Who do we target in this years draft?

Well its not a bad option, is it? Get paid to play basketball and have a chance at millions of dollars while playing at a prestigious American college. Get a degree.

If the basketball doesn't work out, come back home (at age 21/22) to any AFL club you care to name who will pay you handsomely for the privilege of relearning football and hook you up with plenty of business contacts while you get your MBA.

Then even if you turn out to suck at both basketball AND football, you've got a bachelor degree from a prestigious American college of your choosing, an MBA, and a shitload of business contacts in the Australian city of your choosing, with no debt to your name.

Gold Coast would want to be putting gold bricks in my Christmas stocking to convince me that that isn't a better option than hanging around Broadbeach carrying a new AFL side.

Anyone think he might be hedging to see who drafts him? Maybe he is not keen on GC, or maybe West Coast/Richmond etc. Might be hoping he falls to the Crows, as in that interview Rowe said the Crows recruiting manager likened him to a cross between Riewoldt and Carey.

Well with the scenario I mentioned above as his second option, I wouldn't be too surprised if Gold Coast were even now in talks with the Cows about trading pick 3 to them.

Just to clarify the rule that we got Daniel Bass to the club and could get Day to the club if he goes off to the US for 3 or 4 years and comes on to the rookie list. Bass (and Day) being an Australian citizen, weren't considered international players because they were playing another sport outside Australia. There are a whole lot of rules about international scholarship players, ie non citizens.(See section 34 of player rules.)

AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE PLAYER RULES As at May 2010

1.1 Definitions

International Player: a Player who is not an Australian Citizen and has not to
the satisfaction of the General Manager – Football Operations, lived in
Australia for any substantial period of time prior to his inclusion on a Club’s
Rookie List.

21.2.4 Player Eligibility for Rookie List

A Player is eligible to be included on the Rookie List of a Club only if
the Player satisfies the age requirements under Rule 21.2.5 and the
Player:

(a) who nominated for and was eligible for but was not selected at
a Draft Selection Meeting; or

(b) has not been registered or played in an Australian football
competition for 3 years immediately before his inclusion on a
Rookie List; or

(c) is an International Player.

21.2.5 Age Requirements

(a) A Player must satisfy the following age requirements in order
to be included on a Club’s Rookie List:-

(i) Minimum Age
A Player must have attained the age of 18 years or will
attain the age of 18 years on or before the 31st day of
December immediately following the most recent National
Draft Selection Meeting.

(ii) Maximum Age
A Player must be under the age of 23 years as at the 31st
day of December immediately following the most recent
National Draft Selection Meeting. Where a Player attains
the age of 23 years after the 31st day of December, a
Club may retain such Player on its Rookie List until the
completion of the relevant season.

(b) Notwithstanding Rule 21.2.5(a)(ii), where a Club includes an
International Player on its Rookie List, such Player may be 24
years old for the final year of his Contract of Service.

(c) A Club may include two Players on its Rookie List who are
older than the maximum age set out in Rule 21.2.5(a)(ii)
during the 2010, 2011 and 2012 Football Years.
If that Player
has previously played a Home and Away Match or Finals
Series Match, any amount he is paid in excess of the 1st year
third round draft selection Player payment will be included in
the Club’s Total Player Payments.

AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE PLAYER RULES As at May 2010

From those highlights, he's a runner with a good motor, can find the ball well, but while he racks possessions up he sells his teammates into trouble a fair bit in avoiding being tackled.

On tac cup future stars they did a first round mock draft.They did only 2selection for Gc
1. David Swallow (GC)
3. Sam Day (GC)
4. Dyson Heppell (WCE)
6. Tom Lynch (Rich)
8. Shaun Atley (Ess)
10. Jed Lamb (Bris)
12. Jack Darling (Melb)
14. Scott Lycetts (Adel)
16. Josh Caddy (Port)
17. Lucas Cook (NM)
19. Jayden Pitt (Haw)
20. Matthew Watson/ Seb Tape (Frem)
21. Patrick Karnezis (Swans)
22. Mitch Wallis (WB)
23. Billie Smedts (Geel)
24. Aaron Young (StK)
25. Dion Prestia (Coll

Hey guys I come in peace! Just want to know is there any truth to the rumours that Danyle Pearce will be traded, possibley to the Swans? BTW the crows suck!!!:D

Josh Caddy, #28 Vic Metro. 186cm 81kg
Watching those `highlights', how many times did his possession actually end up cleanly with a teammate? He likes running back and handpassing to a teammate running the other way, and that seems to be his best form of disposal.

caddy would be good for us. i think we have boak (inside outside/magnet), sal ( in/out) cassisi (in/tag) pearce (out) cornes (out/tag) hartlett (out/ class) gray (in/out class) rodan (in/out) .

ild think we need 2 or 3 more mids to make us a great midfield. ideally 1 line breaker or class user, and a real hard body inside mid. we have a few mids that can play inside, but only boak and cassisi are the real fight in the pack types where gray and rodan and find and break types. i think moore could always develop into a defender / run and carry midfielder, and pittard is known as a class user of the ball so we have some talent there that may fill needs. just that fight in the pack type im talking about.

caddy matches that description but i dont see us going for a vic metro kid. hallahan works and is vic country. parker is a vic country boy as well, and is in/out. josh green from what i heard is a real nuggetty type mid, gets lots of the ball in close. expected to go in the 18-26 range. love to see us get a pick in that range and get him. tassie boy. prestia is described as rodan but with a 60m kick. 2nd round pick. reece conca (wa) also a good mid to look at around pick 20-30ish. rohan bewick (wa mid) or sam gray (sa)with late picks.

get z.fitzgerald, j.solly, luke mitchell as late draft pickups ( all kp). lycett if available but 90% sure he would be gone by our 1st.

if as kevin sheehan said on future stars we go flanker like smedts we must target contested mid with 2nd pick. ideally target picks 20-32 that we can trade for. teams with late 1st rounders like saints may part with them. i can see us with a chance then to get quality players like conca,green, solly,presti with them.

Hey guys I come in peace! Just want to know is there any truth to the rumours that Danyle Pearce will be traded, possibley to the Swans? BTW the crows suck!!!:D

Played the last 4 rounds with a broken jaw because he wanted to do his bit to help Primus out. Not the actions of a guy about to jump or be pushed.

i agree porthos his speed and disposal worry me. he is elite in winning contested ball, which is what we need at our club, but can he do that and not be a liability in other areas? my first worry was thomson, who could win it as well. that and fact he is vic metro is why i might lean towards hallahan.

b.smith>lycett/polec>>hallahan>>parker>>>>>caddy. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>flanker. having said that as far as smedts goes sounds like hell of a talent, and could be a line breaking mid, but ild rather a true mid at this stage.

Among the mature agers in the SANFL I'd have a look at Scott Lewis from the Eagles. 24yo, has a bit of pace, good size mid (185cm, 88kg), goes in hard, has won a reserves Magarey (2008) at Glenelg and finished =5th this year in the senior MM. At least he's not playing reserves.;)

I think "a bit of pace" is a little flattering. Not too hard to look a bit quick when you're surrounded by Powell, Cicollela, Makenzie et al.

It's about the only box I wouldn't tick on his checklist.

I think "a bit of pace" is a little flattering. Not too hard to look a bit quick when you're surrounded by Powell, Cicollela, Makenzie et al.

It's about the only box I wouldn't tick on his checklist.

Dreadies add 5 kph. :eek:

Tac cup should be on after the footy show if anyone is interested.

Lol just finished watching.They had a list management thing with who are in the Premiership window who are knocking on the door and
the best developing sides.Had Crows knocking on the door.
There development sides they rated
Kagaroos
gold coast
essendon
port adelaide
west coast(in that order)

What an absoulute joke.We have a much better defence then all those sides and our midfeild isnt too bad either lol

what a f*@#ing joke. how are we as a developing list behind essendon? they are about 10 players short of a top 4 team. any dons fan will tell you their strength is their talls, particularly defenders but ild still rate ours much much better. they also have heaps of fast running players but none of them are any good at either finding the ball themselves or doing anything with it once someone gives it to them. i dont want to seem like im bashing them, there is talent there to work with but they are just at the point of really starting to build a list and are nowhere near us in those terms. just shows these journos in vic have no frakin idea and do no research outside their state.

i see our side, not counting injuries to harts gray and sal* as being one ruck, a good strong contested key forward, an inside mid and maybe one more mid away from being a premiership contender. * obviously never have all 3 not injured so really need another one or 2 players who can step up. i think 5 players is it. and some of those may come from our list already. then just some depth players.

ild agree with that macca. although i think even melb are debatable whether they would be above us in terms of a developing list. bruce, green were their best this year at 30+ and jamar is what 27? but if alot of the young'ins come on as expected they should be very successful. richmond have a terrible defence. really need everything to go their way re , griffiths , post, vickory, gourdis and astbury. they need them to build their spine and history shows you need 70+ games into your defenders before they really start to reliably play their best.

i really see us as having alot of the hardest pieces of the puzzle already done which is the spine all settled. i only think we need a replacement for tredders ( not necessarily that good), and a ruck. midfielders are the easiest to find, come on sooner so less development time, and there is less risk of a career threatening injury before they come good and then spending years trying to get another.

Who do we target in this years draft?