Review Cats defeat the Blues at MCG by 30 points.

Cats have changed this year, no more Go-Slow play and no more Cat-Naps.
This team works hard all game, keeping the pressure on the opposition for all 4Q.
Blues lost momentum in Q3 when Cats ramped up defensive pressure then never allowed them back in.
You could see the Blues stray away from their game plan, trying to find a way through the Cats defense.
During Q4 Blues ran out of steam first... then dropped their heads.
Blues had given their best and still came up well short in the end.
They were beaten on the score board and psychologically tonight.
A very good team effort saw the Cats cruise to the line...despite missing a few easy looking goals (tricky wind)

SDK and Zuth are reliable and composed under pressure. Both have cemented a spot in the team.
Stanley continues to impress in the ruck and with his second efforts chasing the ground ball.
Blitz is a super utility player able to do it all, always focused and quick to react.

My only concerns were:-
MO'C playing safety first, looking for a stoppage rather than attacking the ball.
This makes him look hesitant and unsure, also can miscalculate and allow opponents a chance.

Holmes played soft and needed to use body contact in contests when needed.
Still not in good form yet, but improved as the game went on. did some good things in Q4.

Menegola, subbed out early. Didn't miss him at all.... a bad sign for him.
Especially as Bews played a crucial role, coming the the rescue a number of times to save the day.
There can be only one as both play similar roles... either Menegola or Parfitt?

Kolo was shaky at times. looked to be a half-step off the pace, but no silly short pass clangers.

Agree with %95 of that Heckler, good post.
Holmes far from soft though, perhaps caught in two minds on a couple of occasions tonight.
I'm one of the few Menegola doubters along with yourself; I hope he is ok after the head knock and gets back to his best form, but even at his best I always harbour some doubts about him, personally. Then again I thought maybe his best ever game for us was the biggest of his career, the 2020 GF, and so I reserve full judgement still, fence-sitter that I often am.

I thought Kolodjashnij was fine, good even; put the head down and backed his momentum and strong body to get him out of trouble, which it did (won't always work though). I can't see him going anywhere if fit this season at least. Menegola however might be under some pressure going forward. Probably not. But maybe.

The rest of your post puts into words many of my own thoughts on the game.

SDK destroyed McKay but I reckon an unsung hero will be Jack Henry. Got a little bit flogged in the first half but Curnow had 4 disposals, 1 mark and kicked 0.1 in the 2nd half.
as the game progressed into the 2H I remember thinking to myself, "yeah, he's back". ;)

This new coaching structure seems to be holding up nicely.

Boy, we didn't just fall in, we beat them all over the ground.
As asked previously, what is our new structure? Please?

I still find Cameron an enigma. He's one of those players who often does the impossible things, but rarely the simple.

That goal from the boundary, for instance. When he received the ball I was watching thinking - "ok, finally let's see what you've got in a basic 1v1 at ground level against Young".

I didn't think it was possible for him to find the space to get a shot on goal in that situation without having to engage his opponent in a physical contest. And yet somehow he managed to do it, and to score the goal.

At one level I was just amazed. At another level it kinda irked me. Not seriously but that sort of mild annoyance you have when a video game allows you to win only by engaging some sort of cheat mode or when some glitch gives you superhuman player attributes.

Other times he could hold his ground better in marking contests. Avoid going to ground too easily. Have better second efforts. Put body contact on when it's needed. Make better decisions. Things anyone could do and probably should.

How many people would have picked the side going at least 3-1 possibly 4-0 for the period of Stewart's suspension?
Was contemplating your query, as soon as I saw the replay. Asked myself: No Stewart, no Geelong? Yet our team rallied!

As asked previously, what is our new structure? Please?
They don't have line coaches anymore, ie a defense coach, midfield coach, forward coach, ruck coach etc. Instead, all the assistants work across every line and Chris Scott oversees it all. That's my understanding. It allows the coaches to teach all players attack and defense in their roles and positions. Also, apparently, Scotty said to the coaching staff at the start of the year if they were starting to coach this team from scratch, what would they do. They came up with what we are seeing now.

Danger mite be our super sub for the finals, joking but i am worried about his form a bit.
That was the only downer on tonights performance - and he has carried Geel for years

Honestly Danger is going about as well as Alistar Lord ( who also won a Brownlow Medal playing in the centre for the Cats ) did in his last year for Geelong

I wonder which one of the new assistant coaches - probably James Kelly - who changed the Geel style - Geel thank goodness are good to watch again

And to Art Vandelay - well asMark Williams ( when Port won the flag ) he said - to their major sponsor - who wanted to sack him - " Allan Scott you are wrong "

Well Art Vandelay - you are 1000% wrong - because youve said for the last 5 years - that Geel couldnt play fast football - well the proof is in the pudding mate - and Geel should have played like this years ago - rather than that absolute garbage - eg the Rich game on the Gold Coast - and thank goodness for Pops Kelly and Egan for changing that rubbish game plan

Shouldn’t you be in the age group that knows him better as “George”?
😬

Is that the Blackadder character? It’s within reach but not a strong memory. I’m 41.

Geez, a week is a long time in footy, but there are some short memories around here.

Coaches votes last week v the reigning premiers

Geelong v Melbourne

8 Cameron Guthrie (GEEL)
8 Mitch Duncan (GEEL)
8 Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
2 Christian Petracca (MELB)
2 Tom Atkins (GEEL)
1 Clayton Oliver (MELB)
1 Mark Blicavs (GEEL)
Fair point! Deserve a smashing on that I suppose.

He will get a chance to become more consistent over next month and then prove his worth in the finals. Personally I am not convinced but all he needs to do is play like last week when it matters….

I will need to go back and look but I think you’re right for at least one of Curnow’s goals.
No I thought Henry had him from the beginning. In one of the marks Curnow took in the 1st, Henry lost him and SDK ended up being closest to the contest, so looked as though he was playing on him.

Edit - although the footage you put up clearly shows he was indeed on him earlier in the game (a different contest), so there you go.

Is that Dr House??

Yep!

Hugh Laurie was a comedy writer and sketch performer in England for almost two decades before he went to the US and made a successful pivot to more dramatic acting roles. He had a long-running double act with Stephen Fry. Their sketch show is considered a cult classic.

Review Cats defeat the Blues at MCG by 30 points.