All About Carlton

Current draft picks:
10, 29, 49, 66
List changes:
Out:
Hayes, McDonald, Newnes, Parks, Stocker, Williamson, (Jones), Setterfield
In: Blake Acres
Uncontracted:
1 - Ed Curnow - new deal pending (Fogarty confirmed contracted for 2023)
List status: Senior - 33 (inc. Owies); Rookie - 5; Cat-B Rookie - 1; Free spots - 4 (plus one Cat-B)

Key Dates

Draft Nominations: OPEN
Mon 10-Oct 9am:
AFL Draft Nominations open
Mon 21-Nov 3pm: AFL Draft Nominations close

The Draft:
Mon 28-Nov

7.10pm: National Draft Round One; Bidding on F/S, Academy & NGA
Tue 29-Nov
5.45pm - 6.30pm:
Selection Trade period
7pm: National Draft Round Two to completion
10pm - 11.00pm: Rookie Upgrade period
10pm - 11.00pm: Delisted Free Agency Period 3
Wed 30-Nov
3pm:
Pre-season Draft
3.20pm: Rookie Draft
Thu 1-Dec
by 4pm:
Final Club list lodgment

Delisted Free Agency Periods 1 & 2: CLOSED
Thu 03-Nov 9am: Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences
Wed 09-Nov 5pm: Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes
Fri 11-Nov 9am: Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences
Tue 15-Nov 5pm: Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes

Player and Selection Trades: CLOSED
Mon 03-Oct 9am:
Trade Period commences – Players & Selections
Wed 12-Oct 7.30pm: Trade Period closes – player trades
Tue 15-Nov 5.00pm: Trade Period closes – selections only

RFA and UFA: CLOSED
Fri 30-Sep 9am:
Restricted Free Agency (RFA) and Unrestricted Free Agency (UFA) Period commences
Fri 07-Oct 5pm: Close of Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.
Mon 10-Oct 5pm: Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends

Completed Trades:

Fri 30-Sep:

1 Karl Amon (PA) to Hawthorn (UFA) Port Adelaide receive 2nd round compensation pick (currently Pick 27).
Mon 3-Oct:
2 Bobby Hill (GWS) to Collingwood GWS receive Pies' future 2nd round pick. Also swap of 3rd round picks - Pies get pick GWS pick 41, for their pick 44.
3 Tim Taranto (GWS) to Richmond GWS receive Tigers 1st round pick, and Tigers 2nd round pick from NM (currently picks 12 and 19).
4 Jayden Hunt (Mel) to West Coast (UFA) Melbourne receive 3rd round compensation pick (currently Pick 54).
Tue 4-Oct:
5 Blake Acres (Freo) to CARLTON Fremantle receive Carlton's future 3rd round pick.
6 Daniel McStay (Bris) to Collingwood (RFA) Brisbane receive 2nd round compensation pick (currently Pick 35).
7 Liam Jones (CARLTON) to Western Bulldogs (UFA) CARLTON receive 3rd round compensation pick (currently Pick 49).
8 Pick trade: Melbourne picks 33 (R2), 43 (R3), 53 (R3) to Port Adelaide for pick 27 (R2)
Wed 5-Oct:
9 Zaine Cordy (WBU) to St Kilda (UFA) No compensation for Western Bulldogs (due to taking UFA Liam Jones)
10 Griffin Logue and Darcy Tucker (Freo) to North Melbourne. Fremantle receive Future 2nd and 3rd picks (AFL assistance package for NM). Additionally, NM gains Freo's Future 3rd pick in exchange for North's future 4th pick.
11 Pick trade: GWS trade pick their second round pick (currently 21) and future Rd 2 pick to Brisbane for their 1st round pick (currently 15)
12 Ben Long (StK) to Gold Coast St Kilda receive 2nd round pick (currently 32), with the Saints' future 4th round pick going back to the Suns.
13 Tom Berry (Bris) to Gold Coast Brisbane receive 2 x Rd 2 picks (currently 25 and 36), and a 3rd rd pick (56). Suns get Brisbane's 3rd rd (46) and GWS future 2nd round pick.
Thu 6-Oct:
14 Josh Corbett (GCS) to Fremantle Gold Coast receive Freo's future round 4 selection.
Fri 7-Oct:
15 Tanner Bruhn (GWS) to Geelong GWS receive Geelong's first round pick (Currently pick 18)
16 Pick trade: Geelong Rd 2 pick (currently 38), two x Rd 3 picks (48, 55), and future 2nd and 4th picks to Brisbane for their Rd 2 pick (25).
Mon 10-Oct:
17 Toby Bedford (Mel) to GWS. Melbourne receive GWS Rd 3 pick (tied to Haw - currently 44).
18 Luke Jackson (Mel) to Fremantle . Melbourne receive Fremantle's 1st round pick (currently 13) and future 1st and 2nd round picks. Fremantle also receive Melbourne's Rd 3 pick (tied to Haw - currently 44), and 4th round pick (tied to StK - 67).
19 Will Setterfield (CARLTON) to Essendon. Carlton receive Essendon's future 4th round pick. Essendon also receive Carlton's 4th rd pick (currently 68).
20 Izak Rankine (GCS) to Adelaide. Suns gain Adelaide's 1st rd pick (currently 5) and future 3rd and 4th picks. Adelaide also receive Suns' Rd 3 pick (tied to PA - currently 46) and future 4th pick (tied to Freo).
21 "Mega deal"
North Melbourne:
Out - Pick 1, Jason Horne-Francis, Future 3rd (Freo)
In - Picks 2 (WCE), 3 (GWS), 40 (WCE), 43 (PA - from Ade), Future 1st (PA)
West Coast:
Out - Pick 2, 40, Junior Rioli
In - Pick 8 (PA), 12 (GWS from Rich), Future 2nd (PA), Future 3rd (PA)
Port Adelaide:
Out - Pick 8, 43 (Ade), 53 (Mel), 57 (Syd), Future 1st, Future 2nd, Future 3rd
In - Jason Horne-Francis, Junior Rioli, Future 2nd (GWS tied to Col), Future 3rd (NM tied to Freo)
GWS:
Out - Pick 3, 12 (from Rich), Future 2nd (Col)
In - Pick 1, 53 (PA from Mel), 57 (PA from Syd)
Tue 11-Oct:
22 Jack Gunston (Haw) to Brisbane. Hawthorn receive Rd 3 pick from Brisbane (currently 48 - tied to Carlton) and Brisbane's future 4th rd pick.
23 Brodie Grundy (Col) to Melbourne. Collingwood receive Melbourne's Rd 2 pick (currently 27) in exchange.
24 Billy Frampton (Ade) to Collingwood. Adelaide receive Collingwood's future 3rd round pick.
25 Jack Bowes (GCS) to Geelong. Geelong also receive Gold Coast's pick 7. Gold Coast receive Geelong's future 3rd round pick.
26 Jacob Hopper (GWS) to Richmond. GWS receive Richmond's Rd 2 pick (currently 31) and future 1st round pick. Richmond also receive GWS 3rd rd pick (tied to Melb, currently 53), and GWS 4th rd pick (tied to Adelaide, currently 63).
Wed 12-Oct:
27 Aaron Francis (Ess) to Sydney. Sydney also receive Essendon's pick 42. Essendon receive Sydney's pick 37 and future 4th Rd pick.
28 Sam Weideman (Mel) to Essendon. Melbourne receive Essendon's pick 37. Essendon also receive Melbourne's picks 54 and 72.
29 Josh Schache (WBU) to Melbourne. Western Bulldogs receive Melbourne's future 4th round pick.
30 Lachie Hunter (WBU) to Melbourne. Western Bulldogs receive Melbourne's future 3rd round pick.
31 Josh Dunkley (WBU) to Brisbane. Western Bulldogs receive pick 21 along with Brisbane's future 1st and 2nd round picks, and Geelong's future 4th. Brisbane also receive the Bulldog's future 3rd and a future 3rd tied to Melbourne.
32 Ollie Henry (Coll) to Geelong. Cooper Stephens (Gee) to Hawthorn. Tom Mitchell (Haw) to Collingwood. Collingwood also receive pick 25 from Geelong. Hawthorn receive picks 41 and 50 from Collingwood.
33 Rory Lobb (Freo) to Western Bulldogs. Fremantle receive pick 30 and Western Bulldog's future 2nd round pick.
34 Jaeger O'Meara (Haw) to Fremantle. Lloyd Meek (Fre) to Hawthorn. Fremantle receive Hawthorn's future 4th round pick. Hawthorn receive Western Bulldog's future 2nd round pick.

Post Trade-week Trades (Selections only):
35 Oct 21: Pick Trade: The Brisbane Lions trade its Round Three Selection (56) to the Adelaide Crows for its Future Round Four Selection (tied to Fremantle)
36 Oct 21: Pick Trade: North Melbourne trade its Round Four Selection (59) and Future Round Two Selection to the Adelaide Crows for its Round Two Selection (23).
37 Nov 15: Pick Trade: North Melbourne trades round three selection (43) to Fremantle for Fremantle's future round four selection (tied to Hawthorn).

1668489189342.png

Missed Out on trades:
Matt Crouch (Ade) - Adelaide looking to find him a new home.
James Rowe (Ade) - Possible move to Western Bulldogs.
Fischer McAsey (Ade) - Possible move to Carlton. Carlton apparently no longer interested.
Paddy Dow (Car) - Possible move to NM, Gee.
Caleb Poulter (Col) - Possible move to Gold Coast.
Nick Bryan (Ess) - Possible move, perhaps to Saints.
Brayden Ham (Ess) - Looking for opportunities elsewhere.
Liam Henry (Freo) - Looking for opportunities elsewhere, but is contracted.
Jeremy Sharp (GCS) - Possible move to Freo
Brayden Fiorini (GCS) - Possible move to Collingwood
Esava Ratugolea (Gee) - Several clubs interested. Geelong open to move. Perhaps GWS.
Lachie Whitfield (GWS) - GWS open to discussion
Nick Haynes (GWS) - GWS open to discussion
Kozzy Pickett (Mel) - Possible move to Port Adelaide. Melbourne say not happening.
Adam Tomlinson (Mel) - Melbourne open to move.
James Harmes (Mel) - Possible move to Essendon (and others). Melbourne say not happening.
Tarryn Thomas (NM) - Looking for opportunities elsewhere, possibly GCS.
Martin Frederick (PA) - Possible move to WCE
Mitch Georgiades (PA) - Possible move to WCE
Sam Hayes (PA) - Contracted, but Port may be open to offers elsewhere.
Ivan Soldo (Rich) - Possible move to GWS.
Jack Graham (Rich) - Likely now to stay at Richmond after exploring PA.
Riley Collier-Dawkins (Rich) - Looking for opportunities elsewhere.
Jack Bytel (StK) - Essendon interested.
Hunter Clark (StK) - Possible move to NM.
Brad Hill (StK) - Possible move to NM.
Lewis Mellican (Syd) - Looking for opportunities elsewhere.

DFA and Retiree moves
Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti (ex-Ess) - looking to return from retirement, possibly to Freo, as SSP
Conor McKenna (ex-Ess) - looking to return from retirement, possibly to Gee in rookie draft
Liam Stocker (ex-Car) - Possible DFA to Essendon
Ciaran Byrne (ex-Car) - Possible return to Carlton as Cat-B Rookie - 5-Oct: Not happening, stays in Ireland

Francis Evans (ex-Gee) - Possible DFA to Port Adelaide
Quinton Narkle (ex-Gee) - DFA, several clubs interested
Kyle Hartigan (ex-Haw) - Possible DFA to St Kilda
Tom Phillips (ex-Haw) - Possible DFA to Essendon
Dan Hanneberry (ex-StK) - NM interested in bringing him out of retirement

Draft Order and selection summary

Need another quality mid? Umm... just keep Dow and give him a good long run in the side like with did with LOB. If at the end of next year he hasn't come on, no loss. But I highly suspect that we'll keep him if we can't trade him.
I hear where you coming from ..but he just hasn't come on ..he has an ample time if anything he has gone a bit backwards from previous year ..he has ability and talent he just can't seem to take it to the next level ..maybe he could at another club ..maybe our style of game / play doesn't to get the best out of himself and cramps his style who knows ..he was one of the best juniors in his year ..but in saying all that I'd keep him over setterfield if we weren't looking to offload off both

Sent from my moto e(7) using Tapatalk

I hear where you coming from ..but he just hasn't come on ..he has an ample time if anything he has gone a bit backwards from previous year ..he has ability and talent he just can't seem to take it to the next level ..maybe he could at another club ..maybe our style of game / play doesn't to get the best out of himself and cramps his style who knows ..he was one of the best juniors in his year ..but in saying all that I'd keep him over setterfield if we weren't looking to offload off both

Sent from my moto e(7) using Tapatalk
He got dicked around by Teague for 2 years. He played 39 games in his first two years at the club. Then he's played 24 games in the next 3 years.

He was about to gut the drug cheats last year when he got smacked in the eye by Pitto and got taken out of the game. He's 187cm and 85kg. Our style of play actually suits him. It's just that he's the #4 inside mid with Cripps, Hewett, and Kennedy ahead of him. And then Setters got played ahead of him when Kennedy and Hewett were out of the side. Possibly because Voss wanted to see what Setters had and how he would fit into our side and whether he would be offered a contract come the end of the year.

Seeing as we're not really fighting to keep him (Setters), I'd say he has unrealistic expectations of his value to the club or he just wants to be a regular starter. If that's the case... then a second round pick from the drug cheats will do if he wants to go there. And we keep Dow and give him a few more opportunities next year.

That was my point. Don't delist. Give him a contract. If he doesn't like it, * can pony up or he has to go through the draft. maybe he gets there, maybe he doesn't.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Considering they are really poo and have pick 4 in the PSD of the 3 teams below them even take a pick. I wouldn’t be happy doing that, it’s clear we don’t rate him, if we want him, offer him a decent deal, if not don’t stand in his way. We will see what gets offered, I’m not sure what need we have for their 4th rounder.

We wouldn't using it unless we're going to package it up with some other late picks and send it off to Brisbane for a second round pick.

Our two picks in the 60s are worth 139 points combined, even if you add them to our pock 49, the total is 436, these picks aren’t getting us much higher.

Brisbane also need to get rid of picks, not add more, they will be looking to trade up

Torn between wanting to give Dodo some of his own medicine and drag proceedings out til the last day, and wanting to do right by Setterfield - who has given the club solid service, and is only moving on because we recruited above him - by accepting a very modest return for an average depth mid.

I think we'll see Cook's influence at play here. Geelong have always had a reputation as a club who deal fair, cough up for players they want, and don't demand slight overs for players they're moving on. Our TPP strategy is clearly taking some inspiration from Geelong, so I wouldn't be surprised should our negotiating methods do so as well.

Operate as a professional organisation and players/managers/list managers will deal with you as one.

I'm unsurprised to see Tippa looking to return to footy via Freo a month after retiring. Can you imagine how much of a mind**** it would be for that poor bloke to suffer through the trade period with Dodo trying to finagle multiple first rounders for him.

Get what we can for Setters, wish him all the best at that dumpster fire of a club, and move on to using our handful of picks to maneuver a better position with more amenable list managers.

Essendon the new North Melbourne...
Spruiking of a massive war chest, but can only land Setterfield...

If we have a larger plan for pick 62, then just get the deal done...
Let's face it Setterfield is gone, he's going to * either by trade or PSD...

I'd really like to hold out for pick 42 and see if they blink...
We have picks 64 & 68 already, so losing pick 62 is hardly a loss...

Then I hope we bid on Davey (*FS) at Pick 10, they'd have to use Picks 22, 42 & 62 to pay for him... :grinv1:

****ing hate Essendon...

Last edited by a moderator:
I think we'll see Cook's influence at play here. Geelong have always had a reputation as a club who deal fair, cough up for players they want, and don't demand slight overs for players they're moving on. Our TPP strategy is clearly taking some inspiration from Geelong, so I wouldn't be surprised should our negotiating methods do so as well.
I think will be using the recruiting team & primarily Mark Austin to negotiate a trade for setterfield or whoever gets traded out and Cook won't be involved in this detail re - trades

Then I hope we bid on Davey (*FS) at Pick 10, they'd have to use Picks 22, 42 & 62 to pay for him... :grinv1:

F'ing hate Essendon...
Neither brother has nominated * as a FS yet. Alwyn Jr even said a few days ago that he will leave that decision up to his management. What management worth their salt would tell their client that * are a good club to play for.

I think will be using the recruiting team & primarily Mark Austin to negotiate a trade for setterfield or whoever gets traded out and Cook won't be involved in this detail re - trades

Oh I don't think Cook will be involved in the negotiation, per se, but I think he's been brought in to change the way we operate from the top down, and I wouldn't be surprised if part of that will have been some lengthy discussions with the list management team on the cultural benefits of a team-first TPP structure and trading philosophy.

F'ing hate Essendon...
Pretty logical to me that we swap our third round pick with Essendon give them 49 and we get 42, probably the fairest outcome for both parties.

The only reason Jackson hasn't been a starting ruck for 2 years is his team mate is Max Gawn. The only reason he hasn't been a star full forward is because they use him as a relief ruck.

This is like getting a hybrid of NicNat and Kreuzer at 20...
I think he's more like a hybrid of this character.

images
images

Farewell Luke Jackson?

Setterfield’s deal will be interesting. Surely there is no reason for Dodo to be a prick. Providing, they nominate, there are two father/sons to accommodate with later picks.

Surely they use their first pick, possibly their second, then match bids thereafter. Their third round pick will be eaten up by matching. If we can match points somehow, then surely we can get #42 minimum.

Losing Setters is a bad outcome for us imo. Williams’ contract coming back to bite us in the arse. I don’t have as much faith in MK as others do and with Hewett’s injuries, we may quickly find ourselves short on inside mids.

In any case, we looked far more dangerous with Doc and Setters in the middle than at any other time in the second half of the season, and arguably for the entire season. Setters’ numbers were great in the two biggest games of the year and his first two in the middle, which imo makes it fair to judge what could come. Certainly no blame on his shoulders that we couldn’t get across the line.

Hope in Carroll, Philp, Kemp is just that atm. Carroll has some great traits, but he won’t last if his shank kicks maintain their current frequency. Kemp will find a role I think but more likely at either end of the ground and Philp seems more unlikely than likely at this stage.

Disappointed to see Setters leaving and seemed to fit in well but at least he gets to play for the team he grew up barracking for.

Agreed, but we can offer something more suitable

Realistically, we have little control in retaining Setters
If his options are 200x1 and waiting for an injury to play or 400x2(or 3) and having a real shot at starting in the middle then we’re going to struggle to keep him, which is fair enough.

Losing Setters is a bad outcome for us imo. Williams’ contract coming back to bite us in the arse. I don’t have as much faith in MK as others do and with Hewett’s injuries, we may quickly find ourselves short on inside mids.

In any case, we looked far more dangerous with Doc and Setters in the middle than at any other time in the second half of the season, and arguably for the entire season. Setters’ numbers were great in the two biggest games of the year and his first two in the middle, which imo makes it fair to judge what could come. Certainly no blame on his shoulders that we couldn’t get across the line.

Hope in Carroll, Philp, Kemp is just that atm. Carroll has some great traits, but he won’t last if his shank kicks maintain their current frequency. Kemp will find a role I think but more likely at either end of the ground and Philp seems more unlikely than likely at this stage.

Disappointed to see Setters leaving and seemed to fit in well but at least he gets to play for the team he grew up barracking for.

Why?

In most of the games he's played thus far at senior level, he's largely been a non event (last two games notable exceptions).

He's 24 now, been in a system 6 years +.

I'd rather give a kid game time.

Can’t be paying a guy over $400k just to be a depth player
Agreed. I'd probably offer 250kpa for 2 years plus games (15 games) trigger for a 3rd.

Clearly AFL level depth. Played two huge games at the back end. Might just be finding his feet finally.

I think it's terrible list management if he's leaving purely for the extra year. I don't think he deserves more than 250k but some contract stability is reasonable. He's far from a dead weight list position and clearly more valuable than a draft pick we won't use.

That said, if it's money, he can **** right off.

Need another quality mid? Umm... just keep Dow and give him a good long run in the side like with did with LOB. If at the end of next year he hasn't come on, no loss. But I highly suspect that we'll keep him if we can't trade him.

One difference is that LOB was competing with Newnes and Cottrell.

Dow is competing with Cripps, Hewett, Kennedy and Walsh.

One of these lists is not like the other...

Herald Sun reporting today that Dow is increasingly likely to stay. Richmond and Geelong have shown mild interest in him.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Period