What’s up with Cripps?

There is no risk of the injury getting worse so the due diligence has been done. If he had checked out, he wouldn’t be playing to jeopardise his worth. I love beast and proud that he captains our club
This is laughable. That's not how injuries work, and anyone who has played sports knows it,

Maybe the back won't get worse, but what about everything else that is put under more strain as a result? That includes the mental strain of having to deal with it while being captain and knowing you can't go 100%. And the pressure it outs on others in the team.

Against Essendon there were times it was hisnryrn to run defensively and he just didn't go. Not 'went slowly and got beaten' but hwere he simply stopped. You can't defend like that. His tram mates can't cover his rotation, and particularly can't do so when it is in fits and spurts.

My original comment included a disclaimer that injury could be playing a part. I was merely vocalising some of my observations (something that tends to get frowned upon around here if it doesn't fall in line with the group think). I'm not fussed about being right or wrong, just thinking out loud. In my comment that you quoted here, I didn't even need to refer back to my previous comments, but I was happy to admit a mistake.
"Obscure my own effort"? I was highlighting it and falling on my sword.
You need to stop appointing yourself as the doyen of all that is right or wrong around here. You don't need to call people out on pedantic bullshit.
I wouldn't let it worry you mate

Teague saying Cripps does not have a fractured back? And that he had some back issue earlier in the season but not so now.

Where did the fractured back news come from?

From “sources”.

Playing injured can be good for the old team spirit, however the longer the player cannot perform the harder the task is for his team mates to pick up the slack. This can cause, for want of a better word, resentment and an unwillingness to cover the deficiency on field. If it is your captain then you would internalise the “resentment” but adhere to team ethos externally. So when pressure is applied on field, say when the opposition has a run on, then consciously or subconsciously the resentment causes a 5-10% drop in performance.
Another problem attached to your captain playing injured is that it can demonstrate a lack of trust in the team to win in his absence and the club continuing to play him does the same thing.
Admittedly these are fairly negative consequences of a nightly respected young man actions.
We could carry him in a team that wasn’t carrying players with other debilitating injuries.
God, I hope we flog Melbourne.

Thought he moved a bit better this week, still out of form though which made some of his decisions very perplexing such as that long hand pass to nobody.

He played a lot more within his limits though and looked to dish it off more.

Should the Carlton MC consider giving Setters/Stocker/Kennedy a go as No1 inside mid. I’m not 100% sold myself but a case is building to at least try a 4 week period.

This consideration is based purely on Cripps struggling and the stalled development of Kennedy, Stocker and Setterfield being held back in other roles which don’t suit. It is not the fact they will be better, it is about giving them a chance to show they are better given Cripps 18 month sample size of form. Most indicators show Cripps going backwards for some time. The 3 players in question aren’t first or second year players so could show up.

This is not a troll topic as Cripps has carried us and earnt the tickets. But outlined below some key stats does have me worried.

Case against Cripps in 2021 (footywire stats):
  • Cripps is ranked number one in the league for clangers (6 a game is a lot)
  • Cripps is ranked number 6 in the league for frees against (given most of these are in middle, they lead to inside 50s so it is important)
  • Cripps is ranked a lowly 201 in metres gained (not great versus peers for a key midfield trait)
  • Cripps is arguably the slowest mid in the league when more than ever speed is required in midfield transition
  • Carlton is one of the worst teams in giving up scores from transition which points towards our mids. Can Cripps catch anyone at all on the spread?
  • The eye test is Cripps has changed over the last 3 seasons from high success rate of get ball then handball successfully to target. To now, get ball, and then 50% failure of run/twist/turn/fall over/miss target.
  • Cripps is ranked 110 for goal assists and around 160 for goals. Not great vs midfield peers.
  • Cripps is currently averaging 24 disposals a game which is very low given he has most average time on ground compared to midfield peers . If you reduce his time on ground to the average for a peer mid, he would struggle for 20 possessions. Of his 24 disposals there is an average of 6 clangers out of those 24. Of those that are not clangers he still has poor disposal efficiency on top of clangers. I’d argue on the eye test that only 10 possessions at most a game are actually to clear advantage.
  • 2 further eye tests. Cripps is dump kicking the ball a lot. This leads to counter attack which the other clubs love and are pointing out in the media. The second eye test is the game has changed to fast transition open play. Without ball in hand and away from stoppage, he is incredibly slow.
  • If Cripps is injured. Rest him.
The case for Cripps
  • Cripps is still good in stoppage plays. Ranked 32 in tackles. Cripps is ranked 8th in centre clearances. Cripps is 24 in non centre clearance
  • Cripps is ranked 34th in score involvements
  • Don’t ever bloody question Cripps who has carried us
  • Cripps is injured, get off his back
  • Cripps will turn around and has enough tickets for us to persist with
  • Stocker, Setters and Kennedy are not a patch on Cripps so NOT ON MY LIFE
My Biased Analysis
  • In 2019, Cripps was 1st for all clearance categories. 11th for tackles. These two key indicators are dropping for him through to 2021. Because Cripps is so slow on the spread (linked to opposition transition goals) he needs to be incredibly good at clearances to offset that. He isn’t that good in 2021.
  • In 2019 Cripps became a powerhouse and a one man band for Carlton. I think since then all opposition teams set their structures against him specifically and now run off him. Because of a lack of variety, their stoppage set ups are beautifully designed against him as he is the constant threat.
  • I think with the combo of Ed and Cripps means opposition teams literally do analyse us and come to the conclusion that it is not the end of the world if Carlton win stoppages because of disposal efficiency being so low, and clangers so high. We dump/clanger kick a lot. (Both Ed/Cripps are high offenders)
  • Teague should allow Cripps to rest/reset. Others should be shown faith in aside from Cripps. The match committee is willing to play hardball on Kennedy and say ‘you are not doing enough to get in and Cripps is in your way’. So they are happy to be direct with Kennedy and slap him down. It shouldn’t be too much to be direct with Cripps when all KPIs are screaming out that he is struggling.
  • Our club is soft on Cripps right now and soft on a few others. Note: If he is injured, bloody rest him.
  • There is something to be said for the inside mid role creating a player. It becomes an easier task for the likes of Setters, Stocker, Kennedy if you just say “see ball get ball” (a la Tom Mitchell). Chase/Tackle someone else with ball. With that role, all three of stockers/Setters/Kennedys possession counts would go up. The test is about whether any of these three can come up with more than about 10 possessions a game that go to advantage. And can they chase going the other way to put on implied pressure on their midfield transition kicker.
  • I’m talking about a 4 week trial and a rest for Cripps. Then more analysis. The stats above are a little soul destroying.

If they must play Patty then play him forward (personally I'd rest him but club would have done so already if they were going to)..

Play Setters on the inside. Give Setters 5-8 minutes a quarter rest where you put Cripps into his normal regular spot.

But what about his kicking Wick?

At worst Cripps is Levi. At best he's a target who can open things up there while adding midfield traits.

The news Cripps has agreed to a four year deal on average to good money is a great result for the club. Most would have tried to get a longer deal and probably more cash.

Is a fantastic bloke and a great footballer and we are very lucky he is a Blue.

The news Cripps has agreed to a four year deal on average to good money is a great result for the club. Most would have tried to get a longer deal and probably more cash.

Is a fantastic bloke and a great footballer and we are very lucky he is a Blue.

Reckon he would have got well paid in his last contract when we had crap loads of cap room and front ended plenty of deals

If you asked me in 2018 or 2019 what Cripps was worth, I would have said $900,000-$1M, the way he is playing now, a lot less, in saying that, if the talk coming out is true, that he’s re-signed on modest coin, this will have a really positive effect on the playing group and sets an example that, we must take unders to stick together.

What’s up with Cripps?