List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 3

Everyone has been talking about trading our late picks for the Dogs R1 pick, but how about helping the Pies out and trading our late picks for their 2022 R1 pick. Likelihood that it is another top 5 pick next year.

Take 2 first round picks this year and stockpile 2 more for next year to either head to the draft or dangle in front of GWS for Green

Everyone has been talking about trading our late picks for the Dogs R1 pick, but how about helping the Pies out and trading our late picks for their 2022 R1 pick. Likelihood that it is another top 5 pick next year.

Take 2 first round picks this year and stockpile 2 more for next year to either head to the draft or dangle in front of GWS for Green

I think the club might be trying to get Lipinski as part of the pick swap.

The pies next year could do anything, new coach, easier fixture.

Different motivations. Pies will not win the premiership next year or hit the finals with a great upsurge but they might be rejuvenated. I can't see them doing stupid trades like that Ned Guy surely, I suppose we could enquire.

I think the Pies are going on a bit of a discovery session of where they really are at, I think a lot of clubs are to be honest. Thats why I think we need to keep the powder dry in the next few years, a number of opportunities will probably present themselves. In the next three to four years there could be a lot of player movement between clubs as a number of clubs adjust to where they are at. We are seeing it with Hawthorn a little, Geelong are about to fall off a cliff, others are starting to rise while the likes of West Coast are getting a bit of a reaiity check. If we are patient better opportunities should present themselves without forcing something and overpaying

We need to get new talent in ASAP, this year and next and develop them

The Pies have some form in giving up value, but no way they are going to go for that. What makes you think they wood even contemplate it?

They can probably trade away their 2022 second pick for the amount of points they need if it becomes absolutely necessary. But it seems they are more likely to offload another player this year to further arrest their salary cap issues and this should get them the points they need to match a bid for Daicos.

Don’t agree, that’s totally disrespectful to a 2 time premiership player. Give him a new role, or train him up for midfield. He’s under contract and deserves to be treated with respect
If he asks for a trade, fair enough
We had a perfect scenario where we could have given him time in the middle and swung him forward to replace dusty when he went down. Was probably worth a shot as he can take tough marks in the forward line under pressure like dusty. He might have struggled a bit in the guts but I suppose we won't know now because we persisted too long in playing two blokes who were horribly out of form...🤦‍♂️

If you don’t get his astonishment you mustn’t have watched one of houli games this year!!

I watched all of our games and Houli didn’t look like he was finished to me. He looked easily in our best 22, and was missed when he was finally injured. Given his carry over issues from last years Grand Final, he looks to me like he will benefit from missing the last part of the season and putting in a full pre season and starting 2022 healthy.

If the club opt to either delist him or not make him an adequate offer, it is possible a club like Collingwood snap him up and get about 3 more decent seasons out of him.

I can’t help but laugh at the suggestions of people wanting to trade shorty
Won the b and f last year
Will be top 3 again this year if not going back to back
He hasn’t been as damaging as last year but there’s no way in hell we lose him. He’s essential in the way we move the ball and will be integral again for the next 5+ years
He was damaging with our game plan and chaos ball style, unfortunately that game plan is obsolete going off the outcomes of this year.
His long hack kick forward and his little to no defensive pressure will cost us more than it helps us unfortunately.
If he can work on hitting up a leading player rather than trying to get most meters gained stats and he works on becoming stronger in aerial contests and one on ones then he will be more valuable to the way we play.
He also needs to stop running past players looking for cheap handball goals when players are lining up, especially the younger players that feel they need to dish it off to him.
I think he is probably the most expendable with maximum value for us.

The Pies have some form in giving up value, but no way they are going to go for that. What makes you think they wood even contemplate it?

They can probably trade away their 2022 second pick for the amount of points they need if it becomes absolutely necessary. But it seems they are more likely to offload another player this year to further arrest their salary cap issues and this should get them the points they need to match a bid for Daicos.

If anything they could offload players in 2022 for compo long with their first and build around the Daicos generation through the draft

Not saying they would do it, all I'm suggesting is have a look at it.

If you think we won three premierships because we had the best players you just haven't been paying attention. We won those flag because we had a handful of stars, and some excellent role players. The secret ingredient was synergy, and this was grounded in each of the 40 players on our list buying into an ethos which made doing the right thing on the field easier to do.

Yes it is time to pass the baton, but we need to be ultra careful we don't screw the pooch on the transition. It was a bit of a different scenario, but I'm old enough to remember us trading out three players including Whale Roberts and Francis Jackson for the alleged messiah John Pitura in the late-70's, thus losing a couple of player whose respective wholes were far greater than the sum of their parts. And though we still had enough start power to win a flag not long after, the fabric of the club was destroyed, and stayed that way for more than 3 decades.

Nobody is saying anyone is bigger than the club - that's just some cheap political cliche to undermine what's really being said here. Houli is not bigger than the club, nor is Cotch, Dusty, Jack or anyone else. But they can continue to be very valuable to the club, whether that be as a player for the next several years like Dusty, or in their dignified and intelligent exit process of the other older blokes like Houli.

Do I think Bachar should play on? No, I don't. However, I'm just some schnedley on the internet who goes to all home games and watches the rest on the telly. I hope Bachar legitimately calls it a day this week and gets the send-off game next weekend he so richly deserves, even if he's on one leg. His teammates chairing him off will be proxy for 100,000 Tiger ferals. But if Houli genuinely thinks he's got more to offer to Richmond on- and off-field next year (and our football department and medical team agree) then I'm certain this will be of more benefit to the club in the long run.
I think he can play on...but only managed...pick and choose his games through the year...to be cherry ripe for finals.
Houli can offer his experience/coaching for the other young backs when rested...

Mate you've gotta brace yourself for some banter coming back at you if you're gonna throw fringe Carlton player names around.
We all talk sh*t and get sh*t thrown back at us some times it's part of the forum game. Nothing personal.

If you think we won three premierships because we had the best players you just haven't been paying attention. We won those flag because we had a handful of stars, and some excellent role players. The secret ingredient was synergy, and this was grounded in each of the 40 players on our list buying into an ethos which made doing the right thing on the field easier to do.

Yes it is time to pass the baton, but we need to be ultra careful we don't screw the pooch on the transition. It was a bit of a different scenario, but I'm old enough to remember us trading out three players including Whale Roberts and Francis Jackson for the alleged messiah John Pitura in the late-70's, thus losing a couple of player whose respective wholes were far greater than the sum of their parts. And though we still had enough start power to win a flag not long after, the fabric of the club was destroyed, and stayed that way for more than 3 decades.

Nobody is saying anyone is bigger than the club - that's just some cheap political cliche to undermine what's really being said here. Houli is not bigger than the club, nor is Cotch, Dusty, Jack or anyone else. But they can continue to be very valuable to the club, whether that be as a player for the next several years like Dusty, or in their dignified and intelligent exit process of the other older blokes like Houli.

Do I think Bachar should play on? No, I don't. However, I'm just some schnedley on the internet who goes to all home games and watches the rest on the telly. I hope Bachar legitimately calls it a day this week and gets the send-off game next weekend he so richly deserves, even if he's on one leg. His teammates chairing him off will be proxy for 100,000 Tiger ferals. But if Houli genuinely thinks he's got more to offer to Richmond on- and off-field next year (and our football department and medical team agree) then I'm certain this will be of more benefit to the club in the long run.
Great Post Jimmy.
You'd think we've learnt from the Pitura days and while i think it's not going to be a"Pitura" repeat as such it does demand that we do the changing of the guard in a respectful way to those who brought us so much success over the past 4yrs.
I have always maintained that if our premiership boys want to move on then thats ok.They go with my blessing.Same applies to those who want to go on another year like Houli.He has my blessing and quite frankly so should the blessings come from every supporter.
Houli is a Richmond man like all of us.

Picture this for our refresh/rebuild (whatever you want to call it:
  • Let's say CJ wants to go to GC as rumoured. We trade him and the Saints' second (approx. pick 28) for picks 19 and 23.
  • We then help the Doggies out with some points by trading our second and third and Gold Coast's third for their pick 15.
  • We head to the draft with a draft hand of picks 7, 15, 17, 19 and 23.
Would give us 5 picks in the top 25 :hearteyes:

We could even look to package up a couple of the teens picks to gain a second top 10 if there was someone there we liked, or use a couple of them to try and persuade the Giants to let us have Tom Green.
Wonder if a building side like North would accept 15/17 & 19 for pick 1(Horne):think:

We are way to quick to sack our premiership players.
Trent, Houli superstars of our team
If you believed we were going to make finals 6 weeks you were kidding your self.
We needed this, to many injuries, nothing working for us, but some great signs of what's beneath with young players
Loved watching Dow, Ralphsmith, cj with what we already have and what could come in very positive for next year.

Our seniors were all our hero's for the last 4 years,
Disappointing how quick we turn on them, last years premiership has to be the hardest of all time and they did it !!
one month pre season
Rest up boys!!
Refresh

Hey everyone,

Wasn't sure where to post this so I just went for the most recently posted-in thread.

This might be buried beneath other posts and/or ignored and that's absolutely fine, I'm really not a well known member as it is :)

Just wanted to say I've decided to bow out of forum posting and even lurking, and wanted to thank everyone heaps for a great time since I joined in (I think) 2010.

I've never really been a super active poster compared to many anyway, but I've really enjoyed the banter, the memes, the in-jokes and the tidbits of insider knowledge from some of the bigger members here (and some with not-so-big members if the stories are true?! Haha 😂). I especially enjoyed all the outpouring of joy together across all our finals wins and premierships this last few years, particularly in 2017 when it was just an amazing feeling.

I've found myself becoming almost irrationally seething toward Essendon of late; the better they've played and the worse we've looked, the more I've hated them and the more it's made me worry or fear that we were only good because of Caracella. I hate them for poaching from us so heavily and basically stealing what we created. And it's a sh*t frame of mind to constantly be stuck in. Whether or not I'm right, well, that's irrelevant; what it's telling me is that I'm far too invested in footy and that I just need to take a step back from all of it.

I also have a little boy on the way next month and I just want to put all of my energy and positivity into him :)

I hope to come back one day though!

Thanks again for being a bunch of absolute legends and I hope we find our mojo again in 2022.

Go Tigers! 🐅 🐅 🐅 🐅
Congratulations on your little boy
Hope everything goes well with the birth,,stay happy and healthy and enjoy every day as it comes,,
God bless

I'm pretty sure the player is Ned Long. Tall goal kicking mid. He should still be there late in the first round, so I think we're good atm.
Ned is totally forgotten about
Not even mentioned in top 40
Prospects ,,,,

Im pretty sure they can't trade next year's first????
I could be wrong
I suggested we do this earlier on
And was told by a few posters
They can't trade it ???
Not sure

9&16 chol for Taranto (gws need a ruckman)
27 for T.Mitchell

Taranto, Mitchell and Bolton starting mid 2022.
prestia, dusty and Graham rotating through mid with Lambert, Edwards, Macintosh and cotch playing outside roles.

There’s the midfield sorted for the 2022 flag.

Chol is an UFA. No value.

I want Green, and if Taranto is being squeezed out we should take him also (not Mitchell). Both would demand a big price and we don't have much to trade that they would want.

Possibly:
Green + Taranto
for
Pick 8 + pick 17 + pick 25 + CCJ + Castagna.

Not sure even that would be enough TBH. And would it be a bad idea? Probably.

But a midfield of:
Nank + Taranto + Green.
With the likes of Martin, Prestia, Cotchin, Graham, Edwards + Soldo rotating would be nice.

It has been mentioned before, Caddy is not out of contract, someone would have to trade for him. I don't see it happening.
Townsend is going around again. 4th club. On minimun chips. If we pay most of salary, Caddy would get picked up by some club.

If Bachar wants to play on at Tigerland, he plays on at Tigerland. You just don't discard players so critical to the fabric of your footy club - he warrants our utmost respect. And if we are to retain even a skerrick of the "Richmond Man" ethos which has been so important to our recent success, and is expected of our players that have played in premierships, then the club must reciprocate for a man that has absolutely epitomised the "Richmond Man" mentality. Trust me, this will backfire badly if we don't.

This is not your supercoach team we're talking about here.
Agree with this, pushing out champions who are central to our culture (e.g. houli, cotch) when they don't want to go is a very bad look. Houli is not on much coin and has been on one year deals for a while so I hardly think there's a risk to us by keeping him on. Not to mention that if he gets a decent injury run he's clearly still best 22 and if we want to have another crack next year it would benefit us to have him available for selection
I can agree with the sentiment here, but at what stage does the onus also fall back on the player...?

An argument could easily be made that (in Bachar's case as he has been directly quoted) he is now being selfish, which is not a trait of a Richmond Man.

IMO, his form was terrible this year when he was on the park, he might have looked ok by stats wise, but to be honest, he was having no impact on the game. He was defending poorly, his possessions were cheap and not damaging...

For those saying the club should look after him as a premiership star, haven't they already done that over the course with helping set-up and facilitate his Foundation, and I assume they have paid him well over the trip.

Who says by putting the clubs interests first we haven't done the right thing by Bachar (now and along the way)?

From fox sports -
TIGERS TIPPED TO TRADE EARLY PICK FOR READY-MADE PLAYER

North Melbourne great David King believes Richmond will trade away one if its early picks in this year’s draft for a ready-made player.

Friday night’s defeat to the Giants marked Richmond’s seventh loss from its last nine games, with the reigning back-to-back premiers now on the verge of missing finals.

But armed with a healthy draft hand including two first-round picks and two second rounders, the Tigers can reload with young talent and use their currency to target rival players.

“They’ll have some off-season acquisitions that will be of quality,” King said on Fox Footy’s Saturday Countdown.

“I think they’ll trade one of them (their picks).”