Toast VS Collingwood review megathread

I just love Macrae

He's got that footy smarts that you just can't teach. There was a little moment in the game that just impressed me so much. He won the ball in a contest and his first instinct was to dish out with a handball to the player running past, but that player had an opponent not far from him and would have almost definitely have tackled him and result in a possible turn over. Instead he accessed the situation and stopped the motion of the handball he was about to give and slowed downed than turned around and delivered a perfect kick to Grant on the wing. This was all in a matter of a second or two. The vast majority of players would have gone with there first instinct there in such a pressure situation but that's what separates the good players and great players.

We have one hell of a footballer in him.

Why can't I find the Brendan McCartney press conference anywhere? Did the media get sick of him not giving them any controversies or cryptic bullshit and just decide to boycott him? :p

Geez Bonts has a massive tank for an 18 year old who's done one preseason. Imagine what's he going to be like after another 3 preseasons. Scary.
Was thinking that during the game. Looks stuffed afterwards but absolutely motors through games.

Why can't I find the Brendan McCartney press conference anywhere? Did the media get sick of him not giving them any controversies or cryptic bullshit and just decide to boycott him? :p
Fox Sports have it on their match summary. Quite a lengthy post match Presser too!

Hey, where's the credit I deserve for the win? When I tuned in to listen we were losing 18-1. ( I almost stopped at that point, anticipating a slaughter.) A few minutes later we scored and scored again, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera. Unfortunately I fell asleep while listening in the last quarter and missed the end.

And Melbourne beat Essendon? And Richmond lost? What a weekend!:D

Today is Father's Day here in the US, so I'd like to wish all of you fathers the best. And if you have yours still living, cherish the time you have with him.

Hey, where's the credit I deserve for the win? When I tuned in to listen we were losing 18-1. ( I almost stopped at that point, anticipating a slaughter.) A few minutes later we scored and scored again, etcetera, etcetera, etcetera. Unfortunately I fell asleep while listening in the last quarter and missed the end.

And Melbourne beat Essendon? And Richmond lost? What a weekend!:D

Today is Father's Day here in the US, so I'd like to wish all of you fathers the best. And if you have yours still living, cherish the time you have with him.
And Crossy set up the match winning goal! Been lots of praise for him on twitter tonight :)

I have no real beef with Collingwood. They are nowhere near Essendon on my list of organisations I'd love to see burn to the ground. Not going to give them any more respect than they deserve though, which is very little on the basis of a majority of their fan's comments I have read online this evening and put up with at today's game.

Oor Wally pull your pants up. I'm being flippant.

I don't wear pants still have my kilt on, easier to give a rub watching Libba Bonts and Honny

I thought Hrovat was good. Hes a slippery little guy and he loves finding space in the forward line.

Loved Bonts running forward to mark his eventual goal in the 4th quarter. he was so stuffed that when the ball fell into his hands he almost collapsed.
But thats what a 192cm mid has gotta do. He was sloppy at times today, but I put it down to fatigue.

Picken did a great job I thought.

Grant makes goals happen (1 goal, 4 score assists).

Libba was unstoppable.

some thoughts
after watching game

Tutt - has a future (his last goal was a watershed mark) tutt ran and demanded hands raised the ball -gut ran into a safe uncontested mark and never flinched kicking a "Beasley". :thumbsu: As obama once embraced "YES WE CAN"
Bont - solid, needs to learn to kick for goal, still fidgets and finesses sometime but will only become better
No Cooney No Boyd No worries
(nice to see young men doing the damage and taking up the slack of -(60-45) possessions)
Horvat- must play
Grant - best foot skills in the forward line huge in now hes got 2 afl games in him
Crameri - has to play nomatter the supercoach score for structure
Jones - still inconsistent in my books one game away from a shocker - if he can play 12 games without calls for him to be dropped i will reverse my judgement -he could get 3 touches next week and sook about at half forward trying to take mark of the year
Griffen - one step forward (maybe two)
Minson - good game -- energy level aggression and execution was great
Stevens - moneyball pick (too much upside to leave out of team) great game today
Liberatore - captain oh my future captain THE ONE TO LIFT THE CUP FIRST BOG
Austin - :thumbsu:

Solid across all lines with no real standout "weak link" as ball transitioned smoothly and with a confidence that was urged on by work rate. We could have lost but we were as good as they were all day and we won (hugely important).

a good day for all concerned:)

Toast VS Collingwood review megathread