Banter Why do you hate Carlton?

Anyone who leaves a game before the final siren deserves everything they get. It's just weak. And I absolutely hated seeing it today.

Worst example I've seen recently was all the Geelong supporters filing out of Kardinia Park early when the Swans were beating them... bloody ungrateful. How much entertainment and joy has that club given them at that location over the years, and they don't even have the conviction to stay there and cop the loss with their players. Total crap.

I hate carlton cause its 12 noon and im out the front of the precinct waiting for it to open when some car rolls up with we are the champions pumping on the stereo while he twirls a carlton scarf out the window. w***er.

If twirling a scarf makes you a w***er, Essendon must have a few!

Re the game, injuries really impact and you guys have had a few. I have always respected the way Essendon goes about its business. Plenty to look forward to if your an Essendon supporter. Let's hope for a Carlton v Essendon prelim next year at the 'G.

Anyone who leaves a game before the final siren deserves everything they get. It's just weak. And I absolutely hated seeing it today.

I remember back when I was 13, coming off of the flu as was my mother (who I attended games with). Carlton Vs Essendon. Essendon three or four goals up entering time on in the last quarter (just about) and looking dead certs that the game was in the books. As we'd been ill we decided to get back into the warmth of the car and drive home. We heard several roars from the crowd as we were leaving, certain that it was Essendon goals. Got to the car and was half way out the parking lot when the historic words "Kernahan, lines up for goal to win the game for Carlton....."

Never again. From that day on I stay at the stadium until the last Carlton, Storm or basketball player from the team that I support has left the arena win, lose or draw.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...n-essendon-final/story-e6frf9k6-1226134130271

Has a highlight of why Carlton fans were booing Watson. Nothing much in it - emotions and the contest got the better of him with a niggle at the interchange area with Carrazzo. Should not be looked at and he goes for it, it'd be disappointing. About a minute left in the clip. If it wasn't Essendon/Carlton or a final wouldn't receive boos.

Worst example I've seen recently was all the Geelong supporters filing out of Kardinia Park early when the Swans were beating them... bloody ungrateful. How much entertainment and joy has that club given them at that location over the years, and they don't even have the conviction to stay there and cop the loss with their players. Total crap.

Spot on. :thumbsu:

What makes our game so great is that I can go to an Essendon / Carlton game and sit with my mate who is an Essendon supporter. We can both support our teams, and, at the final siren, turn to each other, congratulate and commiserate. We are fortunate to be able to do that.

I have respect for Essendon. Like Carlton, they have a rich history and have enjoyed similar success.

On Sunday, I am hoping for a game that showcases the great game that AFL is. Two proud Victorian teams, head to head in a winner takes all game. It doesn't get any better (well maybe if it was a Grand Final). The best team on the day will win. If it's Essendon, I'll congratulate my mate and we'll have a few beers. That's what adults do!!!

Nice one mate, let's hope we keep this in our game forever but more importantly rather than your mate, for everyone who sits around you no matter who they support...This is such a beautitful part of our game that should never be lost...The good old fashioned banter and sledging...It makes a lot of peoples days...There is something special about having the guts to walk up to someone you don't know but have been having a bappackingsledging war for a couple of hours, then you are mates, till the siren blows to start the next game...I love this game..

When you're leaving in the third quarter, as many in my area were doing, those fans really don't deserve much. In fact, an Essendon supporter on my friend was abusing them more than any Carlton fan in my area was. Talking about jumping off ships like rats? That was his expression about your fans.

Last word from me - congrats on a very nice season. No one said you had a hope in hell of making it to the finals. Yeah, there was a lot of crap teams this year but you played some brilliant football. Given the number of injuries that derailed your season for a good month, month and a half you could have done what you did last year and no one could really have faulted you (look at the sympathy Freo are getting). I thought it showed a fair amount of hearts and guts to come back this season. Be proud of your boys. :thumbsu:

Yeah I hear you mate, I saw Carlton fans leaving the 1993 grand final in the second quarter after Mil Hanna was knocked out and we goaled...Some days you just have to stay and watch how it unfolds, no matter how much it churns up your guts....

this is going to be like acid on my tounge but here goes......

after the bone head carlton fan was driving round in his car through richmond playing we are the champions before the game my appentite was whet...i wanted blood!

as the game began i happened to be next to a real plonker. He was sitting next to his son and he had this real annoying trick. He was abusing me..but doing it in a way that i hated. He was telling me stuff through his son... he was saying to his son...you see son, hurley is not a star, he is overrated. See that heppel guy, he is another player who is orverrated by essendon people. He kept going on and on knowing i can hardly fire back with a 5 year old kid there!

i gave him a little mouth full after we kicked our third goal and he didnt give me even an aknowledgement.....then we capitulated and i had to sit next to him the entire game while he told his son how much more classy setanta is that carlilse, how they were toying with us, how judd always takes hangers.....

that poor kid! being filled with incorrect info! i wanted to call the anti social number on the score boards and get him put away for child abuse.

anyway...here is the hard bit..

well done carlton, you are a few years ahead of us and it shows.... i think you need to lose a few finals to feel the pain and get the motivation needed to win one. we arnt quite there yet and you are there. Make the most of it!

well played, you ran rings around us, we had no sturcture and you werew fitter and over lapping at will. Going coast to coast from a kick out really hurts when you are sitting in nose bleed and can see it all happening 30 seconds before it happens.

I hope thats the last time i have to congratulate carlton..i feel sick. :(

I'll be cheering so hard for West Coast next week. And it's not often I cheer for the eagles.

And yes it's total sour grapes. It will just be gold to see them put back in their place. I'm so sick of them STILL whinging how fourth place should rightfully have been theirs and not West Coast's. They finished 2.5 games adrift, seems pretty clear that they didn't deserve to be top four. Next week's result will expose that. Go eagles.

God I hate Carlton, and what is worse the days of them being our bitches has come to an end I reckon which burns inside.

1 draw and 3 losses (average margin 70 points) across our last 4 encounters says we have some work to do to catch up.

God I hope WCE take them to the cleaners next week and should the scum get up, they lose to Collingwood by 1 point from a dodgy free causing a goal after the siren in the prelim.

Every club's supporters doing it doesn't make it right. It's weak and a bad look.

One of my Ess. mates left the Anzac Day in 2009 (?) with 10 minutes to go with the Pies in control, only to hear the roars of the crowd when he was in the MCG car park and when turned the radio, he realised your boys had stolen an unlikely victory.

Actually I think he was more unhappy to miss the ending, than happy that the Bombers had got up !!! :rolleyes:

One of my Ess. mates left the Anzac Day in 2009 (?) with 10 minutes to go with the Pies in control, only to hear the roars of the crowd when he was in the MCG car park and when turned the radio, he realised your boys had stolen an unlikely victory.

Actually I think he was more unhappy to miss the ending, than happy that the Bombers had got up !!! :rolleyes:

I say suck shit to your mate - i was there and had my head in my hands at the 20min mark of the last...i thought we'd blown it. Yet the thought of walking out on my side with 10 mins to go never entered my head.

I don't really get people leaving early just because they think they can't win...to me going to the footy is all about seeing how a game unfolds across 4 quarters.

every team's supporters leave early. there was also a lot more essendon fans there yesterday than carlton as well so it was more noticable.

some carlton supporters beat the traffic early too, as the sting had gone out of the game early in the 3rd.

I have an Italian background so I'm comfortable saying this. I hate Carlton for all their Dago supporters. They bring a soccer pack mentality to football. The only thing missing are flares. There, I said it.

Based on the Reimers incident, and the St Kilda game, and a few other things I've seen in the past month, I'm pretty sure that Marc Murphy has become one of the serial actors/divers in the game. He's putting the Gusmeister to shame.

90% of my family barrack for them.
I have two relatives that played for them.
I am the only Essendon supporter in my entire family (3 brothers/3 sisters/6 uncles/4 aunties/42 cousins) and thus have to cop it off every single one of them.
They bought every good player.
I JUST HATE THEM.
BUNCH OF ***TS.

Please for the love of God show them up on Saturday night Essendon and I will build several Churches in your honour.

Hate em, hate everything about them.

Their arrogance, the fact that they tanked for three years to get Gibbs, Murphy and Kreuzer, the fact that they just 'bought' the best player in the competition (arguably).

OHHHHH DONT EVEN GET ME STARTED ON THEIR FANS, absolute bastards are so arrogant and think they know it all, the way the pricks celebrate at the games oh god oh god how much I hate them.

Everything that is bad in this world is Carlton's fault, wouldn't be surprised to find out they had something to do with the 'Just for Men' commercial that Luis Figo is in.

They're horrible, filthy and scummy top to bottom (bar the 3 good fans they may have)
Over the years I've kinda developed some respect for Collingwood, but haven't changed my opinion on Carlton and never will.

Loving the reasons to hate the scumbags. Great thread.
My main reason for hating them is simple. Walking out of the ground after yet another round 1 loss i was approached by a Carlton fan. He put his Carlton scarf around my neck, said (doesnt this look better than that shit Richmond jumper, proceeded to spit on my richmond jumper and said that Richmond are a shit excuse for a club and they may as well give Carlton this years flag because theyre clearly the best in the comp). So the reason i hate them is the sheer arrogance of the supporters. Stick it up em

Banter Why do you hate Carlton?