questioning him for the fact that he has had a lot of injuries in his first two years at the club.

“He’s contracted and he’ll be playing.

“I’m actually really confident. If he gets his foot right, he’s got his speed, he’s still got his class.

“Let’s not forget, the games he played last year how important he was. He’s just had a bad run over 12 months.

“He’s keen to play again.

“Unless something changes between now and the end of the year, that’s what will be happening.”

Collingwood have won 10 of the 14 games former Kangaroos midfielder Wells has played in, highlighting his importance to Nathan Buckley’s side.

I for one love this news.

Don’t you all know what’s going to happen? Because I do.

Wells doesn’t play until round 18, he builds some late season form going into finals and then he plays the grand final, getting 25 and 2 goals in the process as one of Collingwood’s best in a fairytale premiership win.

I mean, it’s pretty obvious as far as I’m concerned.

I for one love this news.

Don’t you all know what’s going to happen? Because I do.

Wells doesn’t play until round 18, he builds some late season form going into finals and then he plays the grand final, getting 25 and 2 goals in the process as one of Collingwood’s best in a fairytale premiership win.

I mean, it’s pretty obvious as far as I’m concerned.

I can live with that :)

They werent interested in him last year

He wasn't free last year and their ability to hit the scoreboard has continued to slide. I still rate Fas highly but it is hard to see him fitting in to our future teams, he will benefit from a fresh start and deserves a good crack in a best 22.

All I have heard is that discussions are being had as they should be with any out of contract FA.

And also, is there any actual chatter about Heath Grundy maybe being on the outer at Sydney? Because that would be the holy grail.

The chatter is about Grundy considering whether to sign another contract with Sydney. The thought is he may be considering retirement. That was the gist of comments from the footy telecast the other night anyway.

Do you reckon Grundy has much footy left in him?

I agree with this. Target Lynch by all means and then work it out from there.

Moore/Reid/Mihocek/McLarty/Goldy are next years solution to our backline and forward depth. They can cover for Dunn & Scharenburg.

Moore will be an All Aussie centre half back one day and you can bookmark that. Hopefully that is at the Pies but if he does decide to go it will be with someone else. In that circumstance then yes we may need to also target a defender to cover that loss. If the Swans go after Moore then lets go after Aliir Aliir. Lachie Henderson is gettable also. But Mihocek/Dunn shows cheap quality is there if you look hard enough.
Allir Allir signed a new 3 year contract on Friday. Lachie Henderson is not going anywhere

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

And also, is there any actual chatter about Heath Grundy maybe being on the outer at Sydney? Because that would be the holy grail.

Holy Grail? That's a bit rich.
The guys over the hill. Let the bloke retire. Clearly we don't need a 32 y.o defender unless we get him for rookie wages.
Holy grail defenders right now would be
May, Rance, McGovern, Hurley, Davis, Stewart, Lever.

I would not be surprised if Jamie retires at the end of this year. His injury has previously been described as one of the worst pars defects suffered by a sportsman which resulted in surgery and screws being inserted. Unfortunately several of the symptoms is ongoing low back pain and stiffness and chronic hamstring tightness and being very prone to chronic hamstring issues. One of the worst sports you can play with this injury is football. Running, jumping, flexing, twisting and hard physical impact places significant pressure and pain on the lower spine. This condition is likely to be aggravated everytime he increases his intensity. His condition would be considered longterm with potential to worsen. I love Jamie Elliott but I am unconvinced his body will stand up to the rigours of AFL. I would only consider offering him a low base contract with incentives.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

The chatter is about Grundy considering whether to sign another contract with Sydney. The thought is he may be considering retirement. That was the gist of comments from the footy telecast the other night anyway.

Do you reckon Grundy has much footy left in him?

Absolutely I do and I still believe he’s in the top handful of key defenders in the league when he plays. He’s always carried a rep of being a good intercept player but he’s even better at shutting down imo.

If he’s on the market, it’s a no-brainer. If he wants to move, we can offer him a tilt at a premiership and we won’t have to offer long term job security either given his age. According to folk on here, Dunn could be ok for round one and Grundy in the mean time is a fantastic injury replacement for Scharenberg. And when Shaz comes back, I think Grundy allows him to slot back in at his best suited third tall role.

For real, imagine this back line come round 23:
B: Jack Crisp - Lynden Dunn - Matthew Scharenberg
HB: Jeremy Howe - Heath Grundy - Brayden Maynard
Interchange (7th man): Darcy Moore
Depth: Langdon, Mihocek, Reid, Appleby, Goldsack, Madgen, McLarty, Quaynor, Murray

That would be HUGE, and given any inevitable injuries, that is some seriously impressive depth to cover any deficiencies.

Holy Grail? That's a bit rich.
The guys over the hill. Let the bloke retire. Clearly we don't need a 32 y.o defender unless we get him for rookie wages.
Holy grail defenders right now would be
May, Rance, McGovern, Hurley, Davis, Stewart, Lever.

Grundy is as good as most of them, and wouldn’t cost in the region of 2 first rounders and $750k+ per year.