Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

It's supporters having a sook, but with the case of WA travel the articles have become pretty regular - the WA clubs are pushing for something. We know it's not an extra club in WA - even though that would help reduce travel - they want to be massive clubs. My bet it's as simple as they're pushing to allow clubs to sell them some home games - now that Tassie will probably stop being a second home for Nth and Hawks. I think they'll get that's what it'll be about and I think they'll get their request.

Combine that with some double headers and ideally gather round shifted to WA and extra travel problem gone.

The question will be will that become an unfair advantage with the extra home games.
Do you think the Western Australian Government or the WAFC will pay North to play at Optus?
I have my doubts, at best maybe a one off.

Do you think the Western Australian Government or the WAFC will pay North to play at Optus?
I have my doubts, at best maybe a one off.

A deal had supposedly been negotiated a few years ago when WA travel wasn't on the agenda but AFL said no. No idea who was stumping up the money.

I could see a one off, because I think North are fairly well supported over there, because of the amount of players that come from there and played for North, but I doubt it would be a Tassie like contract.

It's supporters having a sook, but with the case of WA travel the articles have become pretty regular - the WA clubs are pushing for something. We know it's not an extra club in WA - even though that would help reduce travel - they want to be massive clubs. My bet it's as simple as they're pushing to allow clubs to sell them some home games - now that Tassie will probably stop being a second home for Nth and Hawks. I think they'll get that's what it'll be about and I think they'll get their request.

Combine that with some double headers and ideally gather round shifted to WA and extra travel problem gone.

The question will be will that become an unfair advantage with the extra home games.
Nawww! We will be just like you guys. Stay in the same state for most of the season.

Let them stay in their own state if they want to, no idea who they play, but they can stay as long as they like.
Everyone would be happy if WC and Freo just went it alone and played themselves each week.

Rename the comp the Eastern Australian Football League and have 17 teams, with no need for any teams to cross the continent.

Nobody over East will miss em, and WA fans get to watch their team every week.

Everyone would be happy if WC and Freo just went it alone and played themselves each week.

Rename the comp the Eastern Australian Football League and have 17 teams, with no need for any teams to cross the continent.

Nobody over East will miss em, and WA fans get to watch their team every week.
I'd miss WCE. Some absolute classic Collingwood WC games on both sides of the country. Won't miss the current sooking.

Nothing wrong with the club, well ran, very tough to win against.

Supporters on the other hand, for a club that does so well, they would have to be easily the worst sooks i've seen.
You can understand Freo supporters, the club has won nothing.

What you call ‘sooking’ is actually just largely calm calls to fix inequities while acknowledging some problems, such as distance, can’t be overcome. No one’s calling for premierships to be handed over or anything do drastic.

Or, put another way, this thread is a lot of sooking from Victorian fans upset at attempts to fix inequities in the competition and remove their advantage.

No one’s calling for premierships to be handed over or anything do drastic.
You mean like some posters on here calling for culling or merging of vic clubs, yeah nothing drastic
Or, put another way, this thread is a lot of explaining from Victorian fans the reasons for the inequities in the competition, none are conspiracies.
FTFY

What you call ‘sooking’ is actually just largely calm calls to fix inequities while acknowledging some problems, such as distance, can’t be overcome. No one’s calling for premierships to be handed over or anything do drastic.

Or, put another way, this thread is a lot of sooking from Victorian fans upset at attempts to fix inequities in the competition and remove their advantage.

No. You're not asking to strip flags - just kill clubs.

Imagine the reaction if it had have been the AFL that put the kybosh on a third WA team. There would have been uproar in here. Something that would reduce the enormous travel disadvantage of the poor unfortunate WA teams and also increased travel for Vic teams - this threads wet dream.

But it wasn't the AFL that put the kybosh on it. It was WA. You see, being gifted a big share of a big market is most clubs wet dream and the WAs clubs don't want this advantage diluted - seems to me they value it more highly than the cost of additional travel

The whole thread is based on complaining about disadvantages and ignoring advantages.

So instead we've got silence on the decision to not look at a third WA team from the #VICBIAS crew in this thread, rather than the outrage that there'd be if it was an AFL decision and we've got all these calls to kill off Vic clubs - which wouldn't actually decrease WA travel by a km - in fact it would slightly increase it. And it wouldn't actually increase Vic travel by that much either.

And despite WA teams showing that it's advantageous for them to have less teams in their state - it's apparently a massive advantage that Melbourne clubs have a lot of teams. Freo can have a short history of incompetence on and off field - yet be building towards a financial powerhouse.

They have no clue.
No,no, we just want equality.
Bye North, bye St.kilda, bye Melbourne.

Nothing drastic of course.
Well not everyone but a select few, in any case if we want true equity some vic clubs would have to make way, obviously we'd also have to centre the competition somewhere also, among other measures. But they're not gonna happen, so we're at an impasse.

So it comes down to a case of 'who was here first' - we all know the answer.

So then it comes down to a case of either we accept this expanded vfl or we don't. Well that's not happening either, for some reason(s), the non vic fan will vehemently stay loyal to their new franchise clubs and express their disdain at the same time, seems illogical doesn't it. A question of why I and others have asked many times with no logical answer.

So then as vic fans we must accept the whinging non vic fans and perpetually explain the whys to their lament.

Carry on.

Not really fussed, so long as the 3 enemies (or any club that threatens my clubs standing as no.1 over the course of the competition) of my club don't have premiership success I'm happy.

Well not everyone but a select few, in any case if we want true equity some vic clubs would have to make way, obviously we'd also have to centre the competition somewhere also, among other measures. But they're not gonna happen, so we're at an impasse.

So it comes down to a case of 'who was here first' - we all know the answer.

So then it comes down to a case of either we accept this expanded vfl or we don't. Well that's not happening either, for some reason(s), the non vic fan will vehemently stay loyal to their new franchise clubs and express their disdain at the same time, seems illogical doesn't it. A question of why I and others have asked many times with no logical answer.

So then as vic fans we must accept the whinging non vic fans and perpetually explain the whys to their lament.

Carry on.

Not really fussed, so long as the 3 enemies (or any club that threatens my clubs standing as no.1 over the course of the competition) of my club don't have premiership success I'm happy.
They've been coming up with same arguments for years now, it doesn't matter how many times we say, "yes we know we have advantages" they always come back with, you never acknowledge you have advantages.

I gave up a long time ago.

Most of them aren't worth arguing with, that's why I couldn't care less whether they stay watching this league or not.
It's an expanded Victorian Football League and will always be that, the Grand Final isn't moving, all clubs are staying, so if they want the pain, good luck to them.
Now it's funny watching them squirm, I know they won't stop sooking, so let's just laugh at them instead of getting upset.

They've been coming up with same arguments for years now, it doesn't matter how many times we say, "yes we know we have advantages" they always come back with, you never acknowledge you have advantages.

I gave up a long time ago.

Most of them aren't worth arguing with, that's why I couldn't care less whether they stay watching this league or not.
It's an expanded Victorian Football League and will always be that, the Grand Final isn't moving, all clubs are staying, so if they want the pain, good luck to them.
Now it's funny watching them squirm, I know they won't stop sooking, so let's just laugh at them instead of getting upset.
The only reason we still have 10 teams in Victoria, is because the VFL sold their soul to Western Australia to get clubs out of the red and you've been pissed at it ever since.

You may want to do some research on who saved who, yes the Vic sides were broke, but so were the WAFL sides, this crap about if it wasn't for WC the VFL would not exist is getting tiresome.
The VFL would still exist, it just may have lost some clubs, but it would still be there, but would the WAFL still be there, who knows?

But you know what I really like?
Western Australians hate the VFL they have hated them forever, as soon as they formed the West Coast Eagles, nearly all of them couldn't join quick enough, they disowned the clubs they followed all their lives to join a league they despised.

That's how loyal they are.

You may want to do some research on who saved who, yes the Vic sides were broke, but so were the WAFL sides, this crap about if it wasn't for WC the VFL would not exist is getting tiresome.
The VFL would still exist, it just may have lost some clubs, but it would still be there, but would the WAFL still be there, who knows?

Western Australians hate the VFL they have hated them forever, as soon as they formed the West Coast Eagles, nearly all of them couldn't join quick enough, they disowned the clubs they followed all their lives to join a league they despised.

This is very true, wa public just dropped their clubs they had supported their whole lives overnight.
Loyalty certainly didn’t stand out as a strong point for West Aussies back then.

It's well documented about the shaky grounds of both leagues at the time, none the less the wafl is still here and is a bloody good footy league, it's a great standard of footy.

But the point of 'we saved your vfl', well ok both leagues saved each other, none the less the wafc sought and bought a licence to field a club to expand the vfl, the wa fans didn't like it at the time, yet they still jumped ship, why? I know why and no wa fan will admit that why.

They hated the vlf then and hate the vafl now, why? I know why and no wa fan will admit that why.

So the argument that 'we saved your vfl' is not because the vfl was unviable, it was because the vfl clubs were in a $ war to win flags, as pointed out by sr36 earlier in the thread.

So again to all you non vic fans, if you really hate the league so much then vote with your feet and remotes, but you won't, why? We all know why.

This is very true, wa public just dropped their clubs they had supported their whole lives overnight.
Loyalty certainly didn’t stand out as a strong point for West Aussies back then.
So did Fitzroy when the AFL kicked them out.

The reason why WAFL support dropped off is because the leagues best players joined the AFL. Quality affects attendance.

It's well documented about the shaky grounds of both leagues at the time, none the less the wafl is still here and is a bloody good footy league, it's a great standard of footy.

But the point of 'we saved your vfl', well ok both leagues saved each other, none the less the wafc sought and bought a licence to field a club to expand the vfl, the wa fans didn't like it at the time, yet they still jumped ship, why? I know why and no wa fan will admit that why.

They hated the vlf then and hate the vafl now, why? I know why and no wa fan will admit that why.

So the argument that 'we saved your vfl' is not because the vfl was unviable, it was because the vfl clubs were in a $ war to win flags, as pointed out by sr36 earlier in the thread.

So again to all you non vic fans, if you really hate the league so much then vote with your feet and remotes, but you won't, why? We all know why.
IMO most fans don't hate the league. They just putting ideas forward to make the league better.

I don't want to see clubs merged or kicked out. It was tried and most clubs managed to save themselves.

Of course 10 teams in Victoria creates issues with the draw, in regards to travel.

The Grand Final at the MCG is iconic and so are the marquee games, that generate huge crowds and revenue.

The broadcast revenue generated by the AFL relies upon 9 games a week spread over 5 states.

Would you be open to solutions to make the game better?

So did Fitzroy when the AFL kicked them out.
Actually a lot of their supporters abandoned the game, some followed Brisbane because they had no choice. The difference is that wa supporters had no real reason to dump their wafl clubs, where as Fitzroy was exited from their league.

As they were complaining about the vfl attracting players, coaches, staff etc pre vfl expansion, then why follow this new club with zero history in a league that they complained about? What's wrong with your wafl club?

As they complain about the league now, why are they still following their new (figuratively speaking) franchise clubs now?
The reason why WAFL support dropped off is because the leagues best players joined the AFL. Quality affects attendance.
That's not the only reason, regardless, players leaving the wafl for the vfl wasn't an all of a sudden thing, had been happening a long long time before expansion and rebranding.

So why all of a sudden when this new, no history club comes along does the whole wa footy public drop their wafl clubs like a toxic ex?

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2