On more than one occasion, he straight lined the rolling/bouncing ball in congestion and took it one grab without fumbling. Similarly, his marking was cleaner than we’ve been used to.He was excellent, albeit in conditions that suited. It was a nice reminder that he does have AFL quality if he can fix up some of the deficiencies in his game.
It is one of the strong changes this year, moving defenders into defence.A natural defender, playing well in defence. I can't believe it.....
Reckon he needs to get his timing of being a bull at a gate and more tempo right. He is naturally a bull at a gate, which you do not want to take out of his game, but his fumbling and running under the ball in marking contests are a by product of this IMO. He just needs to get his calibration right of when to go 100% and when to ease off a little bit. The opposite of Riley Bonner.On more than one occasion, he straight lined the rolling/bouncing ball in congestion and took it one grab without fumbling. Similarly, his marking was cleaner than we’ve been used to.
Was really impressed with his first 40 minutes on Martin. Not sure why we changed that match-up during the middle phase of the game.
It is one of the strong changes this year, moving defenders into defence.
I thought Lachie showed huge potential as that 3rd tall. He has power, some pace, a good leap, very good mark, very good one on one today. Can do damage inside and not bad outside. Just needs to find a kicking boot.
A huge amount to work with. I hope he gets more games but with Jonas coming back, it will be difficult but not impossible to get games.
And I can't stand that W thing with the fingers. I assume it is some kind of TikTok or Instagram thing. Does he do a L for a loss? And he looks so smug. Just not a good look. I wish he would keep his head down. I guess it is the way now. Gloat on as many small victories as you can while you can.
I've always thought he was a good country lad but yeah, it is just not my thing. Just looking right down the barrel, yuck. It is the only thing I don't like about him. Everything else I can't wait for him to dominate.I
I don’t mind the W thing. He’s a 21 year old kid. A few weeks ago the players were asked what they enjoyed the most about game day and the usual keep everyone happy lines were delivered apart from one player who said what most kids would say on a Saturday arvo “playing footy with my mates”. That’s exactly who he is.
He’s a really good kid, speak to anyone from his area and they’ll tell you he was never a big head, he protected the smaller kids and he’s kept his mates.
He’ll stop doing the W thing when we stop winning. I get it that we don’t all like the same things from our players but just wanted to mention that he’s the furthest from smug you could be.
The problem with him being flexible or needing flexibility was not making a call on Jonas.Another example of “flexibility” being a negative rather than a positive. He’s finally showing something after playing in the position he was drafted to play.
There’s nothing more detrimental to a player’s development than not allowing them to settle in a position.
His kicking yesterday was a real weapon.He's shown composure that I didn't think he had
Defence. Defence is his best position.Has had an excellent fortnight.
I find him hard to place in the sense of I'm not sure what his best position is or what his ceiling is. Sometimes it feels like he'll be a good role player and cult hero but then sometimes he makes you think he could be better than that.