Preview who's in, who's out discussion - Hawks vs Port

Wow, very interesting to see how Smith goes on five days break, given he played for Box Hill last Sunday. Puopolo was a lay-down misere to play after not playing for the Stangers, but I'm a bit surprised the club has pulled the trigger on Smith.

I imagine that the club will not risk Rioli's hamstring away from the MCG, so I think we might see Smith and Puopolo in for Rioli and Bruce (both injured) and Ellis keeps his spot. Smith will be the substitute.

Wow, very interesting to see how Smith goes on five days break, given he played for Box Hill last Sunday. Puopolo was a lay-down misere to play after not playing for the Stangers, but I'm a bit surprised the club has pulled the trigger on Smith.

I imagine that the club will not risk Rioli's hamstring away from the MCG, so I think we might see Smith and Puopolo in for Rioli and Bruce (both injured) and Ellis keeps his spot. Smith will be the substitute.

What about the forgotten man Osbourne?

As far as I've been able to determine, the last time Hawthorn played two players on debut was round 1, 2010, against Melbourne. The two debutants? Jarrod Kayler-Thomson and Carl Peterson. Hawthorn prevailed 17.15.117 to Melbourne 8.13.61. K-T and Peterson both had 17 possessions each and Peterson kicked a goal.

ETA - Rhan Hooper also made his Hawthorn debut in that game, but he'd previously played AFL with the Lions.

Very happy with this news - will inject some much needed pace and hunger into the side, and maybe with all these newer players out there thoughts of 'hoodoos' and 'bogey teams' will be minimised.

Wow, very interesting to see how Smith goes on five days break, given he played for Box Hill last Sunday.

Yup, reckon this would have to be the case given he played on Sunday. Hopefully he steps up to the challenge.

about time. need to give them consecutive games and blood them. right decision moving forward. will inject pace and some enthusiasm amongst the group. surprised lisle still hasn't been given a shot yet. thought he would've been in line before smith.

Great news, Good luck lads hope this is the start to a wonderful career with the Hawthorn Footy Club.

Best part is, every player has something to prove this week with the impending return of cyril next week. Every single fringe player should hopefully be on notice.

Let's get the win and kick-start our season again.

also just as an idea, why don't they give litherland a go in the backline. he's got good size about him, seemed to read the play nicely in the nab cup. i thought he and schneider were extremely impressive and could add something to the team. it's all about giving them opportunties, especially against poorer opposition like port. let them learn the craft instead of hampering their progress. if you don't give them opportunities, then they turn out like Mitch Thorp, Beau Dowler, Beau Muston etc... or they seek opportunities elsewhere like Josh Kennedy and i think we can all say he's having a great career at Sydney with McGlynn.

Only a 5 day turnaround for Smith, would have to be the sub.

Looking forward to seeing Pup dominate!

From those who watch the development squad... they have said litherland isn't up for it yet. Players do need to earn their spot in the line up.

This is how I think the conversation played out.

Clarkson: "Hey Isaac, hows it goin. Listen we are thinking of playing you this week, but we know you played Sunday. How do you feel? If your not up to it then we can wait"

Isaac: "Sh*t yeah!! I feel fantastic clarko!! no worries from me! Ready to go!!"

~Waits for Clarko to turn his back then limps off to his locker

I'm 20 and its sometimes a struggle to back up playing saturday to saturday in the low standard league I play in. But Sunday to Friday? Thats crazy.

I just hope that smith is actually feeling fine and ready to play. If I had just lost my leg from the knee down and somebody offered me the chance to play for hawthorn I would just tape a stick to my stump and pull my socks all the way up to play.

Best of luck to the new boys!! Hope this game is the first of many in the brown and gold.

To be honest all the box hill watchers are right Smith has been flashy at box hill. I wouldn't say he has been consistent. Pops on the other hand deserves his shot. Litherland just played his first game in the Box Hill seniors this weekend. Has some toe and can run but turned the ball over. Smith comes in as a sub there is no doubt he will not play the whole game. It is interesting that he got a gig ahead of others.

Makes you wonder if a similar type of player is being dropped.........