• Reilly O'Brien

• Josh Rachele

• James Rowe

• Harry Schoenberg

• Lachlan Sholl

• Brodie Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

Chayce didn’t have a lot of the ball, but was defensively sound most of the night, Port’s small forwards did nothing. He was also great under pressure in the last 10 minutes, worth persisting with.
Well not really ... he's lucky Mayes is such a spud.. missed 5 very gettable goals... and gave the free for the goal after the siren... he was the match loser for port

Crows very lucky... our top 5 or so players were very good all night... the rest were really crap imho... we stole the game playing very sh1t.

Watching the replay and it did seem as though Port were using the tactic of deliberately running close to the man taking the kick to try and manufacture a 50m penalty. If that is the case and they have obviously been instructed to do this and most likely been practising this at training.

What a weasel thing to use as a tactic by Ken, they should be focusing on coming up with a gameplan that can hold up for 4 quarters to win a game rather than worrying about trying to milk free kicks.

On the negatives, Billy Frampton was successfully able to con our coaches into thinking he's a defender by beating up on crappy SANFL forwards, often playing loose.

He was dead set lost out there and towelled up by a terrible key forward. He's 25, he doesn't have it, move on
Agree and with Murray no better, we know understand why Nicks went with Doedee as the second tall for 2020 and some of 2021

It's wins like last night - and the wins over Geelong and Melbourne last year - that show that Nicks was the right choice as coach for where the club was at in October 2019. There's a clear connection and desire to win. I don't think he will see the final fruits of his labour, and there are some question marks over some things (although he's been given a terrible overall squad profile) but he's the right man for now.

I just watched the last quarter again. I reckon I’m gonna watch it 20 times this season. Amazing stuff.

That kick from Dawson had no right to swing back the way it did. It’s like there was divine intervention to fu** the pear over.
I was right behind it and I thought it was always going in, don’t know why but did and did we scream like crazy. I’ve lost my voice and can barely talk

Watching the replay and it did seem as though Port were using the tactic of deliberately running close to the man taking the kick to try and manufacture a 50m penalty. If that is the case and they have obviously been instructed to do this and most likely been practising this at training.

What a weasel thing to use as a tactic by Ken, they should be focusing on coming up with a gameplan that can hold up for 4 quarters to win a game rather than worrying about trying to milk free kicks.
All teams do that to receive the handball, just need to follow your opponent on the correct side.

I wish we did it!

I'm not quibbling with that. Adelaide has given away a ridiculous number of 50m penalties in the last 2 weeks, due to stupidly poor discipline errors.

My point was that there if the umpires weren't blind mice, incapable of seeing blatant throws, then Adelaide would have been up by 3 goals at the final siren. There were 2x throws, both blatant and spotted immediately by the commentators, which resulted directly in Port goals. The first of those throws was 15m out from Adelaide's goal - it should have been a free to Adelaide, and a near certain goal; instead, the ball went straight to the Port forward line, resulting in a Port goal. It was a 12-pt turnaround, due to a horrible umpiring error.

You can argue about marginal calls, and I'd argue that there were a lot of those which went Port's way for the first 3 1/2 quarters too - but these weren't marginal, they were blatant throws which resulted in Port goals (and denied Adelaide a goal).
Agree.

I meant that with the poor umpiring in their favour and us gifting then two 50s (the Boak one sounded like a play on call) we were a four goal better side than them last night.

We had two momementum runs halted by umpire calls just as we got close.

When there were periods of game play without umpire intervention we dominated the game.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I just watched the last quarter again. I reckon I’m gonna watch it 20 times this season. Amazing stuff.

That kick from Dawson had no right to swing back the way it did. It’s like there was divine intervention to fu** the pear over.

I watched a video on youtube of Dawson's kick after the siren.

It was amazing how the crowd was riding the kick all the way home, then like almost deadly silence for a micro second as it was heading right, then a massive eruption of joy as the ball then deviated and went left.

On the TV you miss this because the commentary is masking the crowd's silence momentarily.

Agreed, if you have that attitude they must have thought they weren't good enough? Now surely a preliminary finalist even with injuries should be able to get over a bottom 4 team.

Sent from my MI PAD 4 using Tapatalk

A bit excited lol
You are right

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
I think he's going to be a ripper mind you, might just need a little more experience against the bigger bodies before we throw him to the wolves. Looking at him in comparison to when I saw him play for the Sandy Dragons last season he's been doing some serious work in the weights room but still needs a bit more work.

I wish we did it!
I don't think it would work against more experienced teams. It was our younger kids who fell for it. Now they have done it once other teams will be aware of it too.

Either way I'm not a fan of it, just seems like something a desperate coach would try that has run out of ideas

I'm hoping I'll be able to say I was wrong about EH --- in about 10 weeks or so.
Tonight's game was an outlier for EH and I'd love it if it was a turning point for him AND the Crows.

He started off badly; dropped a mark he got both hands to then gave away a Fogarty-like free in frustration.
Then something happened --- I have no idea what, but I did wonder if he'd been Fine Cottoned after quarter time.

I'll admit when he dropped the first mark I thought **** here we go again and then when he started clunking them and converting them, I was looking for humble pie.
Hopefully, he can continue this form.

In all honesty.. if we are thinkin about the future.. tex shouldnt be picked.. whats he got?. 1, 2 max, season left in him?..

He’s not gonna be there for our next finals run so it is sort of list clogging levels of silliness picking him..

But we all know he’ll be straight back in!..

Strange take, our forward line is very inexperienced and our kpf arent firing.

I would apply your thinking to Sloane, we have plenty of experience in his position and plenty of similar players.

Some points from last nights game.

I think Dawson is underpaid. He's arguably our best player and best kick. He stands out like donkeys balls because he's always looking to make the most out of his possessions. He's like the anti-Crouch in that regard.

Mitch Hinge had his best game for the club last night. Huge upgrade on Kelly. Like Dawson, he uses his disposals effectively and attacks the footy. He's not a hindrance to our ball movement the way Kelly was.

Gollant not being signed up longer term could burn us pretty badly. It's not just that he's a good player, it's that we severely lack forwards who actually have a presence in the air, especially with McAdam's form deteriorating badly. He's clearly got the tools to be a good AFL player. Still a bit rough around the edges but when he starts clunking those contested marks, and he will, he's going to be a highly sought after player.

Murphy is not a small forward. His skills are deplorable. His work at the coal face was excellent though. He won 5 clearances, the same amount as Matt Crouch, but unlike Matty he actually adds some hardness and speed around the contest. We might still have a player here, I just don't want to see him taking pings at the goals.

Himmelberg deserves the shit he's copped lately but he was just as much a match winner as Dawson last night. Earned a stay of execution. He did everything you need from a KPF. Took marks, kicked goals and created a contest. If only he played like that more often.

I don't want to harp on too much about the negatives but last nights game further reinforces that Fogarty, Frampton and Jones are just not AFL standard. All have been around long enough and are known quantities at this stage. At some point the board is going to have to stop making excuses for these guys.

Good:
The crowd - fortunately it was so loud after awesome Dawson that only my wife, who was disgusted by my childish behaviour, could hear me screaming “**** you Port, **** you Port, **** you Port” over and over for a minute or so.

Yeah, not proud.

Joking, at the time I DGAF what anyone would think. I was only yelling what everyone else was thinking.

Probably needs to go back for a few weeks and get some form now, but parking him in the SANFL for the whole season is ridiculous.

So he goes back the SANFL gets some confidence and form beating up on a lower quality opposition. Then comes back in and is still not fit enough or athletic enough to compete at AFL level?

He has had 3 games and has 21 touches, 2.3 and given away 7 free kicks - all without Taylor Walker in the side. A first gamer has kicked 5, Himmelburg 4 and Gollant 4. Its hard to watch.

Review GBU: Jordan Dawson sinks Port Adelaide after the siren