List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 8

Yep best way to give ourselves a chance at sustained success is to go down the Hawthorn path and hit the draft.

But I'm worried we're going to instead go the other way and try and top up Geelong-style.
Why? What gives you that impression? Everything we've done and said since last years trade period suggests we'll be hitting the draft hard. Plus I can't recall us being linked to one single player from another club by the media.

i mean we did trade away heaps of picks to a coach who should have moved on ages ago for one more crack. THEN to have gale join a rival club and still be in the job ..... i think we are capable of being this dumb in the football department

I reckon our recruiting has been excellent last couple of years. We are quite active with pick offers...did we not try to move up and get Norths pick for Horne Francis.
I think we are a club that wants future pick swaps 2 years in advance.

The class of 21 can play. as can Campbell.

One more crack for the 13 year coach ~ Hopper and Tarranto shoudda/couldda worked. In 2023 KPF were the problem. Jack R aged & the other injured.

• retaining Meehan has been one disaster.
  • retaining players a year too long? we certainly pay/treat our players well.....Dusty/Lynch getting the lions share.
* not bringing in a "gun" KPF last season.

Why? What gives you that impression? Everything we've done and said since last years trade period suggests we'll be hitting the draft hard. Plus I can't recall us being linked to one single player from another club by the media.
We rate the depth of this draft .
That was mentioned by Blair last year

Footy department needs good revamp and more heat should be on Livingstone and Hartley. To many iffy decisions for me. Along with Gale should all take responsibility. There not immune to criticism. Club needs to beef up the footy department put the best around Yze.

SO how time changes and crushes the arguments of those insinuating that Hawks, West Coast, and North will be in the abyss for years. All three are showing signs that they will pass us next year in their rebuilding due to.... the draft.

Of which NONE of them had the currency of Baker, Rioli, and Bolton with Graham FA plus Brisbane F/S (fingers crossed). They entered their rebuilds too late, with no drafted trade currency during contending years.

In essence I believe in three drafts combined with 2021 crop by trading out the right players, we will obtain a better list than all of them and cushion their development with 1-2 years of Lynch, Prestia, Nank, Vlaustin, plus existing C grade list fillers (Miller, Lefau, Young, Mansell, Raphsmith, et al).

We would hit 2026/27 with some serious momentum and capital to money ball some elite Free Agents and A Grade list gaps.

So now we are finding out that "certain" clubs were told (given a warning) and others (clearly including us) weren't told ?!?

Were those clubs "in the know" s n I g g e r I n g behind our backs when we were cleverly stockpiling what may turn out to be utterly valueless picks ?

If that's the case there needs to be a riot down at Docklands. What a ****ed organisation.

If that turns out to be true then it's time for the lawyers to become involved.
whose starting the gofundme for a dumptruck full of horse turds to go drop in front of AFL house? i'll chip in $100

What a bunch of clowns 8 games to go unfit to run this competition. Like they said clubs work for years on draft strategy. You can see she's full of bs clubs are aware of it not this year through was going to come in. Let's see if the clubs stick thick together.

How about they address the real issues like umpiring interpretation , getting rid of the academy juniors altogether for the sun's, swans and giants and rewarding that basket case roos for complete failure.
It's like politics 101.
Too deflect from a current issue(umpiring).You say/do something else too take the attention off the current issue.

Watson will be a star … he’s had 7 shots at goal in about his 5th game of footy, and you’re worried about the pick?

Outside 15mtrs he won't make the distance.

Yeah definitely. I just think a club will come at him a year early to try and get ahead of free agency bids from the top clubs.
Problem is North will have a likely top 3 or at least top 5 pick next year. You'd have to give them something comparable.

Trade bolton to dockers for there first 2 round picks currently sitting at 11 and 12
Baker plus our 3rd round pick currently sitting at 40 and our pick tied to them currently sitting 41 to eagles for their first round pick next year

I don’t mind taking a low cost punt, I just don’t think he fills a need as a 181cm mid. TT and Hopper have 5-years left as starting inside mids. Then there’s Dow and McAuliffe as inside mids. And arguably Ross.

I’ve always thought you only bring players in to your club who command a best-18 position and basically never play VFL. Houli, Grigg, Nank, Caddy, Lynch, Prestia, TT, Hopper etc… all filled that criteria.

Who didn’t come in as commanding a best-18 spot? Petterd. Miller. Kosi. Lonergan. Maric. Miller. Hislop. Banfield. Thomas. Moore. Marcon. Naismith … plus a few more I’m sure.

You could argue Miles and Townsend worked out, but it’s pretty baron when you bring in fringe players from other clubs.

If we are not injury riddled Philips isn’t playing early rounds 2025. I’d put list mgt focus elsewhere… small mids without elite traits aren’t taking us anywhere.

Bugger low cost ... we should act like the big club we are

Warner and Lukosious would flip our list like Caddy and Prestia did in 2017

Chad Warner is exactly what we need .... speed in the midfield... in exactly the right age bracket to get value out of Taranto and Hopper ...

Our first rounder and Dusty 😜

Our first rounder, Graham and Vlastuin (we have Tresize, Bauer, Gibcus and even Blight and Banks that all play good football off half back) for their first rounder

Lukosious will always be behind Walter and McKay as key forwards but would be first in line behind Lynch at Richmond and his elite running will make him the perfect companion to Lynch as he ages.

Short and a heap of picks for points to cover their Academy pick Lombard may just satisfy Gold Coast with Dimma's need for an elite running half back flank may be met perfectly by our 2019 B&F knowing exactly how he wants to play so well he is still playing like that under Yze lol

May need to throw in 2025 pick to get it done

With Dusty and Lynch out of coming out of their monster contracts we should be able to find the cap space

If we went after Stengle I wouldn't be happy with anything over $650k a season. He's a small forward who doesn't really play elsewhere on the ground. He isn't a need IMO and depending on if Graham leaves as a free agent I'd prefer to keep the Graham compo and use that to get a young kid in.
Stengle is managed by Eddie Betts wife... he ain't going anywhere ... just shopping for more money