Not to mention F. Only...Almost as good as C. Woulda Shoulda...
Fair call and I was a tad harsh.In all fairness to SOS, he had Stocker very high on his board and saw value in doing the trade. We would be singing his praises if Stocker fulfilled his potential with us, but instead SOS is criticised for being too clever/arrogant. The job of a list manager is to maximise the amount of talent on their list with the resources they have available to them. They are not responsible for the development of the players they recruit. Draft busts happen every year in every sport that has a draft.
IMO, the thought process that led to the Stocker trade was correct and I would be happy for Austin to make similar moves going forward.
The pick means a lot if you are coming off a 2/20 season with no sweeping list / coaching changes, meaning improvement was likely to be minimal. In that situation, with our favouritism for the 2019 wooden spoon - you hold a lot more value on your F1.
We are all just assuming we know how they rated Stoker. They were over the moon when they got him so I think it would be extremely highly.The trade was bad too. Trading future pick 3 down to future pick 8 to get 19 is not something you would ever do unless totally sure on the kid you are getting at 19 (in the case Stocker). It left us with nothing we absolutely wanted the following year, so we traded back again to get Kemp and Philp. I remember at the time everyone wanted Young or Serong and surely one of those would have been selected for us with the original pick - bad drafting or not. It would be same most years, the top 5 picks pick themselves, but picks around 10 start to become sketchy.
Its not just hindsight either - this was just too risky at the time, agree with others that SOS was trying to be too smart, and club somehow thought we were going to finish higher up the ladder (big call after the spoon the year before).
We cannot afford to make the same mistake twice here, and I bet the club knows that. F1 will not be traded.
I realise we are in a different position and are not going to finish right down the bottom.Understand your logic, but Carlton 2017/18 compared to 2023 is like comparing chalk and cheese Earl.
I don’t even think Harry played many AFL games back then, Weitering was finding his feet as was Charlie…2 Coleman medalists later, AA representation, addition of Saad, Cerra, Hewett, Young etc. There’s no way you would be thinking or planning that we could be as bad as 2018.
If as I expect we end up with #11+ next year what quality of player is likely to be there, even in a super duper draft next year, compared to 14 & 17 this year with a year of development in a team with the above guns.
Spot on. I didn’t like it because I didn’t think Stoker was worth it but fully agree with recruiters backing their judgment. If they don’t trust their judgment they shouldn’t be in the job.In all fairness to SOS, he had Stocker very high on his board and saw value in doing the trade. We would be singing his praises if Stocker fulfilled his potential with us, but instead SOS is criticised for being too clever/arrogant. The job of a list manager is to maximise the amount of talent on their list with the resources they have available to them. They are not responsible for the development of the players they recruit. Draft busts happen every year in every sport that has a draft.
IMO, the thought process that led to the Stocker trade was correct and I would be happy for Austin to make similar moves going forward.
that's a hell of a list management team........selecting players even later than dorito..............Not to mention F. Only...
Outside their academy selections (Heeney, Mills, Blakey) the Swans have had varying success with first round picks the past few years.I realise we are in a different position and are not going to finish right down the bottom.
I, like you, would expect a pick of 14ish. But why are Sydney doing what they are doing? They are experts and know a lot more about the relative strength of the 2 years.
Everyone seems to want to trade up into the top 10-12 this year, and if they can't, they're happy to offload picks. Why?
Agree, and that in itself can create an expectation that he is seen to "use" the learning.SOS went to the US because it’s a junket these type of people get the benefit of. 14 year olds who follow American sport already know everything that SOS could learn from sitting at home on the computer.
He done the trade because we rated Stoker too high, simple as that.
Good post. Oh for some academy selections!Outside their academy selections (Heeney, Mills, Blakey) the Swans have had varying success with first round picks the past few years.
2016, Florent - Decent pick, about you’d expect for Pick 10
2016, Hayward - Decent pick, about what you’d expect for Pick 19
2017, Ling - Pick 17, bust
2018, Rowbottom - good value for Pick 23
2019, Stephens - looks middling for Pick 5
2020, McDonald - Decent pick, about what you’d expect for Pick 5 but huge potential
It’s not just about rating the draft as a whole, it’s about evaluating individual prospects in isolation.
They may like Humphrey, for eg, but if he is gone by their picks and they don’t rate anyone else then they might want to cast their eyes to next years draft with the knowledge they already have a decent spread of young talent on their list.
While a club in our position, that is trying to close the gap between being a competitive side and a finals team, has more incentive to look to the immediate future and continue to add young players to a list that is not far off entering their window.
We also have a few more roles to fill and would be more open-minded about the pool due to this.
Thanks mate but I have to admit that I backed salamander to beat hyperno whilst on a footy trip in 1979. Only inches in the margin I know but I can't claim to be perfect.what an absolute credit to the carlton supporters who have never mucked up in their job - never tried something new, took a risk, learnt a tactic, made a decision from the gut - makes me proud to be a part of the never-change diaspora..........
hyperno in blinkers that day?Thanks mate but I have to admit that I backed salamander to beat hyperno whilst on a footy trip in 1979. Only inches in the margin I know but I can't claim to be perfect.
On a different note is today 100 years from the birth of Charles Schulz.?
2018 was a disaster injury wise. 2 wins was not an accurate reflection of where we should have been. It was also going to be the year we bottomed out in terms of our list build.The pick means a lot if you are coming off a 2/20 season with no sweeping list / coaching changes, meaning improvement was likely to be minimal. In that situation, with our favouritism for the 2019 wooden spoon - you hold a lot more value on your F1.
Watching this grab has me even less enthused about taking Hollands.
Granted Carroll is running around against some witches hats, his understanding of the role and running patterns are really good for a guy playing his first game.
His hands are quick under pressure, movement at the periphery of the stoppage is great - there are a couple of moments he has to absorb contact and then pivot quickly to clear the ball - but most impressive is his kicking inside 50. A couple of beautiful lace out passes to key forwards.
Could be the real surprise packet next year, and should be aiming to dislodge LOB. He doesn’t have the fitness base yet, but he has far more strings to his bow as a footballer - the contested side of his game and poise in particular.
I’m still hoping Humphrey slips through, and right now it seems very possible with Gold Coast now seemingly set on Ginbey, McKenzie and Clark potentially coming up the order, and Tstatas drifting back to seduce another club into taking him.
Busslinger and Hewett are my 2nd and 3rd choices.
You'd imagine that the Swans would be looking for an extra 1st rounder 2023 as well as retaining a high pick this year - basically trading one of their 1st round picks this year for one next year.Not sure I'd say "pretty good chance", the Dogs likely snap him up, but there is a chance.
I wonder who the Swans would be targeting, if they try to move up, instead of out to 2023?
I don’t disagree with your post Thylacine. But in my spare time, I must admit that I do amuse myself by wondering what sort of chair you sit on while you pass judgment on everyone else? Is it a natuzzi? Perhaps a Nick scali? Does it recline? And is it leather or fabric? Or maybe it’s a breakfast bar stool??? So many possibilities!what an absolute credit to the carlton supporters who have never mucked up in their job - never tried something new, took a risk, learnt a tactic, made a decision from the gut - makes me proud to be a part of the never-change diaspora..........
Are the Swans infallible?I realise we are in a different position and are not going to finish right down the bottom.
I, like you, would expect a pick of 14ish. But why are Sydney doing what they are doing? They are experts and know a lot more about the relative strength of the 2 years.
Everyone seems to want to trade up into the top 10-12 this year, and if they can't, they're happy to offload picks. Why?
chair?I don’t disagree with your post Thylacine. But in my spare time, I must admit that I do amuse myself by wondering what sort of chair you sit on while you pass judgment on everyone else? Is it a natuzzi? Perhaps a Nick scali? Does it recline? And is it leather or fabric? Or maybe it’s a breakfast bar stool??? So many possibilities!
For Hollands to make that pick (which will be 15 or 16), assuming Swans trade up, needs Allen, Busslinger Jefferson (all plausible) And 1 other to go ahead of him. You'd think he's be in the mix for all of Dogs, Eagles and Dees.Still reckon we'd be well in the window to get Hollands at #14. Dogs would be keen to jag Busslinger if he's still on the board at their pick imo.
Dow & Philp and Ed Curnow were not even part of the team last year.Hollands and Carroll could play in the same side in the future.
We need to draft mids now or we will struggle in 12-24 months time, unless you have faith in Dow or Philp making it and Ed playing until he is 40.
Not sure. I was a Roy Higgins fan. Both Harry and Roy would have got months now for excessive whip use.hyperno in blinkers that day?
However Michael Voss has gone on record to suggest that that's exactly what we are looking to do with our first pick on Monday night.Dow & Philp and Ed Curnow were not even part of the team last year.
We have added Cerra & Hewitt and Acres to boost our mid field stocks in the last 12mths, Walsh is still early 20's Cripps & Kennedy are in good shape and no doubt Carroll should be ready to go very soon.
The age profile is good in this area and it is not the only area that could do with further improvement.