Preview WARNING - THIS THREAD DISCUSSES FOOTBALL - NAB Cup Discussion Here

Prefer watching them at Box Hill, when everyone is fair dinkum.

Fair enough, I just like seeing how some of them compete against some of the star players and how they handle the seniors, even if there isn't much on the line, they all still try their best to put their hand up for a spot

Want to see how we structure up in the backline with the addition of Lake, and how Gibbo will make an effect to the as he wont need to go up third man a lot anymore

Will be very interesting. I suspect it'll free Gibbo up to go 3rd man up even more, actually. In theory, Lake & Shoey take the 2 biggest forwards, Gibbo lines up on your classic "3rd tall" and runs off him at every opportunity and impacts contests all over the back half. That's the way the Cats used to do it with Scarlett.

Probably won't pan out that way, but you never know.

Can't wait.

Will be intersting to see who gets CHF without Buddy.

All about the younger blokes for mine and Frank (assuming that he is under 40).

Hoping these guys get a good run: Savage, Ellis, Frank, Hallahan, Kelly, O'Brien, Lowden, Smith, Anderson, Hill, Gunston, Shiels, Schoey, Litherland, Ceglar, Suckling...

I'm just looking forward to seeing these blokes run around playing footy rather than speculating on their:
a. contract negotiations
b. drug of choice
c. sexual orientation
d. sex-drug negotiations

I'm also looking forward to seeing all the new guys but in particular Luke Lowden, Hill and Duryea. I'm hoping all three will play a roll this year and the nab cup will be our first chance to see if they are ready or not.

Just so long as you don't baguette if you don't like what you see.

Will be very interesting. I suspect it'll free Gibbo up to go 3rd man up even more, actually. In theory, Lake & Shoey take the 2 biggest forwards, Gibbo lines up on your classic "3rd tall" and runs off him at every opportunity and impacts contests all over the back half. That's the way the Cats used to do it with Scarlett.

Probably won't pan out that way, but you never know.

Can't wait.

Just the thought of having Gibson to go third man up now in contests more often is very exciting. With Lake to go on the number one forwards, Schoenmakers the second best forward, it means Gibson will be getting to more contests more often. Not only that Gibson is very good at setting up play from defense. Will be exciting to see how they all can fit in. No doubt with the inclusion of Lake, it means someone will be squeezed out of the backline, which will only make our defense stronger. Plus there is an opportunity for one of Birchall or Suckling to push up onto the wing.

I think Birchall will move up to the wing and Stratton will take on Birchall's role on the HBF.

Gotta be the X man. He needs to play in the guts and start showing that he has the durability to play AFL.

Of the newbies, Slammin Sam Grimley. He played V GWS in Tassie last year and looked sprightly. Hope he gets a run and chases the footy at evey opportunity.

Just to tell you, Grims told me in Launceston yesterday he will be up against GC for Rd 1... :)

I think Birchall will move up to the wing and Stratton will take on Birchall's role on the HBF.
While both players can provide run off the backline, they are 2 different types of player. Birchall is a running player who sets plays up at the backline whereas Stratton is a stopper defender first who only provides run if the chance arises.

I think you'll find Suckling more likely to push up to the wing IF Brad Hill isn't getting games.

I am not sure Ossie can get back to his best, he wasn't going that well last year when he got injured. I know he often has a minding role but he didn't seem as nippy to me last year. He is a smart player and even if he only plays at Boxhill, he will be an excellent teacher to all the young HFFers/mid fielders.

I think there are a few players that are thereabouts for inclusion in our team and similarly exclusion. Some may be better this year having recovered from injury or having better pre seasons but I expect Puopolo, Ellis, Savage, Hill, Bailey to be knocking along with WhiteX, and the pretty much untried or yet to debut in Lowden, Hallahan, Duryea, Frank, Simpkin and maybe Anderson if he can impress early. I think Cheney for all his grunt is just a player and Spangher is really insurance. Woody I think would have played had he been fit.

As for the NAB cup I would like us to play the young guys, perhaps not all at once but I would like to see of the above play at some stage.

Even though it will only be NAB cup I think we will get a pretty good read on Baileys fortunes for the year.

If he cant take marks and win the pill around the ground in this stuff he is in real trouble.

Cant remember where i heard it but i dont think we are taking the NAB cup seriously.

While both players can provide run off the backline, they are 2 different types of player. Birchall is a running player who sets plays up at the backline whereas Stratton is a stopper defender first who only provides run if the chance arises.

I think you'll find Suckling more likely to push up to the wing IF Brad Hill isn't getting games.
Yeah, I agree SLB.

It will be one of Hill, Smith or Savage to take Young's spot - as they likely would have done anyway. Birch had a pretty damned good year last year at HBF, no point moving him to cover a change that might well have occurred anyway, had we kept Young.

Even though it will only be NAB cup I think we will get a pretty good read on Baileys fortunes for the year.

If he cant take marks and win the pill around the ground in this stuff he is in real trouble.

Cant remember where i heard it but i dont think we are taking the NAB cup seriously.

I think we should be looking the nab cup as a means for making sure we hit the ground running come Round 1.

Whether that means we hit it hard or take it easy, I don't know. So long as we're pretty well prepared for Rounds 1-7, I really don't care what we do pre-season.

savagelunchbox I agree with you, I also think Suckers instead of Birch, I think it's better having Birch behind the ball cause they handball back & he can run & carry, Suckers doesn't have this pace... Suckers has such a dangerous foot I even told him this yesterday that he better keep that foot right for the season. He can hurt oppositions by either pin pointing a pass to someone or a sweet hail-mary at the goals! =D

I just don't think the players/coaches are fair dinkum and the round robin first round is a disgrace. If they were actually playing for something, like balls in the end of year draft lottery (just an example made up on the spot), then it would interest me a little more.

They are practice matches. We'll have plenty to be invested in during the season.

Wouldn't mind seeing us play two pretty different teams. Get some combination of young guys and mature guys in the same areas.

Assume injured are Hodge, Woody, Whitey, Lewis, Ossie, Bosley and Franklin.

Assume managed and hence won't play, Rioli, Goo and Burgers.

Team 1
FF: Puopolo - Roughead - O'Brien
HF: Breust - Gunston - Frank
Ce: Hill - Mitchell - Smith
HB: Birchall - Schoey - Cheney
FB: Suckling - Lake - Kelly

Ru: Hale
RR: Shiels
Ro: Anderson

I/C: Lowden, Ellis, Savage, Grimley, Simpkin...

Team 2
FF: Breust - Hale - Gunston
HF: Wanganeen - Roughead - Puopolo
Ce: Savage - Hallahan - Smith
HB: Birchall - Spangher - Stratton
FB: Suckling - Gibson - Litherland

Ru: Bailey
RR: Sewell
Ro: Simpkin

I/C: Ceglar, Shiels, Hill, Schoey, Brand...

Will be intersting to see who gets CHF without Buddy.

All about the younger blokes for mine and Frank (assuming that he is under 40).

Hoping these guys get a good run: Savage, Ellis, Frank, Hallahan, Kelly, O'Brien, Lowden, Smith, Anderson, Hill, Gunston, Shiels, Schoey, Litherland, Ceglar, Suckling...

Looking forward to seeing the younger guys too, including the mysterious Amos.

Preview WARNING - THIS THREAD DISCUSSES FOOTBALL - NAB Cup Discussion Here