Will Minson sent off and reported in VFL for pushing an umpire - UPDATE: Appeal Successful

I hate the word sacrosanct being used when it comes to footy.

I also hate insipid and manic.

Barely brushed him on the way through, moral crusader Manwithnoname strikes again!

Had to be punished because you just can't touch the ump at all, but surely a fine would have been sufficient given the nature of the contact

So Paul Puopolo should have got a year for running into the umpire after coming through the banner?
http://www.afl.com.au/video?guid=742958&t=453-556

Or the umpire who ran into a injured Bruest should Bruest get a year for making contact with the umpire even though it wasn't his fault?
http://www.afl.com.au/video?guid=747710 at 6:26

sorry mate
links didn't work
just kept getting the mick outhouse sacking
I'm arguing about deliberate contact, not incidental, & because I don't remember them I can't respond to your question definitively with my answer.

giphy.gif

Umps can be sacrosanct, that's okay. Just fine the c*** for touching him. Doesn't need to miss four weeks of footy (let alone one) for something so incidental.

haha - "shove the umpire whilst he was running at speed" lol.

There's a job waiting for you at the Herald-Sun with that talent for concocting drama.
He deserved the weeks for the utter ****ing stupidity.

That is a disgrace. Common sense should prevail, it's not hard to differentiate if contact is aggressive/forceful to just a mild touch. Suspension should only occur if the contact is aggressive/threatening/intimidating.
What a disgrace.

low impact
looks innocuous
but it was deliberate contact with an umpire
my verdict: 1 year
bleat against me all you like, but the ump is sacrosanct IMO
how much do you hate it when soccer players run up to the ref & get in his face? I do & think it sends a bad message to the youth.
i prefer the rugby union way, where only the captain may address the ump & he is called Sir.
& no, I'm not an ump. I boo the maggots as much as anybody

'The ump is sacrosanct', sure, the red card probably would have been enough due to the piss weak nature of the incident.....

'Players with their heads over the ball are sacrosanct', sure, so how the f*ck has Jeremy Cameron got away with 3 instances of attempting to take blokes heads off whilst they are bent over in the last 2 years?

'The ump is sacrosanct', sure, the red card probably would have been enough due to the piss weak nature of the incident.....

'Players with their heads over the ball are sacrosanct', sure, so how the f*ck has Jeremy Cameron got away with 3 instances of attempting to take blokes heads off whilst they are bent over in the last 2 years?
Cameron should have gotten 2 weeks for the last one IMO
booze prevents me from remembering the others.
having written that, he didn't receive that sanction & for that I'm happy
as for players with heads over the ball, they should be protected, but sacrosanct is not the term I would use, nor what I have written about players with their head over the ball. I used that term to describe deliberate contact with umpires
protect the players with their head over the ball by all means & this includes not rewarding the duckers, but my argument is about the ump

4 weeks has to be a joke right? So Fyfe gets a fine for DELIBERATELY tripping another player with force, whilst we give 4 weeks for a pat on the back? Embarrassing.

I thought him getting sent off the ground was embarrassing enough as it was.

No, Fyfe got a fine for anticipating a (faked) kick, going for a low spoil, and having his legs in the wrong place when he ended up on the ground.

I reckon Will got 4 weeks not for what he did, but to punish Luke Beveridge for making a public comment. It just smacks of 'we'll show you'.

Will Minson sent off and reported in VFL for pushing an umpire - UPDATE: Appeal Successful