Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 21/22 SBM - 23/24 CoCapt

Reckon he’d win the players vote for Captain in a canter.

Last couple of weeks is like the load on his shoulders has lightened.
Yeah think so, jy is the perfect age where he connects with the entire playing group and they look up to him due to his training standards

Lmac seems pretty popular in the group too however a lot of the players he was really close to have now left eg)garner, Jacobs, maj etc Still think he’d poll well also

Would love to get an understanding of how his role changed/what he did differently on the weekend.

From the outside, it looked to be a couple things:

• His disposal was a lot more composed then it has been
  • Appeared to win more outside ball then inside (8 contested posessions)
  • Most obvious part for me was he was always on the move, at times this year he's got the ball flat footed, but really looked to get back to his leg drive out of traffic and was playing with aggression from the contest to break away

Good for you Jyza

Would love to get an understanding of how his role changed/what he did differently on the weekend.

• Most obvious part for me was he was always on the move, at times this year he's got the ball flat footed, but really looked to get back to his leg drive out of traffic and was playing with aggression from the contest to break away

Good for you Jyza

Maybe just given the freedom to do his thing?

Good for you Jyza
Confidence that there'll be options ahead of the ball.

Welcome back young man and I stress young. That’s the player we drafted, he looks as though he’s had the weight of the world lifted off him.

You picked a good week to make the trip down for a game Hops. When was the last home win you saw live?

To me it seems like he hasn’t enjoyed his footy this year. Which is obviously not a surprise. Maybe he’s been a bit confused, or as LDU said, maybe he gets inside his own head too much when the teams performing abysmally and structures are too complicated etc.

But he was easily the best man on the ground on sat and was doing everything possible for us to win for 100% of the game.

To me it seems like he hasn’t enjoyed his footy this year. Which is obviously not a surprise. Maybe he’s been a bit confused, or as LDU said, maybe he gets inside his own head too much when the teams performing abysmally and structures are too complicated etc.

But he was easily the best man on the ground on sat and was doing everything possible for us to win for 100% of the game.

I suspect he’s really missed having Cunners alongside him at the coal face.

I don’t even think that’s debatable mate!

As soon as LDU was given the green light to play Cunners’ role for a full game, Jy slides back into the 2 slot and plays a carbon copy of his 2021 role where he excelled next to Cunners. He was actually able to wait at the back of the pack at a few CBA’s for a receive, such was his faith in his mate to win the ball.

It’s a testament to his character that he was willing to do whichever role asked of him by his coach, detriment to his individual game non withstanding and without any discernible complaint.

Absolutely captain material

Good for you Jyza
it's the dancing feet, bro, the dancing feet - see the first goal

Just watched the replay. He was good. Impressive even.
Just a brute with his attack on the ball and the will to use it well by giving it to a teammate in a dangerous position.

Definitely his best game of the year. The coast to coast goal was off it’s dick really.
We see Cripps do it. Oliver even. That’s who he models his game on.

Have to give credit where it’s due. He won me back, now keep it going.

He was great on Saturday, he did everything we were missing from him previously.

IMO that is the new standard for him.

Was comprehensively beaten today, lost his cool, started belting blokes.
Didn't get much of it at all and disposed of it at just over 40%.

Was comprehensively beaten today, lost his cool, started belting blokes.
Didn't get much of it at all and disposed of it at just over 40%.
Yep, his DE is only at 49% for the whole season so unfortunately what he served up today was familiar - absolutely kills us. Last week was an aberration.

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 21/22 SBM - 23/24 CoCapt