Preview West Coast V St Kilda Sunday 4.40 AEST Domain Stadium

Surely Lonie and Minchington can't survive, they've been passengers too many times.

Quite a few people were calling for Lonie to be recalled after playing a good game in the VFL and he just produced the same form from before he was dropped, he needs a decent spell in the VFL now.

If Sinclair is fit then surely he comes back in and I wouldn't mind seeing us pick another tall, either Lee or Goddard in defence or McCartin up forward.

Umps will kill us

That goes without saying at Boobiaco.

i hope not, membrey is playing really well and mccartin gives the opposition to much run out of the backline

I think you are right. They don't want to lose run so they won't want to pull a smaller player for him and members form is currently too good to consider dropping him. I think Lonie is probably the most vulnerable but he did some good stuff when the game was in the balance to redeem himself a bit. Robbo might need to find fitness in the twos so Murdoch sounding like the most likely inclusion but not sure if there is a place for him. He's pretty slow and doesn't provide heaps of run for his size and more like a Membery third tall or undersized key back ideally.

We do seem to be on the right side of the injury count this year. We have by far the shortest injury list.
We also had a great run last year, a credit to the fitness blokes.

I do worry that we will have so many honourable losses against teams early when there are few expectations, then the injuries will mount and expose us when we play the easier teams! But that's just my Saints pessimism coming out.

Subiaco is very different to the MCG though in that the MCG is very wide (which we used to our advantage well against Collingwood, stretching them far and wide and opening up gaps in the middle and so-on), whereas Subi is a lot more narrow, but much longer and I don't see how that helps us at all really.

Depends, whilst yes we did stretch the Pies laterally there's nothing to suggest that we can't flip it as we intenbed to against North and simply propel it forward, where we did and have looked dangerous in link type plays from the back half and a longer ground lends itself to simply longer chains as opposed to a wider stretch.

The issue will be what it generally always is with us, in that the kicks to then stretch laterally need to be pinpoint, as otherwise we'll simply turn it over and be burned on the rebound. This would be why Membrey would be retained even if his form didn't really warrant it, as between him and Roo we have 2 lead up forward who could consistently double back and hit the scoreboard whilst leaving a Bruce/Paddy/Resting Ruck up forward for structure with smalls rotating through for relief and pressure, and arguably why Lonie will possibly stay in with Minch making way as Weller is negating and not exactly an attacking flanker atm and on his day Lonie offers more than Minch who would offer more in the guts.

Lonie needs to stay at Sandy for a few weeks. He was lucky to get the nod this week.

Left field: Shenton in to play defensive fwd. Has been doing well at Sandy.

I reckon Lonie is a bit of a Mini type role where his defensive qualities are the thing he gets picked for. The game he lost his spot in was where he failed to register a tackle stat. I think if you aren't scoring it's vital you pressure like hell. He's usually outstanding at pressuring the ball coming out of defence. He might get another chance after he seemed to pick up late game when the game was in the balance. Shents was very good at Sandy and that forward role.

Need to win the midfield and Hickey needs to break even in the ruck.

Our passing to our forwards must be better as Sheppard has been pretty good for the eagles this season i think and he will intercept us if we make mistakes
Hickey's the least of our worries. You're right about the entries though but I can't see too many changes so the current culprits will have to improve...and they can.

Lonie needs a meet and greet with one Stevie Milne. Milney always bobbed up with a goal or two even in a quiet game.

If he could play like he did against Port in Round 1 he'd be a ripper.

Out:

Minch. I love him but all signs pointing to a delisting come seasons end. Can't make that jump to the AFL standard and isn't a young guy any more.

Lonie. Just needs more time to compose himself and not get ahead of himself. Pressure seemed good on the weekend just needs to keep getting on those score involvements

In:

Sincs. Only missed through slight injury needs to come back as his polish is brilliant.

Paddy. Need a foil for Bruce if he's getting triple teamed all day and he's had his time out

Tuesday:
Going early and i will probably change it as the week goes on.
Sinc and Eli in
Lonie and meatball out

Could see a big body get the nod = Paddy to fix up some of that double teaming on Bruce, like we saw against North.

We will see how some of the boys are traveling later in the week.

Funny that the discussion is tending towards the whimsical here at the moment.

West Coast's backline don't play on their opponents, they zone up. Is it worth considering Paddy, Skunk, Bruce & Rooey in the same side? BTW, Membrey has 8 goals from 2 games this year.

Does Roberton spoil the balance? Gilbert's last fortnight down back has been excellent. Persevering Saint waits for the meltdown. ;)

Sinclair is pretty close to automatic best 22. But is it better to go with the better outside runner in Templeton?

On last week I can see the improvement coming slowly with Gresham, but what's wrong with saying to him "go back to Sandy and knock the door down"? Lonie had more better moments than Minchington. Neither are kicking goals at the moment, but the big blokes are (Riewoldt, Bruce and Membrey have combined for 40 goals this year from 16 games, all scoring in every game they've played).

Funny that the discussion is tending towards the whimsical here at the moment.

West Coast's backline don't play on their opponents, they zone up. Is it worth considering Paddy, Skunk, Bruce & Rooey in the same side? BTW, Membrey has 8 goals from 2 games this year.

Does Roberton spoil the balance? Gilbert's last fortnight down back has been excellent. Persevering Saint waits for the meltdown. ;)

Sinclair is pretty close to automatic best 22. But is it better to go with the better outside runner in Templeton?

On last week I can see the improvement coming slowly with Gresham, but what's wrong with saying to him "go back to Sandy and knock the door down"? Lonie had more better moments than Minchington. Neither are kicking goals at the moment, but the big blokes are (Riewoldt, Bruce and Membrey have combined for 40 goals this year from 16 games, all scoring in every game they've played).
Nah man, I'm with you on Gilbert. Been fabulous these last few weeks. And I reckon if there are moments where he can be released from the backline against the Eagles, he'll love running through the midfield on Subi.

I would still like to see Bruce down back for extra bulk and agility, as he is not working wonders in the forward line.. or bring Lee in- I reckon Fisher and Dempster will get caught out and need help against WCE.
We lacked an X-factor in our forward line against North, and that was Sinclair, so if fit, he comes in for Lonie. Not sure if Armo is OK, but if he doesn't come up, then Murdoch or Eli, though I reckon Murdoch has a stronger body and is a great kick, compared to running power of Eli. If Roo doesn't come up, then Paddy comes in.
It may mean we only win by a few goals rather than six or seven.