Analysis Whipping Boys - 2023 edition

Just as your moniker suggests.

You post is in equivalency to the sound of one hand clapping……

Not too sure what the other hand is doing. But your vision is being impaired and you can’t see the forest from the trees….

Especially if you’re searching for Grasshoppers.

Whipping is not simply bloodletting by the ignorant. It is an artform, the wonderous fusion of one hand and a whip, delivering a subtly timed reminder to the crittur in question, that this is the moment to pull out the finger. That explains your hearing issues.

well there's more than one way to skin the cat that you're herding....

i also like the rant rooted in the passion that only a pie fan can bring to a thread. The explosion of emotion so powerful that it destroys anything that stands before it. The rant in the game day thread......Maybe we're not seeing many at the moment because we're winning, but they will return and the players that have let down the club with their non-mongrel behaviour, will pay the price....

I think the game day threads are letting us down. Too much happiness there, too many posters agreeing and being nice to each other, only arguing about yet another free kick being awarded to us.

And the whipping of WHE on repeat, on repeat, on repeat. What will we all do when he’s finally dropped? What a sad and empty future we face. Staring into the abyss…

I think the game day threads are letting us down. Too much happiness there, too many posters agreeing and being nice to each other, only arguing about yet another free kick being awarded to us.

And the whipping of WHE on repeat, on repeat, on repeat. What will we all do when he’s finally dropped? What a sad and empty future we face. Staring into the abyss…
You're missing the point. Our whipping has made them better. We've just got to keep whipping.

Another great personal milestone was achieved last week that has gone completely unrecognised. We are too busy whipping this great man and need to take time to recognise his contribution to our great game.

WHE is now the AFL/VFL all time games record holder for players with a hyphenated surname, surpassing David Rhys-Jones who oddly shares nothing in common with him except the hyphen and being at the complete other end of the mongrelness spectrum.

Another great personal milestone was achieved last week that has gone completely unrecognised. We are too busy whipping this great man and need to take time to recognise his contribution to our great game.

WHE is now the AFL/VFL all time games record holder for players with a hyphenated surname, surpassing David Rhys-Jones who oddly shares nothing in common with him except the hyphen and being at the complete other end of the mongrelness spectrum.
Even though he was a blue, it's impossible to not appreciate Rhys-Jones's unique combination of skillful ability to play footy and incredibly heightened mongrel.

It's a sad day for the Hyphens of the world to see that level of mongrel get usurped by a squib. However, let's face it, hyphens are soft toffs and WHE is their ideal poster child. They probably hated Rhys-Jones for being a real man who regularly punched blokes in the head.

And played for two Clubs ;)

Even though he was a blue, it's impossible to not appreciate Rhys-Jones's unique combination of skillful ability to play footy and incredibly heightened mongrel.

It's a sad day for the Hyphens of the world to see that level of mongrel get usurped by a squib. However, let's face it, hyphens are soft toffs and WHE is their ideal poster child. They probably hated Rhys-Jones for being a real man who regularly punched blokes in the head.

Who can forget the day he brutally head butted Dennis Banks in the fist.

we shouldnt celebrate the deeds of another hyphen. All I know is that our hyphen is a wimp....

I think it's important to point out that despite most hyphens being mongrelless wimps, it is possible to rise above that and become the kind of thug we want, as shown by Rhys-Jones. Thus we should never excuse Will's wimpishness on his hyphen. It's deeper than that - he's just a pathetic wimp. Let's no longer let him hide behind the hyphen.

As some of you are probably aware, I am a highly educated person who has published a number of academic papers on sports related issues.

I wanted to address the supposed negative aspects of the game-day thread.

Concept of Catharsis - Why we vent and rant
  1. To make ourselves feel better. Catharsis is the idea that diverting negative emotions to less aggressive actions will reduce pent-up of aggression. It is considered an old concept that we can trace back to being mentioned by Aristotle and into the theories of Sigmund Freud. Research has demonstrated time and time again that ranting and venting makes us feel better.
  2. Ranting and Venting assists with aggression. I bet you also believe that if we can release our negative emotions in a reasonably harmless way, and then the likelihood that we will increase aggression might decrease. But you would be wrong.......Ranting and venting assists aggression and facilitates mongrelness. In fact, psychology shows that ranting to be an ineffective way of decreasing aggression. This research by Bushman, Baumeister, and Stack (1999) showed that participants who engaged in cathartic activities actually did not help lessen their aggression— and the opposite occurred. This was more reinforced by a study that revolved around predicting that countries that are currently participating in wars would show less domestic aggression. (Bauer, Cassar, Chytilová & Heinrich, 2014).
  3. Ranting and venting assists in team building. In the longer term, ranting will render you dependent on others, and this will assist in making bonds with other ranting individuals.
The dangers with dealing with footy rationally.

Some people scoff at ranting and venting but dealing with losses rationally has a negative impact on the fan or is just plain ridiculous. Consider these points around what psychology has to offer::
  1. Acting rationally can assist in acceptance and recognition of the situation: In positive psychology training, having a good perspective of the things that you can control can help you shift your focus off negativities. But I ask you, how can meekly accepting a loss be an advantage?
  2. Relaxation and calming practice: Taking a walk, going for a massage, listening to music can calm a person down but what good is that?.
  3. Finding your peace: Slowing down, or sitting quietly with your thoughts can supposedly benefit you. But I call that first step in becoming a wimp.
  4. Gauging the situation if it is worth your time: Are you kidding? Is being a pie fan worth it?
  5. Finding other distractions: When you’re done venting, try to take your mind of footy by doing non-aggressive activities like reading a book recording or by doing art. Please give me air….
  6. Counting to ten: A useless suggestion to pie fans who cant count.
  7. Changing routine: Start supporting the Premier League?. You're kidding me.
Ranting and Venting increases aggression and assists in cultivating mongrel behaviour. It assists pie fans to bond with other ranters. It is a positive force on our community.

You're missing the point. Our whipping has made them better. We've just got to keep whipping.

I’m certain someone, somewhere, said something about flogging a dead horse…..

The fear that is permeating out of some of you, is showing clear signs that your whips are failing. The strength of your cracking is becoming as limp and futile as one of WHE’s tackles.

And just like Superman’s kryptonite. The teams success has exposed the frailty that exists here. The fragility of egos that cling to the negative word for their own saving grace. And once there is no more negativity to cling to. All that’s left are shells……empty vacuous shells.

Straw-men……

The fear that is permeating out of some of you, is showing clear signs that your whips are failing. The strength of your cracking is becoming as limp and futile as one of WHE’s tackles.

And just like Superman’s kryptonite. The teams success has exposed the frailty that exists here. The fragility of egos that cling to the negative word for their own saving grace. And once there is no more negativity to cling to. All that’s left are shells……empty vacuous shells.

Straw-men……

lol...and so you choose positivity? how temporaneous of you...

"And once there is no more negativity to cling to." Let me play your theme song...

Straw-men……

Ah Ronny. Have you learnt nothing from history. How many civilisations must fall in the same way before lessons are learnt. Us heroic whippers have rightly been praised for our mighty victories - driving out the woke, the toff and all those spuds. We're now on the verge of prosperity. It's no time to neglect and scorn the mighty army of whips that have led us so close to the promised land. For us to fully prosper, there are still battles to be fought and victories to be had against the squib, the pasty one and the big moronic blonde. And then if victory occurs, it's still not a time to neglect the army of whips. Armies of wokes, pasty rangas, spuds and squibs are lined up in the future looking to bring down our prosperity.

Keep your whips strong Ronny. We need you more than ever. Continue to seek out plant based milk consumption, woke views, rangas, squibs and spuds and continue to whip the shit out of them all. You, more than all of us, are born to whip. Whip it Ronny. Whip it good.

Ah Ronny. Have you learnt nothing from history. How many civilisations must fall in the same way before lessons are learnt. Us heroic whippers have rightly been praised for our mighty victories - driving out the woke, the toff and all those spuds. We're now on the verge of prosperity. It's no time to neglect and scorn the mighty army of whips that have led us so close to the promised land. For us to fully prosper, there are still battles to be fought and victories to be had against the squib, the pasty one and the big moronic. And then if victory occurs, it's still not a time to neglect the army of whips. Armies of wokes, pasty rangas, spuds and squibs are lined up in the future looking to bring down our prosperity.

Keep your whips strong Ronny. We need you more than ever. Continue to seek out plant based milk consumption, woke views, rangas, squibs and spuds and continue to whip the s**t out of them all. You, more than all of us, are born to whip. Whip it Ronny. Whip it good.

I think he's suffering from a case of euphoria...it will pass

Geesuss, what a page. For a moment I thought my work was done, enlightment for the masses kinda thing. Next moment Markfs treatise on everything. I know a lot of you wondered why I spent 3 months living on a sand dune drinking my own pee. Truth is that has been preferable to what people call water outside of Tassie. But I did have a vision that markfs might have something worthwhile to hear. Finally we have it. Then I come upon Ronnie's mess, greater than even a pelican can regurgitate. Top it off we have a great match to look forward to, potential for many spuds.

Quick response, stay on the path folks, WHE will present for at least the next couple of games. Read markfs's treatise & raise one question - it's the least we can do. And Ronnie. Think of a small rodent pooing all over a plain only to discover where elephants actually poo. No doubt Ronnie will learn to poo where they should one day.

Geesuss, what a page. For a moment I thought my work was done, enlightment for the masses kinda thing. Next moment Markfs treatise on everything. I know a lot of you wondered why I spent 3 months living on a sand dune drinking my own pee. Truth is that has been preferable to what people call water outside of Tassie. But I did have a vision that markfs might have something worthwhile to hear. Finally we have it. Then I come upon Ronnie's mess, greater than even a pelican can regurgitate. Top it off we have a great match to look forward to, potential for many spuds.

Quick response, stay on the path folks, WHE will present for at least the next couple of games. Read markfs's treatise & raise one question - it's the least we can do. And Ronnie. Think of a small rodent pooing all over a plain only to discover where elephants actually poo. No doubt Ronnie will learn to poo where they should one day.
I'll be honest with you. Mark's post was too long, contained numbers, and no obvious whipping in the first two lines, so I didn't bother reading it. My only question is what the **** was he talking about? Did he get stuck into the squib, the ranga or the moronic blonde bloke?

I'll be honest with you. Mark's post was too long, contained numbers, and no obvious whipping in the first two lines, so I didn't bother reading it. My only question is what the * was he talking about? Did he get stuck into the squib, the ranga or the moronic blonde bloke?

No problemo. I didnt read it either. I cut and pasted it from an old psychology site and just put "not" in front of every verb.... It's an old uni trick. I thought the referencing was pretty impressive.

As for whipping, the wave will come through tomorrow night...the usual suspects are going to let us down as they always do. The start of the season has been splendid for raising expectations. David King is pumping us up more than he is pumping his own stomach up with party pies....the pin will come soon enough

I miss the good old days when we still won, but half the team was mentioned in here, when we could glorious whip then all to our hearts content

I'll be honest with you. Mark's post was too long, contained numbers, and no obvious whipping in the first two lines, so I didn't bother reading it. My only question is what the * was he talking about? Did he get stuck into the squib, the ranga or the moronic blonde bloke?
Did it contain numbers? I thought I'd leave the reading to you mob. I never read this thread: a prophet doesn't learn from the mutterings of their congregation. Markfs is right though, this is shaping to be a rich weekend. When the marchday thread is written by a unit like sidewise weeks before ya know its a fertile environment.